We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Was What We Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colton Point Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wellsboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colton Point Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It Was What We Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I reserved a room for two nights at the Colton Point Motel about a week before our visit. A queen bed was not available at the time of booking, so I opted for a room with 2 double beds. After an almost 4 hour drive, we arrived a bit tired on Friday, September 27th, around 9:30pm. We received a warm welcome from Ron, the owner and after giving us some information about activities my wife and I were interested in, he saw to it that we found our room. Aside from having a line-up of rooms in typical motel style fashion, there were also rooms in a house, which adjoins and is behind the motel building. Our room was in the house on the first floor. It was quiet and had a view of the lake. The room was simple, spacious and clean. (No card swiping to open the door here. Just a good old fashioned key) A small refrigerator, and a flat screen television were part of the accommodations, along with all the toiletries and towels needed. One thing not in the room is a hair dryer, so bring your own if you’re not into letting your hair air-dry like I am. (There’s not much left to dry these days). My wife read up on the place beforehand, so she knew to bring this item along. I would suggest that when booking a room, ask about its location. We noticed that there was a room that was in the lower level of the house. My wife and I would have been very disappointed had we been assigned to that room. Based on what we experienced here though, we’re sure that the owners would make their customers aware of things such as this.

The motel property, although showing signs of aging, was in good condition. The grounds are well kept and the small lake on the property is a nice amenity where you could go fishing on a catch and release basis. Private property so no license is required. I took advantage of this feature, caught a small mouth bass and just had a blast for an hour or so.

The facility has a dining area where the staff serves breakfast in the morning. Their menu has all the basic breakfast entrees one would expect to find and we thought their prices were very, very reasonable. We had breakfast the both mornings that we were there. The omelets, pancakes and sausage were tasty, filled us up and gave us a great start to our days of hiking.

We read about the Colton Point Motel before deciding to stay there so we had a good idea of what to expect. We saw that it would be a very simple, quiet and pleasant place to stay in a country setting and that’s what we were looking for. The Colton Point Motel met and exceeded our expectations making our experience an excellent one.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSimpleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Room # 10 is one of our most requested rooms. I think you described the motel very accurately. We would be pleased to have you stay with us again, if you are ever back in the area.
Ron & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    32
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
47
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This motel is owned by Ron and Nancy ,very friendly, located right near the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania. Breakfast is served, which I think is open to the public as well. We have stayed here many times, the rooms are clean. Cable TV as well as a refrig in some rooms. There is a over sized room which is up stairs ,very nice for a family. Close to the rails to trails bike path in the canyon. Hiking is close by. If you need an outfitter for bikes, kayaks, rafts there is one down the road from Colton Point. Wild life can be seen almost any time of the year. There is a nice size pond at the motel where you can fish, great for kids just learning. The motel faces the mountains, its right along route 6 main road up to New York state. In the winter Denton Hill for skiing is about half hour up the road. The town of Wellsboro is only 20 minutes away. This is just a great place to stay to do all kinds of activities in either Tioga or Potter county. Very relaxing.....check out their web site.

Room Tip: I have stayed upstairs and down on ground floor. Its a matter of where you want to be. Of course in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubert85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review. Have you ever considered a job in public relations? You really described our area very well. Our location is certainly one reason why so many people like staying here. Breakfast of course, is one of the other reasons. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This motel was beautiful with many things to do at motel including paddle boats, fishing in a stocked bass pond, and great breakfast cooked by Nancy and Ron. We are already planning a trip back there next year.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kyle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Kyle,
It was a pleasure having you and your family here. Next year bring plenty of worms, as the fish are always hungry. Have a great year, see you next September, if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Colton Point Motel has been our family's favorite vacation spot for years now because we always have a great time there! There are so many things to do right there at the motel. The kids and I like to catch bass and ride in the paddle boats at the pond. There is a beach there for swimming, a fire pit for smores, a gas grill for burgers, swing sets for the kids, benches around the pond for taking in the view of the mountains!

We always get one of the family rooms which are spacious and clean. The owners serve breakfast in their lobby restaurant, and are extremely friendly. The motel is very close to the Pine Creek trails and a short drive from the town of Wellsboro. My kids love the place and so do I.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atomkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
It is so much fun watching your family grow up. We do think Colton Point Motel is a great place for families. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Ron and Nancy Tyson are the most beautiful people and are the owners of this hidden gem outside of Wellsboro. The property is so well maintained, and just beautiful! We were blessed to be able to get married on their property July 21, 2012 and just returned home today after going back for our 1 year Anniversary. Nancy makes the greatest breakfast in the whole town! Enjoy this beautiful place with your family, spouse, or by yourself. The pond is filled with fish for catch and release, paddle boats to cruise the cleanest pond ever, go for a swim in the small beach area, or lay in the afternoons in the double hammock. There are picnic tables, a grill, and everything to complete your stay right there. During the day you are minutes away from the PA Grand Canyon, the Pine Creek, nature trails, and all the fun stuff you could think of. Ron, Nancy, and Cinnamon you are so special to us and so is your hotel. Please remember for those of you that visit to say hello for us. We will see you again soon.

Many blessings and thanks,

Dominick and Denise

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisedewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We look forward to many more anniversary "splashes". Thanks so much for your kind words. See you next July, if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We came to bike the Canyon trails. This motel is very convenient to the trailheads. It was very clean and even served a reasonably priced delicious breakfast. The motel offered plenty of activities to do: fishing, paddle-boats, volleyball, horseshoes and a swingset. Nancy and Ron were great hosts!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekinomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. The bike trail is certainly a big attraction for us, as well as, the other activities in the area. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a rather basic motel, but I was quite satisfied with our stay....nice size flat screen TV, mini fridge and microwave oven in the room. They offer a nice selection for breakfast. The only reason I didn't give it top rating was because I couldn't pick up wi-fi that ti was told was offered. Apparently it picks up a signal for laptops, but has problems with tablets.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review of our motel. Yes, it seems that some tablets have a problem picking up wi-fi. We've been told (from the phone company) that the equipment used out here is rather old and outdated. Hopefully, some day we will have new lines to handle all the new technology.
Thank you, Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
3.7 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
8.4 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
8.5 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#5 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Point Motel

Property: Colton Point Motel
Address: 4643 Route 6, Wellsboro, PA 16901-8047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colton Point Motel is located on Route 6, 12 miles west of Wellsboro, at mile marker 209. We are 2 miles to the entrance of the PA Grand Canyon and Pine Creek Rail Trail. We are situated on 8 acres, with a small lake for swimmming, fishing or paddle boats. Breakfast is served daily. We are the perfect location to enjoy all your outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colton Point Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing