We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge was basic, but clean”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The lodge was clean, the lobby area clearly was remodeled, and very attractive. Don't miss the continental breakfast, included in very reasonable room cost. Included Starbucks coffee, homemade French toast, and homemade muffins, and more. Good location. Our room was in the older area, but served our needs.

Room Tip: I'm guessing rooms in the remodeled area are nicer.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjaz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the complementary hot breakfast in particular. Donna, our Lodge breakfast manager, does make some excellent homemade muffins! The new rooms are more modern and updated, but the rooms in the older section are a great value for the more economical traveler. I hope you’ll be back to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
There are newer reviews for Penn Wells Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Wellsboro is a delightful little town, and the Penn Wells Lodge is conveniently located within easy walking distance of all the shops, restaurants, etc. We stayed in the new section and our room was very nice. We booked only a couple of days in advance, and the only room available was a suite, so we paid more (almost $200 for one night) than I would have preferred. The room was spacious, with a kitchenette and seating area separate from the bedroom. Moderrn decor, very clean. The continental breakfast was generous, and included eggs and sausage along with typical cold fare, and delicious homemade muffins. We also used and enjoyed the pool. The lodge is located steps away from a public park with a nice playground, which kept the kids happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siusanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, Susanne. I am glad your family was able to enjoy our indoor pool and all of the other family-friendly amenities nearby. Hopefully if you stay with us again you’ll have a little more advanced notice and more choice in room types available. We also often have discounted rates in the non-peak winter and spring seasons, which is a great time to visit Wellsboro for a good value. I hope you’ll be back to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I came across this hotel on our third day of a 6 day trip. We had been really disappointed with the last place we stayed. I wanted to be sure we found a decent place for the next two nights. Penn Wells did not disappoint.

We had a first floor King Suite in the newly added addition to the Lodge. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was airy, clean, new, and comfortable. The bed was excellent and we had 2 good nights sleep. The suite included a kitchenette with a full size fridge/freezer, a sink, and microwave. The bathroom had the usual toiletries and was spacious. The WIFI (important to me) was spotty but did work.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We were on our motorcycle all day enjoying the local back roads and sites. When we came back to the hotel at the end of the day we were within walking distance of a lovely downtown area, park, and local restaurants. There is also a grocery store across the street as well as a dunkin donuts. We enjoyed some time sitting in the park and on the main street benches each evening.

Wellsboro is a great location between NY and North western PA. We will definitely be returning on future trips. Thanks Penn Wells!

Room Tip: We liked the first floor suite.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our new Lodge suites and took full advantage of all that Wellsboro and the surrounding area has to offer. It is a great area for scenic and peaceful motorcycling. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Penn Wells Hotel and Lodge was a great stop over on our way to the Grand Canyon of PA. We had two rooms in the Lodge and it was wonderful. The Lodge is about three blocks from the Penn Wells Hotel, but still right on main street in Wellsboro. It is recently updated and the rooms were clean and spacious. The Lodge had a very nice pool and exercise room. The staff was courteous and the breakfast in the morning included home made muffins. The trip to the Grand Canyon of PA is only about 10 miles from downtown Wellsboro. Highly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GumpWayzata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for you kind words and thanks for staying with us during your visit to the Canyon! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the lodge for 2 nights and my bill was $327. When i first called I asked what the price would be for 2 nights and the woman told me $163 and change with tax. I asked again if that was for 2 nights and she told me yes so I booked. The room was clean and very nice but when we checked out I was shocked at what the total was. Not what was discussed. Never again will I stay here. Cut the price in half and maybe I will think about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

I’m sorry to hear about the misunderstanding with your total bill. I’m sure the reservations agent you spoke to quoted you a per night rate, and it is never our intention to mislead guests or give incorrect information regarding rates. To ensure that guests are aware of their room rates, all guests upon check-in are presented with a registration form which includes the nightly rate and requires the guest to initial the rate and sign the form, which we do have on file for your visit. You stayed in one of our brand new rooms, but we do have rooms with more value-oriented pricing, and even in our new rooms, the room rates may be lower in our non-peak season. We are sorry that the misunderstanding regarding your rate ruined an otherwise good stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We got an economy room for one night, because we didn't want to spend 200 on a hotel only to sleep in it. They charged me $114.00 and that was BEYOND What they should have ever charged me. The room was small, dank, old old old OLD beyond anything I have ever stayed at. My 6ft tall boyfriend barley fit in the shower, which was not clean. When they say "out dated" they mean 1900's. Literally, the doors are narrow wooden doors with actual keys, not safe by any means.The bathroom sink was dirty and I found a pubic hair on the toilet seat.The room over all...wasn't very clean, dirt in the corners and our TV remote's batteries died, and were never replaced after asking for them to be. The staff wasn't super friendly. Except our waitress, Jackie who attended to us on sunday morning. The brunch was the best part of the experience. We stopped for a drink Saturday night at the Motel Lounge, the first bartender, a guy was super nice, the woman who took over his shift...played on her Kindle while I stood for 8 minutes waiting for a drink. I will never stay there again, in the future. The extra money will just be worth it. But if you want to feel like you've stepped back in time, not friendly dirty time, then go for it.

Room Tip: Just don't choose an economy room...I didn't see the other rooms but your money can be bette...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jelaina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us last month. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room. Our economy rooms are the smallest rooms we offer and generally tend to be in the most historic section of the Hotel, which was built in the 1860s. These rooms are small and dated, but that is why they are priced a good deal lower than our other rooms. We do have options available in the Hotel that are less than $200 a night, such as our standard rooms, that would also be bigger and more updated than the economy rooms, and value rates can also be found outside of our summer and fall peak seasons. You may also prefer our Lodge property, which is newer and more modern than the historic Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday brunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very old hotel and pretty well worn. Our "upgraded room" was clean and the beds were comfortable and clean. Carpeting, wallpaper and furniture in the two room suite was very worn and it appears that this hotel is just hanging by a string. The complimentaryt breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. They would be better off to have complimentary coffee, breakfast rolls, fruit and cold cereal and forget the hot food all together. The highlight of our dining experience was the young male waiter whose name escapes me at the moment. The waitresses and hostess leave a lot to be desired. My recommendation is that the owner spend more money to update and upgrade this hotel or simply close it. You can only rely on "ambiance and quaint" for so long.

Room Tip: Stay at the lodge instead
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobbidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
132 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range: £79 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing