We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quaint and lovely hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very quaint and lovely hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel...interesting to read about its history. We fairly enjoyed our brief stay of one night. Rooms were small, but lovely. No iron in room though, as well as the windows were very dirty. Food at the Sunday brunch was not worth what we paid for it. Bisquits hard, Eggs Benedict terrible, omelet made wrong...just very inferior food all around. Service very slow and seemed disorganized. It really was a shame because this old hotel is quite beautiful and the ammenities should match up to that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brewerbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I’m glad you enjoyed the Old World charm of our Hotel. Should you stay with us again and find yourself in need of an iron, please just call the front desk and we would be happy to provide you with one. Many of our rooms come equipped with them, but some do not. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of the Sunday brunch the weekend you were here. This is a long-standing tradition at the Penn Wells and we typically receive great reviews. If you stay with us again, I hope you’ll give our Sunday brunch another chance so we can show you that your first experience was atypical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    215
    98
    43
    32
See reviews for
164
315
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I went to Wellsboro for Labor Day weekend and stayed at a suite at the Lodge. The room was clean and spacious but for $200 which was by far the most expensive lodging in the area one would expect the amenities that go it. The room had no skin cream, shower cap or anything else in fact there was a machine to buy this stuff in the lobby. If you are charging 5 star prices in a 1 star town you should give the customer the little extras.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us this Labor Day. I’m sorry you were disappointed with the amenities we offer in our suites. We do offer many amenities appreciated by our guests including quality shampoo, conditioner and body wash, in-room Keurig coffee makers, a full-sized refrigerator, plates, cups and utensils, upscale furnishings including high thread count bed linens, a pillow top mattress, a luxurious duvet and cover, and flat screen TVs in both the bedroom and sitting room. In addition, our Lodge offers guests access to our full-size heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, new fitness center, saunas, business center and a hot complimentary breakfast every morning. Occasionally we do find a particular amenity that a guest would like that we do not offer, and although we do not usually get requests for skin cream or shower caps, we will certainly consider your suggestion of adding those to our offered amenities. We also stock a large variety of sundries and snacks in our market in our newly renovated lobby. Our suite prices are higher than most other standard hotels in Wellsboro, including the standard rooms offered elsewhere at our Lodge, but those rooms are newer, more spacious, and offer many more amenities than our counterparts. In comparison to similar hotels in nearby cities such as Mansfield, Williamsport and Elmira, our prices are comparable, if not lower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The lodge was clean, the lobby area clearly was remodeled, and very attractive. Don't miss the continental breakfast, included in very reasonable room cost. Included Starbucks coffee, homemade French toast, and homemade muffins, and more. Good location. Our room was in the older area, but served our needs.

Room Tip: I'm guessing rooms in the remodeled area are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjaz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the complementary hot breakfast in particular. Donna, our Lodge breakfast manager, does make some excellent homemade muffins! The new rooms are more modern and updated, but the rooms in the older section are a great value for the more economical traveler. I hope you’ll be back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Wellsboro is a delightful little town, and the Penn Wells Lodge is conveniently located within easy walking distance of all the shops, restaurants, etc. We stayed in the new section and our room was very nice. We booked only a couple of days in advance, and the only room available was a suite, so we paid more (almost $200 for one night) than I would have preferred. The room was spacious, with a kitchenette and seating area separate from the bedroom. Moderrn decor, very clean. The continental breakfast was generous, and included eggs and sausage along with typical cold fare, and delicious homemade muffins. We also used and enjoyed the pool. The lodge is located steps away from a public park with a nice playground, which kept the kids happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siusanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, Susanne. I am glad your family was able to enjoy our indoor pool and all of the other family-friendly amenities nearby. Hopefully if you stay with us again you’ll have a little more advanced notice and more choice in room types available. We also often have discounted rates in the non-peak winter and spring seasons, which is a great time to visit Wellsboro for a good value. I hope you’ll be back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I came across this hotel on our third day of a 6 day trip. We had been really disappointed with the last place we stayed. I wanted to be sure we found a decent place for the next two nights. Penn Wells did not disappoint.

We had a first floor King Suite in the newly added addition to the Lodge. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was airy, clean, new, and comfortable. The bed was excellent and we had 2 good nights sleep. The suite included a kitchenette with a full size fridge/freezer, a sink, and microwave. The bathroom had the usual toiletries and was spacious. The WIFI (important to me) was spotty but did work.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We were on our motorcycle all day enjoying the local back roads and sites. When we came back to the hotel at the end of the day we were within walking distance of a lovely downtown area, park, and local restaurants. There is also a grocery store across the street as well as a dunkin donuts. We enjoyed some time sitting in the park and on the main street benches each evening.

Wellsboro is a great location between NY and North western PA. We will definitely be returning on future trips. Thanks Penn Wells!

Room Tip: We liked the first floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our new Lodge suites and took full advantage of all that Wellsboro and the surrounding area has to offer. It is a great area for scenic and peaceful motorcycling. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Penn Wells Hotel and Lodge was a great stop over on our way to the Grand Canyon of PA. We had two rooms in the Lodge and it was wonderful. The Lodge is about three blocks from the Penn Wells Hotel, but still right on main street in Wellsboro. It is recently updated and the rooms were clean and spacious. The Lodge had a very nice pool and exercise room. The staff was courteous and the breakfast in the morning included home made muffins. The trip to the Grand Canyon of PA is only about 10 miles from downtown Wellsboro. Highly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GumpWayzata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for you kind words and thanks for staying with us during your visit to the Canyon! We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the lodge for 2 nights and my bill was $327. When i first called I asked what the price would be for 2 nights and the woman told me $163 and change with tax. I asked again if that was for 2 nights and she told me yes so I booked. The room was clean and very nice but when we checked out I was shocked at what the total was. Not what was discussed. Never again will I stay here. Cut the price in half and maybe I will think about it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I’m sorry to hear about the misunderstanding with your total bill. I’m sure the reservations agent you spoke to quoted you a per night rate, and it is never our intention to mislead guests or give incorrect information regarding rates. To ensure that guests are aware of their room rates, all guests upon check-in are presented with a registration form which includes the nightly rate and requires the guest to initial the rate and sign the form, which we do have on file for your visit. You stayed in one of our brand new rooms, but we do have rooms with more value-oriented pricing, and even in our new rooms, the room rates may be lower in our non-peak season. We are sorry that the misunderstanding regarding your rate ruined an otherwise good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
12.1 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#2 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mountain Laurel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Property: Penn Wells Hotel
Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing