We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old & expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old & expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was passing through for work, and I decided to stay here. I should have kept going. This place is old and ratty..... I would not call this place a lodge, it is the motel with old broken furniture. I went in my room and it smelled like rancid water. I would not recommend this place nor I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a different place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanelA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    215
    99
    43
    32
See reviews for
164
315
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Probably stayed here ten times, a week at a time, over the past three years on business. Very old and historic place, where is where I usually prefer to stay, mainly to avoid the chains, experience yesteryear, and help keep these old places alive. Great location; right next door to all the restaurants (Timeless Destinations is real good!) in Wellsboro, plus they have their own. Penn Wells can be noisy, and iffy (loud) steam radiators sometimes, and the rooms and beds aren't always the best, but this definitely is a cool old place. And the pool/sauna/hottub are pretty decent, especially in winter, which is the main reason I stay here instead of the Sherwood down the street every now and then. But I usually stay at the Sherwood if they have availability there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenDareDunDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Staff checks you in and later checks you out. Non- existent in between. Like staying at a funeral home in an otherwise fun and friendly town. Price is double for what it should be due to gas workers gouging

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us a year ago. Our staff is always available to assist you should you require it during your stay. Both of our front desks are staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for our guests’ convenience. If you compare our prices to other hotels offering similar rooms and amenities in the region, you will find that our prices are comparable if not better than most. Our current rates have nothing to do with the gas industry, but rather in addition to being located in a fun and friendly town, our small town is a very vibrant commercial center and we have a wide range of rates and room types. I hope that if you are in the area again you will give us another chance to show you the accommodating and friendly staff that so many of our guests rave about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed over a Saturday night, in a ground-level room with two double beds in older portion of the lodge. The first "non-smoking" room we were assigned had a very strong smoke smell, asked to be moved. The front desk attendant was very apologetic and reassigned us immediately. Second "non-smoking" room smelled smoky also, but much fainter, was bearable for the night. It was very cold out and the room heater, which was working hard to keep the room at temperature, was noisy until we turned the temperature down in the middle of the night. Not much soundproofing; a diesel pickup was started up and idled right outside the room at 4:30 AM, sounded like it was right next to the bed. The breakfast buffet did have good coffee and tea, and fresh homemade muffins (we recommend the peach muffins), which helped make up for the lack of sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the older (non-suite) portion of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank microzoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Owner at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for the feedback. It was a very cold winter and our heating units may have been working hard, but please don’t hesitate to report loud units in the future so that we can work to address the issue. We’re glad you enjoyed Donna’s muffins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Lodge while skiing @ Denton Hill with several families. Suite room 448 was very nicely furnished, clean & modern. Two other suite rooms on 4th floor were identical. The quoted rate of $159/night was reduced to $149/ with AAA discount...higher than comparable hotels in my opinion. Pool area w/ hot tub was plus for teens. Breakfast was the least favorite part of our stay...sausage links all 3 mornings, funny tasting eggs 2 mornings w/ french toast the 3rd...we went to Dunkin Doughnuts across the street for hot breakfast sandwiches & donuts our last morning. There was alot of snow and ice outside, and the ceiling in the lobby by the main desk was leaking badly, buckets & mops remained during our entire stay. Overall, alittle pricey & a few issues, but a good choice in this area. I'd stay again & recommend to others planning to be in Wellsboro, PA.

Helpful?
Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Owner at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us on your ski trip and we appreciate your feedback. We did have a leak in our lobby during your stay. The lobby was constructed in 2012 and we experienced a problem with one of our new roof drains. We are hoping for more great snow for skiing next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I'm staying in the new part of the Lodge. It is a suite with a gas fireplace, mini kitchenette, king bed with a queen pullout sofa. Love having Starbucks coffee available in a lobby and also in my room. Indoor pool and work out room are a big plus. Truly a nice place to stay. This is my second time in this suite.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in a suite at the lodge, which was very clean, comfortable, and a perfect location in town. Awesome duvets, flat screen TVs, and nice to have a little kitchen for the fridge. Basic continental breakfast with friendly and caring staff, and nice to access to an on site pool. We checked out the hotel too and enjoyed the historic flavor of the lobby, and had a an acceptable meal in the lounge, with a convivial vibe and a roaring fire in the fireplace. The lodge is perfectly situated across from the diner, down the block from the movie theater and the downtown strip, and an easy drive to the grand canyon hikes and bike trails. It was pricey compared to most of the other options, and a little generic, but it was reliable, well situated, and a relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want the extra space, select a suite on a high floor with a view of the downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.1 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#5 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#2 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Property: Penn Wells Hotel
Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing