We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“switcharoo”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“switcharoo”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It's a little deceiving when you book online, they show pictures of the Lodge but they put us up in the Hotel. The website said there was a pool and workout facilities but they were at the other property 2 blocks away. The Lodge is newer and is what is shown, the Hotel is much older- more of a historic type.
The Hotel wasn't horrible but it wasn't what I was expecting. Also only person could log on to the Wifi at a time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Manager at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your booking experience. You raise some important points that are relevant to our future guests. Our Hotel and Lodge are separated by one town block and guests at the Hotel and Lodge are welcome to use the amenities at both properties. The properties are very different, the Hotel built in 1869 and renovated in the 1920s, and the Lodge more modern with a tower addition that was opened in 2012. Our website distinguishes between the properties, but in our booking engine, the rooms available at the Hotel and Lodge will show in a single column, so please take care to note whether the room type says Hotel or Lodge. Our reservations staff and desk clerks will do their best to help with any confusion caused by the similar names of our properties. In addition, please note that we do offer complimentary wi-fi access and currently each room has a unique login code assigned for the guests occupying that room. If you need multiple login codes, however, the desk can give you extras, so please don't hesitate to ask. Thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    221
    100
    44
    32
See reviews for
166
325
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the Lodge and it was a pleasure. Modern and clean. Big beautiful breakfast area with "Donna" making it feel like home. Rooms very modern and clean. Excellent pool and fitness center. Only down was upon entering the shower the first time it had "human hair" inside the tub. Also the daily room service was kind of spotty and inconsistent. It would have easily earned five stars if it was not for this. Also it is very close to everything you could ever need on Main Street in Wellsboro. Warning..Wellsboro is a great place to chill or hike/bike ride but little else to do so I would not plan a "long term" stay unless you can amuse yourself with outdoor activities. Not a great place to be on a rainy day. All in all a pleasant stay.
John Sherwood DMD

Room Tip: Suite in tower best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drjohn691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WORCESTER
Level 6 Contributor
672 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel, not the lodge. We found the hotel to be clean, and new furniture in the room but the hotel was very dated. Our room had green rug that looked to be about 20 years old, but it was clean. There was no artwork on the walls, which was odd, it felt like a college dorm. Especially considering how his historic this place is, how much in the local area there is to photograph, I was surprised. The floors creaked as you walked around in the room and the floor in the hallway was very uneven. We stayed over 4th of July weekend and we chose not to stay at the lodge because it was twice the price of the hotel, but I think we should have just stayed at the lodge. However I loved the location of the hotel, great to walk downtown. I wish we had more time so we could have enjoyed a drink at the bar, it looked really nice. And we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the dining room. I thought the dining room was beautiful. The ceilings need work in the dining room but everything else is beautiful.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room overlooking Main street, otherwise you will get a room looking into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbugsforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I noticed that most if the more recent reviews were great so we gave this place a try on our way to the PA Grand Canyon. Followed the advice of others on TA and picked a sweet in the new section on the lodge. The people were friendly, the room and lobby were clean, the price was very reasonable, and the breakfast was filling. Couldn't ask for a better night's stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed overnight at the Penn Wells Hotel and enjoyed it's old charm and historic qualities. The feel of the hotel is that of stepping back in time. Although old, the rooms and hotel were very clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed the hotel's bar which was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The hotel offers continental breakfast which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJEllis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the LODGE and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are modern, updated and clean. If you are looking for a typical hotel to stay at in the area, then this is your place. There is a nice indoor pool, which we did not use... but a nice option. The complimentary breakfast is also nicely done.

The location is nice in downtown Wellsboro, walking distance to restaurants. And also only 10 miles from the Pine Creek Gorge.

Room Tip: The Lodge is the updated, modern option. The Hotel is the old, traditional option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAP647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What can I say about a great find? Clean, pleasant, great ambiance, wonderful caring staff. I could go on and on. It is the place to stay when in the area.
Not far from "The Grand Canyon of Pensylvania." The town, alone, is worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeamusOmaoflhbhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
100 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Property: Penn Wells Hotel
Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing