We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“New Year's Eve fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise by the Slice

Paradise by the Slice
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our original plans fell through, so knowing they have an amazing beer selection, we decided to head here for New Year's Eve. I liked that they had their full menu available, even though it was a holiday. Between the 4 of us, we shared a dozen wings & the small stromboli. Everything tasted good, & it was plenty of food. Our waitress was friendly. I thought it was a nice touch that before midnight they handed out party hats, horns, & glasses of champagne. I'm glad we decided to come here as our back-up. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenksoccer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“AMAZING selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We decided to check out Paradise by the Slice last night for a couple of drinks & we were really happy that we did. Upon walking in, all of the staff greeted us enthusiastically. Several of the patrons even said "hi" to us as we walked by, even though this was our first time there. If you like sports (which we don't, but oh, well), there are TVs basically everywhere with just about everything showing all at one time.

We were barely seated when our first (super friendly) server asked us what we'd like to have. Considering their menu has the longest list of draft & bottled beer on it than anywhere else around here locally, we needed more time. Within minutes, another server was back around to check on us again, offering us a sample of a beer that we weren't sure if we wanted to order or not.
Throughout the night, the servers were really friendly, chatting to us about which beers we'd like based on what we had ordered earlier.

Not only is the menu organized by the type of beer offered (a whole page of pumpkin beers, why don't mind if I do), they also do a 4-beer "flight" of any beer that's offered on tap, which is a great way to try something without committing (as far as I've ever experienced, only breweries do this).

Without a doubt, we will be back (and often) because it's going to take a while to work our way through the selections (which do rotate). We shared a slice of pizza, which was also good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenksoccer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise right here in Wernersville!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Bob and Jodie, the owners, have put together a great spot here in Wernersville. The food is great. I, in particular, love their pizza. they have daily food and drink specials as well. The bartenders and servers treat you like you are family. It is a nice spot for kids as well. they have a small outside deck ( seasonal of course for PA). they also have live entertainment and karaoke on the weekends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pizza and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

The pizza is great - also the fresh cut fries and
"Mexican" fries (Like Nachos, only with French fries). I would not recommend the eggplant parm sandwich because the eggplant is under cooked and not crispy. My husband likes the chicken wings (and he is very picky being from the Buffalo, NY area) and the chicken cheese steak sandwich. The service is always good and there is a huge selection of beers to try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More than a pizza shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The owners of this place Love craft beer. Always a great selection. Food is typical bar food so don't expect fancy, just delicious. The hand cut fries and calzone are winners.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradise by the Slice also viewed

 

Been to Paradise by the Slice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing