We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in West Chester
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brandywine River Hotel(Chadds Ford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(West Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sentinel Motel(West Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Warner(West Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Brinton Hotel(West Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
146
21
13
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
21
13
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshay barnlongwood gardensbrandywine valleykennett squaregrounds are beautifulthe main housefresh fruithost and hostessbreakfast was deliciouspaddock roomcrepeswing chairsclose proximityenglish gardendown to earthperfect hostsbiscotti
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were planning a reception at Whitewing next summer. Unfortunately, it didn't work out, for a number of reasons:
We had multiple conversations about price with owner. Our first conversation was delightful. While we barely got a word in, we were presented with a detailed explanation of the property, the options and the costs. We were quoted $6500 for the entire property for 2 days and 2 nights. We were told that a $1000 deposit would be required upon signing followed by a 50% payment 6 months prior and balance at 2 weeks prior to date of the occasion. We also discussed catering options (the owner has a well established catering service) and were pleased with the options. This prompted me to ask my parents to visit the property. Their visit was wonderful but it resulted in some confusion. The owner did gave them different information.

The owner gave my parents a payment schedule of 50% at signing, 25% at six months and the remainder due at 2 weeks. He also did not provide a contract (in the traditional sense) but rather a sample invoice for my father to review. This made my dad nervous so we pressed for a contract. My fiance called to confirm several things: Price, schedule of payments, date of event and to request a real contract.

The contract didn't exist and had to be drawn up. This took at least two weeks (which would be fine, except that it was promised sooner). When it arrived, the details were very different than we were expecting:
1. The property had suddenly shot up $2000.00! We were quoted and confirmed (in email and verbally) $6500 for the entire weekend. The contract stated $8500.00.
2. The payment schedule was not what we'd agreed upon with the owner and confirmed, but what the owner had told my father during the visit.
3. Suddenly there was a new deposit required - a $250.00 non-refundable deposit to hold the date we'd requested! This was never spoken of prior, but seems to have been slipped in to cover the "decision period" while we looked at the contract.
4. There were no details about the catering, which we were later told would be in a different contract.

We responded to the shocking changes in the contract with inquiry and were told that this is the way it is. So we're looking elsewhere. We are going to look for a place with reliable, trustworthy management and a smooth negotiation process with professionals who know how to operate a business.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
17  Thank L_Barry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were in the pond house for the July 4th weekend. The property is beautiful and the owners were incredibly friendly. The pond house was very peaceful and secluded. The owner is a chef and the breakfasts were incredible. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redd2kx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We had one night to get away without the kids and I found this Inn. After a week of sightseeing with 3 kids we needed peace and quiet and got it in this beautiful area. We stayed in the Pond House. We dropped in before the check-in time just to get our bearings and ask about suggestions for lunch and the inn keepers were really nice to let us come on in even though we were really early and they were not ready for us. They made a great restaurant recommendation. The Inn is just beautiful and the breakfast was phenomenal. Everything was fresh and served hot and timely. I just wish were closer so we could come back often.

Room Tip: Pond Room is peacful and secluded
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wacntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed in the cabin that has the view across the pond, just like in the picture above. We're an older couple, in our second marriage, and were looking for a peaceful and beautiful getaway. When I saw Whitewing Farm, I knew my wife and I would love the little cabin down by the pond. It's a bit isolated from the rest of the buildings, and quiet.

The new owners, Lance and Sandy Shortt are nice, hard-working folks that will strive to make your stay enjoyable. If you want to be left alone, they will leave you alone. If you want to be pampered, they'll do that, too.

They also own a restaurant, so the food was scrumptious. The French Toast reminded somewhat of bread pudding, and was terrific. We also had the pancakes, including blueberry, and get this...strawberry pancakes, which were a nice surprise and really tasted good. They serve wonderful fruit cups and something they call a "banana surprise" that is really good.

The room itself was nicely appointed, with highest quality sheets that were a dream to lie on. The place is clean and quiet in the country, but only a few minutes away from the amenities of a Wal-Mart, Appleby's, Wendy's, etc.. If you want to drive another 20-25 minutes, ask for directions to the restaurant these folks own in Exton. Unfortunately, we were not able to go, but I understand the food there is terrific, so we plan on making our way there one day soon.

We stayed in the room called "Fanny's Lair", named for one of the Japanese Koi that you can spot swimming in the pond, one white and one red-orange. There are several buildings in which you can stay, all separate from the primary home, which is my preference. Some are close to the nice little barn they serve breakfast in, or as in the one we stayed in, maybe 800 feet away, an uphill walk (which we were happy to take for the privacy). Also, I almost forget, they serve a nice little tea about 4:00 or 4:30, with tasty snacks served (we had baklava, mmmm).

Give this one a try, especially if you like simple, quiet country living. We did, and have not a single regret, and some treasured memories.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IngersonMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Our girls group was thrilled with our visit to Longwood Gardens and our stay at the Inn. The new owners are so friendly and caring. They gave us the Gate House so our 3 rooms were all together in one building with our own deck and porch. the rooms were so beautiful. Newly renovated, nicely decorated, spotless and so comfortable. The gourmet breakfast was amazing! We can't to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlissfulTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews