We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and Convenient”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I spent a delightful three nights in this historic B & B. We were warmly welcomed by the owner, Lance, and escorted by golf cart to our little oasis by the pond. Lance and his wife, Sandy, have restored this 1776 farm in lovely detail. The owners have been in the restaurant business for 27 years, and really know how to make a scrumptious breakfast! Lance treated us to the bounties of the season: fresh fruit compotes, blueberry pancakes, banana crepes, french toast souffles with fresh fruit, along with delicious sausage or bacon and freshly baked muffins. The breakfasts were all beautifully presented and accented by the fresh flowers Sandy placed in vases on each table. Lance told us some of the history of the farm, and was able to help us select area sites to visit. The farm is conveniently located for visiting Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, the Wyeth family museum, Nemours, and Kennett Square. There are more places of interest to visit in the area, and we hope to return again!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank tracyandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Whitewing Farm July 15-17, 2011. The owners, Sandy and Lance, could not have made our stay more pleasant! They are gracious hosts whose main concern was that their guests are comfortable. The farm was delightful. The rooms are nicely decorated and the grounds well kept. We slept in the pond cottage and opened the windows so we could listen to the sound of the frogs on the pond. The location of the Farm was perfect - close to all the attractions we went to see in the Brandywine Valley, especially Longwood Gardens. Breakfast in the morning was certainly a treat -- Lance is a seasoned chef and he put the extra effort into all the little details to start our day with a feast!

Room Tip: Only downside was the shower in the pond cottage was a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaRoss1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were planning a reception at Whitewing next summer. Unfortunately, it didn't work out, for a number of reasons:
We had multiple conversations about price with owner. Our first conversation was delightful. While we barely got a word in, we were presented with a detailed explanation of the property, the options and the costs. We were quoted $6500 for the entire property for 2 days and 2 nights. We were told that a $1000 deposit would be required upon signing followed by a 50% payment 6 months prior and balance at 2 weeks prior to date of the occasion. We also discussed catering options (the owner has a well established catering service) and were pleased with the options. This prompted me to ask my parents to visit the property. Their visit was wonderful but it resulted in some confusion. The owner did gave them different information.

The owner gave my parents a payment schedule of 50% at signing, 25% at six months and the remainder due at 2 weeks. He also did not provide a contract (in the traditional sense) but rather a sample invoice for my father to review. This made my dad nervous so we pressed for a contract. My fiance called to confirm several things: Price, schedule of payments, date of event and to request a real contract.

The contract didn't exist and had to be drawn up. This took at least two weeks (which would be fine, except that it was promised sooner). When it arrived, the details were very different than we were expecting:
1. The property had suddenly shot up $2000.00! We were quoted and confirmed (in email and verbally) $6500 for the entire weekend. The contract stated $8500.00.
2. The payment schedule was not what we'd agreed upon with the owner and confirmed, but what the owner had told my father during the visit.
3. Suddenly there was a new deposit required - a $250.00 non-refundable deposit to hold the date we'd requested! This was never spoken of prior, but seems to have been slipped in to cover the "decision period" while we looked at the contract.
4. There were no details about the catering, which we were later told would be in a different contract.

We responded to the shocking changes in the contract with inquiry and were told that this is the way it is. So we're looking elsewhere. We are going to look for a place with reliable, trustworthy management and a smooth negotiation process with professionals who know how to operate a business.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
17  Thank L_Barry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were in the pond house for the July 4th weekend. The property is beautiful and the owners were incredibly friendly. The pond house was very peaceful and secluded. The owner is a chef and the breakfasts were incredible. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redd2kx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We had one night to get away without the kids and I found this Inn. After a week of sightseeing with 3 kids we needed peace and quiet and got it in this beautiful area. We stayed in the Pond House. We dropped in before the check-in time just to get our bearings and ask about suggestions for lunch and the inn keepers were really nice to let us come on in even though we were really early and they were not ready for us. They made a great restaurant recommendation. The Inn is just beautiful and the breakfast was phenomenal. Everything was fresh and served hot and timely. I just wish were closer so we could come back often.

Room Tip: Pond Room is peacful and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wacntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed in the cabin that has the view across the pond, just like in the picture above. We're an older couple, in our second marriage, and were looking for a peaceful and beautiful getaway. When I saw Whitewing Farm, I knew my wife and I would love the little cabin down by the pond. It's a bit isolated from the rest of the buildings, and quiet.

The new owners, Lance and Sandy Shortt are nice, hard-working folks that will strive to make your stay enjoyable. If you want to be left alone, they will leave you alone. If you want to be pampered, they'll do that, too.

They also own a restaurant, so the food was scrumptious. The French Toast reminded somewhat of bread pudding, and was terrific. We also had the pancakes, including blueberry, and get this...strawberry pancakes, which were a nice surprise and really tasted good. They serve wonderful fruit cups and something they call a "banana surprise" that is really good.

The room itself was nicely appointed, with highest quality sheets that were a dream to lie on. The place is clean and quiet in the country, but only a few minutes away from the amenities of a Wal-Mart, Appleby's, Wendy's, etc.. If you want to drive another 20-25 minutes, ask for directions to the restaurant these folks own in Exton. Unfortunately, we were not able to go, but I understand the food there is terrific, so we plan on making our way there one day soon.

We stayed in the room called "Fanny's Lair", named for one of the Japanese Koi that you can spot swimming in the pond, one white and one red-orange. There are several buildings in which you can stay, all separate from the primary home, which is my preference. Some are close to the nice little barn they serve breakfast in, or as in the one we stayed in, maybe 800 feet away, an uphill walk (which we were happy to take for the privacy). Also, I almost forget, they serve a nice little tea about 4:00 or 4:30, with tasty snacks served (we had baklava, mmmm).

Give this one a try, especially if you like simple, quiet country living. We did, and have not a single regret, and some treasured memories.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IngersonMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Our girls group was thrilled with our visit to Longwood Gardens and our stay at the Inn. The new owners are so friendly and caring. They gave us the Gate House so our 3 rooms were all together in one building with our own deck and porch. the rooms were so beautiful. Newly renovated, nicely decorated, spotless and so comfortable. The gourmet breakfast was amazing! We can't to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlissfulTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
4.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
387 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
202 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B

Address: 370 Valley Rd, West Chester, PA 19382-6969
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range: £102 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good B&B to stay at, while visiting nearby Winterthur. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewing Farm Hotel West Chester
Inn At Whitewing Farm Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing