We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely grounds - peaceful setting. Excellent location for visiting Longwood. Hosts very gracious and helpful. Breakfast was good - would prefer homemade muffins to mix, but overall no complaints. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrisnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    21
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
111
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

My family and I recently had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Inn at Whitewing Farm. The food was fantastic -- not only taste but presentation as well, the hosts were charming and helpful, and the setting can't be beat with the gorgeous flowers and sprawling, well-kept grounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wash615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Whitewing Farm is alive with beautiful blooming trees, shrubs and flowers at this time of year. It is neighbors with Longwood Garden botanical gardens and also close to Winterthur. But the farm itself is like having your own private botanical gardens! Fresh flowers in the room picked fresh from the grounds. Beautifully appointed rooms with enough books in each to tempt all types of readers. The meals were not only delicious but beautifully presented with care taken to every detail. The hosts could not have been more accomodating to our group of 6 guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxcreekinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salem, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Whitewing Farm is beautiful and for visiting West Chester and attractions like Longwood it does not get any better. However, we booked the Pond Room, and found out when we arrived that we had been moved. This put a damper on our visit as we had booked this specific rooms months before. Typically in these types of small renovated hotels, the rooms are very different and thus can create different experiences. There was barely an apology for the change, and factually they could have called us and told us ahead of time. Additionally, small things were missing that when you are charged $200 a night should have been there - like variety at breakfast. We did enjoy our stay, but are not sure we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure and emphasize that they cannot change your room or you may be surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamF525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
263 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the "Inn at Whitewing" for 4 wonderful nights, this B-n-B is a gem located in Brandywine Valley. The grounds are spectacular and close to all local sites; Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Mt. Cuba and Brandywine Valley Museum. We stayed in the Tack room which was lovely, very clean and well decorated. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Lance is an excellent cook and made the most delicious French toast souffle, banana crepes and blueberry pancakes, all were our favorites. Lance, Sandy and Samantha have a true talent for making guests feel at home. They are very friendly, personable and helpful. In the comman area "The Barn" are self-served drinks and snacks to enjoy while relaxaing after a day of visiting the sites. There is also a book which gives a summary of local restaurants, their menus and comments from the guests about their experience at the establishments. The book is a great idea especially for guests not familiar with Brandywine Valley. We would highly recommend this "gem" of a B-n-B if you are planning a trip to Brandywine Valley. We look forward to our return visit in the winter. Larry and Mary

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJMAN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston VA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I booked a weekend get away for our anniversary. We stayed in one of the suites and had a lovely weekend. While were were at the b-n-b we discussed the pros and cons of it. We usually stay at hotels as we mostly travel with our two children. Only one time have we stayed at another b-n-b, so we don't have much to compare with - but here are our thoughts.

PROS:
1) The property is magnificent. We could not ask for a more relaxing and beautiful view. The grounds were well maintained, away from busy roads, and very tranquil. It looks just like the pictures on the website - no disappointment with that.
2) The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Sandy gave us great suggestions on things to do and places to eat. They were also interested in our feedback when we returned, so as to keep their knowledge of the places balanced and current. They were hospitable and great!
3) The room (one of the suites) was absolutely beautiful. It looked as pictured on their website. I am a big fan of yellow and blue - so I thought the room was lovely. We were not disappointed in that. The fireplace in the room was also a big selling point for us. It took the chill off at night and in the morning, as well as gave the room a cozy and romantic atmosphere. The room was spotlessly clean and made up nicely while we were out each day.
4) The snacks and drinks available in the lovely common room was a nice plus. There was a mix of healthy and sweet and a choice of drinks (non alcoholic though).
5) The location was really central to everything we wanted to do in the local area without being on a busy road or neighborhood.

IMPROVEMENTS:
Things we thought would have made us give it five stars (can't really call them cons - because they were not things advertised in the amenities but things that could improve the b-n-b and make it exceptional).
1) A choice at the breakfast. Doesn't need to be a restaurant, but two items from which to choose each day would be ideal. The yogurt/fresh fruit cup served before each breakfast was very yummy on both mornings. The muffins served each morning were also nice. Each breakfast entree came with fresh fruit and the watermelon was cut into heart shapes. The presentation and the fruit were lovely. The coffee was also wonderful! We had french toast soufflé the first morning with sausage - which was very taste. But a bit heavy on the carbs and sweetness. The second morning we had a broccoli/vegetable egg bake. I did not like any of the veggies in that, so I was a bit disappointed/hungry. These are taste preferences, but still dimmed the experience a bit. It would be nice if there had been a choice. We were asked about food allergies or eating issues - to which we had none... but for picky eaters (like me) - the lack of choice is a problem.
2) It would have been nice if the room came with a more modern clock/radio - lets face it - a lot of people would really appreciate a docking station/speakers for iPods or iphones. For the room price it would be nice to have a more up to date option.
3) The same is true of the bathroom. Nice long vanity to sit at and fix makeup in the morning, but only a standup shower. In a room and place of this caliber - one would expect a soaking tub or at least the option of a shower or bath. The bathroom while totally clean and functional was just that. It would have been nice if it was luxurious.
4) The placement of the tv was weird. It was parallel to the bed so you had to lay on your side to see it or turn your head sideways (a full 90 degrees). If there were two of you - one had to look over the other. That was a bit awkward.
5) The room was filled with a wall of books which added charm to the room. However, being a reading couple - we inspected the books. My husband felt they were really heavy on the chic lit and felt a bit let down that there was very little selection for him.
5) It would have been nice to have a few more nice touches tossed in... turn down service, chocolates on your pillow, wine available with the evening snack (especially given all of the local wineries - show case them), fresh flowers in the room (especially when people say it is an anniversary or birthday or special occasion). Those type of touches can make the difference between being great versus exceptional.

Would we return? We would have to think about it. Not an immediate yes, but also not an immediate no. There were enough things we liked to really consider it. But there were enough improvements that we would be tempted to see if we could find of those things (value) for our money. We would probably see what other b-n-bs were in the area and do more comparison, before making a final decision.

Room Tip: The suites were large and extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestonRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

April 2nd and 3rd we had the pleasure stay at the Inn at Whitewing. The friendly owners Lance and Sandy went out of their way to make certain we were comfortable and taken care of.

We opted for the Clydesdale Suite and were extremely happy. Super clean, quiet and well thought out.

Sandy even threw something my way that was not necessary but greatly appreciated.

Go! You will not be sorry!

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikeBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
4.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
6.6 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B

Property: Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Address: 370 Valley Rd, West Chester, PA 19382-6969
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good B&B to stay at, while visiting nearby Winterthur. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewing Farm Bed And Breakfast
Inn At Whitewing Farm Hotel West Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing