We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue close to Longwood Gardens”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely venue close to Longwood Gardens”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The B&B was under restoration therefore we couldn't access the main buildings however the owners very kindly gave us an upgrade to a suite. The room was large and spacious, decorated with a homely feel. The bathroom was small with a shower only. Not sure who the owners are as the lady who showed us to our room didn't introduce herself however she did provide a good recommendation for dinner. The breakfast was disappointing: fruit with whipped cream and a slice of fruit loaf. Not at all like one of the previous visitors described in their review. The location of the place and the grounds are what gave this place a high rating.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy S, Owner at Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
As you noted in your review, the Hay Barn was being restored. This impacted our ability to utilize the space for breakfast and afternoon tea. All guests were notified in advance that a continental breakfast would be brought to their room during this period and were given an upgrade to compensate. We recognize it was not our typical breakfast but consider it to be top-end when compared to other continental breakfasts. We were glad to hear you otherwise enjoyed your stay and hope you will be our guests again if you are ever back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    21
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
114
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We also chose Whitewing because it is almost adjacent to Longwood Gardens and because we had been there during the tenure of the previous owners and enjoyed it a lot. The location is lovely and convenient and the grounds are very nice (although we missed the swans). Under the new owners, the B & B is still a work in progress. Neither the tennis court nor swimming pool are operational yet and they have discontinued supplying terry robes. The quality of the toilet paper left much to be desired, but the shower (no tubs) was lovely, once you figured out how to adjust the temperature. We found the continued supply of bottles of water a lovely touch. The owners can not do enough for you, but they are not as well informed about the area as one might have wished. The breakfast on both days we were there was more like desert than what most people would eat for breakfast and was not as creative as most B & B's we know. We will return because it is most likely the best place in the area and we slept well and enjoyed the surroundings and our charming host and hostess.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet so chose by color and style. Some are larger and lighter than others, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We chose Whitewing due to the proximity to Longwood Gardens. The Inn is just minutes from the gardens. The bonus for travelers is that there are so many things within a short distance - restaurants, museums, wineries, beautiful scenery. The Inn is very well priced. It is clean and extremely comfortable. The innkeepers are very gracious and interesting. We will definitely return when next in the Philadelphia area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I came to Whitewing to celebrate our anniversary and to see Winterthur. What a lovely stay! The grounds are beautiful (despite the rainy weather) and our room was warm, cozy, very nice. Shower had good water pressure. All windows opened for fresh air. Very clean. A nice extra were the water bottles - handy just to grab one and go. Sandy and Lance are affable, gracious hosts. We loved the peace and quiet!! Very close to restaurants (a fun place to go is downtown West Chester, about 15-20 minutes away), museums, gardens. Overall: Quaint, peaceful, very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Paddock room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Petersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We chose the Inn at Whitewing Farm this April due to their reviews and photos and were not disappointed. The grounds and buildings are beautiful (even this early in the Spring), the hosts are fantastic, the breakfast is superb, and our room was wonderful. I am running out of superlatives! The inn is so close to the activities we had planned -- Longwood Gardens, Brandywine Museum. We found a wonderful restaurant nearby for dinner. We enjoyed our private room and bath (we had the jockey room). The room was handsome with plenty of drawer and closet space. The bed was beautifully made and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and pristine -- the whole room was exceptionally clean. There were ample linens and towels. We enjoyed the camaraderie of the hosts and the guests in the Hay Barn -- the building used for guest services, breakfast, snacks and drinks -- however, you can choose to be as social or private as you wish -- the breakfast area in the Hay Barn is set up like a small restaurant with space between the tables and gorgeous views over the grounds. This is a perfect place to stay as a home base for week or weekend day trips around the West Chester/Chadds Ford area -- easy access to the main highways, but tucked away from the noise of those highways. Excellent, excellent, excellent!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spend a weekend at Whitewing Farm this past March (2014). It is literally 5 minutes away from Longwood Gardens, but off the beaten path. Our room was very comfortable, but the weather did not cooperate for spending time outdoors. There is a beautiful pool and pond on the grounds. The Innkeepers (Lance & Sandy) made our stay special with their hospitality. They are the type of folks you feel like you have known for a long time when you first meet. Something to look forward to is the breakfast! Superb! Almost too pretty to eat...and very delicious. We will be back for another stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Stable room. It was one of the less expensive rooms, but very cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Once a working farm, the outbuildings have been converted into rooms and "suites" with some distance and privacy from each other. Our room, the hackney suite, was spacious, impeccably clean with excellent linens and towels, a great king bed with just the right firmness, and a working gas fireplace. We chose to have a late lunch in Chads Ford and returned to Whitewing with a bottle of wine and picnic for supper later on. First we talked with Sandy about the history of the farm and then we went for a long walk around the grounds. The reception/check-in area is built on the original hay barn foundation and has a comfortable, welcoming feel with lots of natural light and great views. There are always snacks, homemade cookies, and goodies available here and any kind of hot beverage you want. It is well-stocked with china and stemware and you are free to take your choices to your room. We asked Sandy to find us a board game and returned to our room to enjoy the rest of the afternoon and evening with our gas fireplace and a nice bottle of wine. Although we had a neighbor next to us, we never heard a thing. It is very quiet at Whitwing at night. Next morning at the hay barn, we found a table for two by a window and Lance cooked and served us a very well- presented full breakfast. Lance has just the right personality for first thing in the morning chatter, and it becomes clear why he is a successful Chef and restaurant owner. Because of the layout and quality, Whitewing Farm is far different from most BBs. The setting is old but the rooms and conveniences are brand new. Add to this the personal charm and interest that Lance and Sandy show for each of their guests, and you know why Whitewing's ratings are so high. We will return soon.

Room Tip: Talk to Sandy about your expectations. The pictures are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
4.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
195 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B

Property: Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Address: 370 Valley Rd, West Chester, PA 19382-6969
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good B&B to stay at, while visiting nearby Winterthur. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewing Farm Bed And Breakfast
Inn At Whitewing Farm Hotel West Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing