We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms”
Review of Hotel Warner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Warner
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Very nice and spaceous & clean new rooms. Bathrooms brand new with nice granite counters. Check in was very easy and all friendly staff. They offer free internet, and free parking in a garage across the street. Very easy access to all of the down town area. Will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TShed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Warner and for taking the time to share your experience. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Warner
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

After a delayed flight, an extremely long wait for a rental car from Philly, we were pleasantly surprised upon check in at Hotel Warner. Staff was excellent. Our room, very nice. Also great that we received a restaurant card for discounts to local restaurants and free breakfast. We will surely say here again.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I am pleased to hear that we were able to be a nice surprise at the end of what sounds like a very long trip. I am glad that both the rooms and staff exceeded your expectations. I am also happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the restaurant discount program we offer our guests and enjoy a nice meal at one of the many restaurants within walking distance. We are looking forward to you being our guest during your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is lovely, well appointed and modern while keeping the Art Deco feel of the old Warner Theater. Bed very comfy. I am impressed with the reviews and the manager responses are a real plus! You don't always see that on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Pick east or north facing room for nicer view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danididit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Warner and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed the Art Deco feel of the hotel and found it to be well appointed and modern. We hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

the rooms and ambiance are nice enough, it's a very attractive place and well appointed. West Chester PA always has challenges with parking, so if you want free parking, the hotel validates the tickets for the public parking garage, which is a couple of blocks away. If you want to park closer, you might get lucky with the on-street parking, or you might elect to pay the $20/night for on-premises parking. But this review isn't about that.

It's about safety, the kinds of things that aren't obvious until UH-OH! Example: the rooms do not have emergency lighting. If the power goes out at night or there's an emergency at night that means leaving your room, you won't be able to see a thing in your room if the power is out. "Emergency Exit" doors swing INWARD, making a panicked exit is very difficult, if not potentially impossible. The front entry doors, which are marked "Push for Emergency Exit" won't open.

My wife and I stayed there recently, and about 2am the power went out because of storm. I use a CPAP machine, and I awakened right away with the power went out and promptly stumbled over a chair. I travel with a small flashlight in case I drop something, and it came in very handily that night. I went down the stairs and met the night man and someone else trying to figure out what was happening. After a walk around the block, I discovered that the hotel was the only building that was still dark. I returned to the building and asked if someone from maintenance was coming and was told that the maintenance man wouldn't come in because "the breaker will reset itself in an hour". Later was told that PECO said there's be a 2 hour window before power would be restored, after having been told that PECO showed no outages in the area. After a bit, the power did return and things returned to normal.

The really alarming part was that no-one seem to have been trained in safety procedures. If what I was told about the maintenance man was true, it's unacceptable.

The Hotel Warner is a beautiful hotel, and the rooms are very nice, but the apparent lack of safety procedures, the potential obstructions to a safe emergency exit and the absence of emergency lighting (just one per room would do) make me wary of making a return visit.

My wife an I know West Chester rather well, and I think I'd prefer to stay on the outside of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJK353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Mr. Thompson –

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to West Chester. I am glad that you found the hotel to be beautiful and the rooms to be very nice. I am concerned about some of the things you mention in your review and would like to take a moment to clarify a couple things.

First, regarding the parking options, you are correct that we do offer two options for parking. The first option is on-site parking which we charge a $20 nightly fee for. The second option is in the Chestnut Street garage which we do validate for our guests, making it a complimentary amenity. Your review mentions that the garage is a “couple of blocks” from the hotel when in fact it is only a half of a block across the street from the hotel.

Second I would like to address the power outage. The power outage the hotel experienced was due to a PECO outage. The town is fed by numerous power grids so it is not uncommon that one section of town may lose power and another section, which might be across the street, has power. Here at the Hotel Warner we are lucky enough to be feed off the same grid as the hospital. This means that we are a high priority and any power issue is corrected quickly. I believe that what the guest service agent was trying to convey to you was that once the power to the building was restored everything would automatically return to normal.

Lastly, regarding your comments about the safety of the hotel please allow me to assure you that the hotel meets all current building codes for safety. Emergency lighting is present in all hallways, stairwells, and public space. It is tested monthly to ensure proper operation and automatically turns on in the event of a power outage. The front desk also has a supply of flashlights available for guest use should a power outage occur. Emergency exit doors are located at each emergency exit. I just doubled checked them and the doors open outward and have panic bars. The front exit door is also working properly. Also, the hotel staff is trained on a variety of emergency situations and there is also an emergency binder at the front desk should they need anything to refer back to as a situation is unfolding.

I apologize that we didn’t do a better job of communicating what was taking place during your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent two nights here & found it to be a very comfortable, clean & friendly hotel. The staff were very helpful both on reception & in the breakfast room.
The continental breakfast was more than adequate & there is a nice little outside area if you prefer to sit outside.
We would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Warner again when we next visit West Chester.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayadog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Warner and for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. The outdoor terrace area is a popular place to enjoy breakfast or just relax and I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy it. The staff works hard to provide each and every guest with a great experience and they will appreciate hearing your comments. We are looking forward to seeing you when you return to West Chester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The lobby and public areas of the hotel are wonderful examples of restoration of the foyer of a historic theater. Hallways are filled with pictures of West Chester. Our king room was exceptionally spacious and well decorated with a comfortable chair and bed, desk, and refrigerator. Furnishings were of high quality. The bathroom was spacious and clean with a good shower, but no tub. Internet is free and worked well. There are lots of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Parking is available in the hotel for $20 or in a public garage about a block away for free (with hotel validation). This is a first class hotel with one exception. The complimentary continental breakfast was pretty mediocre, definitely out of place for a hotel of this class; coffee was almost undrinkable. Luckily there's a coffee shop nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you again for choosing the Hotel Warner. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. At the Hotel Warner you truly get the best of both worlds. The lobby is the restored lobby of the Warner Theater built in the 1930’s and the guest rooms are brand new construction offering all of the modern conveniences. We do have a mix of rooms with tubs and rooms with showers in the hotel. We are happy to accommodate a special request if you prefer a tub over a shower. Overall, it sounds like you had a great visit and were able to experience some of what makes West Chester a great place to stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were hoping to find a quiet hotel in West Chester to avoid the large number of soccer, field hockey, etc families that are in town for Memorial Day Weekend. Unfortunately, this hotel is just like the others in town, people running and screaming through the halls at 1AM. The noise of higher floors, slamming doors, and stomping feet all resonate down to the floors below. You need to keep your air/fan on to drown out most of the noise.

The room was a good size, clean and well appointed, $20 a night to park in their garage is like being in a large city, but they do offer complimentary parking in the public garage (which was fine). Breakfast was passable, the waffle machine was not working for our visit, so cold cereal or a bagel was the best you could get. The smell of smoke (allbeit faint) was noticed in the rooms, but we couldn't locate where it was coming from.

Disappointing hotel for the price, you can get plenty of alternatives for half the price, with all the noise, within a few miles.

Room Tip: If you stay on the top floor, you have a chance to not hear everything going on below you.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

We do not allow pets in the hotel, let alone livestock; so to answer your question, no, there were not any cattle in the hotel. As it sounds like you were already aware, the long Memorial Day Weekend is the weekend where the FC Delco Tournament takes place locally and does attract numerous teams to the immediate area and extends to hotels as far away as an hour’s drive. Here at the Hotel Warner we only accepted one team to limit the impact numerous teams can have on the experience of other hotel guests. We also had each guest here with the sports team sign a conduct policy that is generated by the tournament themselves. Any noise complaint we receive is dealt with immediately, however, I don’t show any for the night of your stay. If you choose to return to the area next year over the long weekend I would recommend you request a quiet room. All hotels have some rooms which are quieter than others. It looks like for your stay with us you had a room near the elevators which will be a little nosier because guests have to walk past your room to get to theirs. We also have our fourth floor designated as a quiet level. Anyone who makes a reservation requesting a quiet room is placed on that floor.

It looks like you were happy with your room itself. I apologize for the waffle machine being down. It is fixed and back up and functional. I am a bit concerned by your comment that the best you could get was cold cereal or a bagel since we offer many more options than that. Our breakfast includes breads, bagels, Danish, muffins, waffles, fresh apples, bananas, and oranges, a variety of cold cereals, a variety of oatmeal, a variety of yogurt and hard boiled eggs, as well as juices, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate.

I apologize that you feel the hotel was disappointing for the price. I assure you that the hotel is competitively priced for the market. I don’t believe that you would have been able to find a hotel in this area for half the price you paid to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
384 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
607 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Warner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Warner

Address: 120 N High St, West Chester, PA 19380-3013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Price Range: £121 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Warner 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Warner is West Chester's only downtown hotel and ideal location for your visit to West Chester and the Brandywine River Area. Plus, we offer a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi as well as a fitness and business centers. Enjoy our gracious hospitality, stunning rooms, and the historic charm of downtown West Chester's numerous shops, great restaurants, sidewalk cafes and attractions all footsteps from our door. The Hotel Warner is the only hotel in historic West Chester Borough and the ideal location for your business trip, a leisurely weekend get-a-way or group outing. So, come be our guest! Stay with us and walk to over 65 restaurants, dozens of shops, art galleries and eclectic boutiques, just footsteps from the Warner Hotel. Stroll our historic streets and discover the rich architecture and vibrant past of this nationally acclaimed neighborhood.The Hotel Warner is also perfect for business trips and group gatherings. With private onsite meeting space for 60 guests and additional facilities for nearly 200, the Hotel Warner is ideal for intimate gatherings, board meetings and social retreats. Spend a few nights with us and explore our many historic sites and fabulous attractions. The Hotel Warner is only minutes from West Chester University, SAP Corporation, Depuy Synthes, Brandywine Airport, Longwood Gardens, QVC Studios, the King of Prussia Mall, Brandywine River Battlefield, Valley Forge National Park, Sight & Sound Theater and Lancaster Amish Country. So, be sure to include the Hotel Warner in your future travel plans. We are ready to take great care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Warner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing