We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Warner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Warner
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“no complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

A friend gave me a gift certificate to stay here--and it was a very nice hotel. Clean rooms--and an excellent location. You can walk to everything. Free parking is included in the garage across the street, which is always nice. They will also give you a discount card that will give you a % off at lots of local restuarants.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelaton28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    72
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
55
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Hotel Warner is centrally located in historic downtown West Chester. Walking distance to restaurants, pubs, shopping and a great farmers market.

It was the perfect location for hosting our daughter's wedding. We rented out 72 of their 80 rooms. Everything went as planned, from the hotel coordinating reservations, to a great breakfast spread to very friendly and informative staff.

The hotel is situated in a converted movie house with lots of culture and historic details preserved.

I am not known for handing out compliments, but in the case of this hotel, I give it five stars. Perfect for everything from a short visit to a large wedding.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWardFamilyTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Warner to host your wedding guests and for taking the time to share your experience. We were honored to be a part of your daughter’s special day and wish her a happy marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Very nice and spaceous & clean new rooms. Bathrooms brand new with nice granite counters. Check in was very easy and all friendly staff. They offer free internet, and free parking in a garage across the street. Very easy access to all of the down town area. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TShed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Warner and for taking the time to share your experience. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

After a delayed flight, an extremely long wait for a rental car from Philly, we were pleasantly surprised upon check in at Hotel Warner. Staff was excellent. Our room, very nice. Also great that we received a restaurant card for discounts to local restaurants and free breakfast. We will surely say here again.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I am pleased to hear that we were able to be a nice surprise at the end of what sounds like a very long trip. I am glad that both the rooms and staff exceeded your expectations. I am also happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the restaurant discount program we offer our guests and enjoy a nice meal at one of the many restaurants within walking distance. We are looking forward to you being our guest during your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is lovely, well appointed and modern while keeping the Art Deco feel of the old Warner Theater. Bed very comfy. I am impressed with the reviews and the manager responses are a real plus! You don't always see that on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Pick east or north facing room for nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danididit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Warner and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed the Art Deco feel of the hotel and found it to be well appointed and modern. We hope you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

the rooms and ambiance are nice enough, it's a very attractive place and well appointed. West Chester PA always has challenges with parking, so if you want free parking, the hotel validates the tickets for the public parking garage, which is a couple of blocks away. If you want to park closer, you might get lucky with the on-street parking, or you might elect to pay the $20/night for on-premises parking. But this review isn't about that.

It's about safety, the kinds of things that aren't obvious until UH-OH! Example: the rooms do not have emergency lighting. If the power goes out at night or there's an emergency at night that means leaving your room, you won't be able to see a thing in your room if the power is out. "Emergency Exit" doors swing INWARD, making a panicked exit is very difficult, if not potentially impossible. The front entry doors, which are marked "Push for Emergency Exit" won't open.

My wife and I stayed there recently, and about 2am the power went out because of storm. I use a CPAP machine, and I awakened right away with the power went out and promptly stumbled over a chair. I travel with a small flashlight in case I drop something, and it came in very handily that night. I went down the stairs and met the night man and someone else trying to figure out what was happening. After a walk around the block, I discovered that the hotel was the only building that was still dark. I returned to the building and asked if someone from maintenance was coming and was told that the maintenance man wouldn't come in because "the breaker will reset itself in an hour". Later was told that PECO said there's be a 2 hour window before power would be restored, after having been told that PECO showed no outages in the area. After a bit, the power did return and things returned to normal.

The really alarming part was that no-one seem to have been trained in safety procedures. If what I was told about the maintenance man was true, it's unacceptable.

The Hotel Warner is a beautiful hotel, and the rooms are very nice, but the apparent lack of safety procedures, the potential obstructions to a safe emergency exit and the absence of emergency lighting (just one per room would do) make me wary of making a return visit.

My wife an I know West Chester rather well, and I think I'd prefer to stay on the outside of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJK353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Mr. Thompson –

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to West Chester. I am glad that you found the hotel to be beautiful and the rooms to be very nice. I am concerned about some of the things you mention in your review and would like to take a moment to clarify a couple things.

First, regarding the parking options, you are correct that we do offer two options for parking. The first option is on-site parking which we charge a $20 nightly fee for. The second option is in the Chestnut Street garage which we do validate for our guests, making it a complimentary amenity. Your review mentions that the garage is a “couple of blocks” from the hotel when in fact it is only a half of a block across the street from the hotel.

Second I would like to address the power outage. The power outage the hotel experienced was due to a PECO outage. The town is fed by numerous power grids so it is not uncommon that one section of town may lose power and another section, which might be across the street, has power. Here at the Hotel Warner we are lucky enough to be feed off the same grid as the hospital. This means that we are a high priority and any power issue is corrected quickly. I believe that what the guest service agent was trying to convey to you was that once the power to the building was restored everything would automatically return to normal.

Lastly, regarding your comments about the safety of the hotel please allow me to assure you that the hotel meets all current building codes for safety. Emergency lighting is present in all hallways, stairwells, and public space. It is tested monthly to ensure proper operation and automatically turns on in the event of a power outage. The front desk also has a supply of flashlights available for guest use should a power outage occur. Emergency exit doors are located at each emergency exit. I just doubled checked them and the doors open outward and have panic bars. The front exit door is also working properly. Also, the hotel staff is trained on a variety of emergency situations and there is also an emergency binder at the front desk should they need anything to refer back to as a situation is unfolding.

I apologize that we didn’t do a better job of communicating what was taking place during your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent two nights here & found it to be a very comfortable, clean & friendly hotel. The staff were very helpful both on reception & in the breakfast room.
The continental breakfast was more than adequate & there is a nice little outside area if you prefer to sit outside.
We would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Warner again when we next visit West Chester.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayadog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Warner and for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. The outdoor terrace area is a popular place to enjoy breakfast or just relax and I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy it. The staff works hard to provide each and every guest with a great experience and they will appreciate hearing your comments. We are looking forward to seeing you when you return to West Chester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
5.2 mi away
Sheraton Great Valley Hotel
6.2 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Warner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Warner

Property: Hotel Warner
Address: 120 North High Street, West Chester, PA 19380
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Warner 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Warner is West Chester's only downtown hotel and ideal location for your visit to West Chester and the Brandywine River Area. Plus, we offer a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi as well as a fitness and business centers. Enjoy our gracious hospitality, stunning rooms, and the historic charm of downtown West Chester's numerous shops, great restaurants, sidewalk cafes and attractions all footsteps from our door. The Hotel Warner is the only hotel in historic West Chester Borough and the ideal location for your business trip, a leisurely weekend get-a-way or group outing. So, come be our guest! Stay with us and walk to over 65 restaurants, dozens of shops, art galleries and eclectic boutiques, just footsteps from the Warner Hotel. Stroll our historic streets and discover the rich architecture and vibrant past of this nationally acclaimed neighborhood.The Hotel Warner is also perfect for business trips and group gatherings. With private onsite meeting space for 60 guests and additional facilities for nearly 200, the Hotel Warner is ideal for intimate gatherings, board meetings and social retreats. Spend a few nights with us and explore our many historic sites and fabulous attractions. The Hotel Warner is only minutes from West Chester University, SAP Corporation, Depuy Synthes, Brandywine Airport, Longwood Gardens, QVC Studios, the King of Prussia Mall, Brandywine River Battlefield, Valley Forge National Park, Sight & Sound Theater and Lancaster Amish Country. So, be sure to include the Hotel Warner in your future travel plans. We are ready to take great care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Warner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing