We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Brandywine Picnic Park
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went for a work pinic. The food was good, but the place just seemed old and run down. The tubing was kind of neat, but you couldn't go very far. The miniature golf course was very run down. They had 2 rides and one was closed for repairs. The giant slide was old and delapitated. They had a gazing zoo, but what's the point if you can't get near them and the animals just laid there and looked dead. The food is spread out. burgers and dogs one place then walk somewhere else for fries, somewhere else for drinks and somewhere else for sides like potato salad and watermellon. There aren't really much organized activities to get your group together. All in all it was just okay. The kids liked the funnel cake, ice cream, and cotton candy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mdseit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We were there for a group picnic. The admission seems rather steep for what you get. There are a few kiddie rides, but some things were old and dilapidated. The mini golf could use a complete re-do. The picnic tables were waterlogged from recent (and not infrequent) flooding. The tents were dirty and faded. Restrooms had old fixtures, but were clean.

Hot dog was good, chicken was dessicated. Mac and cheese was not hot but room temperature. Potato salad was tasty, but the cole slaw was bland. We did not try the ribs or burgers, nor did we eat desserts, but ice cream and funnel cakes were available, and we did see cotton candy. There was paddle boats and tubing, but the day was cool, and not conducive to swimming.

The excitement of the day came when a bicycle policemen came flying by our tent, impressing us all with the speed with which he was pedalling through the soggy ground. We never found out why.

Although they do provide a convenient place for groups to get together, such as churches or family reunions, they would do well to make some capital improvements.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stillwaters13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a place like no other. I have been here for large parties. They cater All You Can Eat BBQ style. There is tubing, carnival rides, basketball courts all for one price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank teacherjesseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Go for the food, stay for the food!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a wonderful place to have a family reunion! All you can eat chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs, cotton candy, funnel cake, watermelon, ice cream, and much more! Go there on an empty stomach and prepare to fill it! There are a couple fun rides for kids, and there are some other fun activities such as a rockwall. You can tube down the Brandywine River, which is a fun perk, and play mini golf. You pay one fee, and have access to all of this for the day. They even have games you can play and win prizes, no extra cost! Workers were extra friendly. I would recommend this place, but just make sure you are going for the right reasons.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JCorey62580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brandywine Picnic Park also viewed

 

Been to Brandywine Picnic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing