We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable place to stay with management that cares”
Review of Sentinel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sentinel Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I've stayed at the Sentinel many times and I stay there because its different from the big chains.
Very nice people who take the time to give great service. I sleep like a log there and it is clean with large rooms. It's a friendly family owned business that will remember you as a person.
It's not fancy, the Sentinel is just a very good choice in a budget motel. Old fashioned service for the win.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finfinder21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav P, General Manager at Sentinel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad you had a pleasant stay and Thank you for all your comments about our motel. We look forward to you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Comfortable. Clean. Safe. Staff were very nice. Comfortable. Clean. Safe. Hot water was endless. Comfortable clean safe. Very pretty setting atop a hill. I saw deer one night. For sure would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cshellchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had a great stay at this friendly family owned motel. Everyone was very helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and so quiet that a deer even wandered across the hill one night. Also, it was very easy access from the car. I would stay here again. This is a very good choice for a budget motel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sarah_Q818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav P, General Manager at Sentinel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thanks for staying with us at the Sentinel Motel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate both!

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also that the staff was helpful and pleasant. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had 89 year old on a Fall excursion and she enjoyed the friendly management and room so much we stayed an extra night. The motel is on hill with park-like setting so very quiet. They had large TV with Satellite so had more than enough channels to watch. The motel is older, but being improved. Our room was large, clean, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Having traveled quite frequently lately, we had been staying at some "chain hotels" only to find sagging beds and outdated accommodations. The Sentinel has become a very welcome change to the norm. A wonderful family-owned motel with a very friendly staff and lovely and spacious rooms. The beds are comfort-topped and seemingly brand new with fresh linens and the room itself was immaculate. As one reviewer has mentioned "the most comfortable bed I have slept in for years"!!!! Mini-fridge and microwave were nice additions along with a chaise lounge giving us plenty of room to spread out. Nestled in between West Chester and Wilmington the local dining options are also quite nice. Economical, well-managed, nicely renovated and centrally located... what more could you want??? (Two thumbs up!!!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

have stayed on 2 separate occasion within the last month...both times the rooms were clean and well maintained....the service was excellent and very friendly....I saw no evidence of any bed bugs in either room....the cable system is lame, but i wasnt stayin to watch tv....could have been more towels in room, but what we had was acceptable....overall a decent clean room for a good price

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav P, General Manager at Sentinel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank You for your recent review of our property. I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us! We always strive for higher customer satisfaction by providing exceptional service. We hope to welcome you back again soon while in the West Chester area. Thanks again for choosing Sentinel Motel as your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

While traveling fron Clarksboro New Jersey, my husband and I had gone 20 miles when his truck quit in a busy road x'ing. traveling with a small dog. They do not allow pets, period; the mgmt was so kind and allowed us to stay with our pet. Rooms recently remodeled and the most comfortable bed I have slept in for years. Rooms have a nice modern decor, mgmt was great. Thank you for accomodating this weary traveler, her pet and her hubby

Room Tip: I prefer hotels over motels, if you do also I highly recommend this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brinton Hotel
Brinton Hotel
#5 of 7 in West Chester
13 reviews
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
2.4 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentinel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentinel Motel

Address: 1445 Wilmington Pike, Chadds Ford Twp, West Chester, PA 19382-8316
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Price Range: £55 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sentinel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***** Certificate of Excellence ***** Located south of West Chester, the Sentinel Motel is 2 miles from the Brandywine Battlefield, 4 miles from West Chester University and 8 miles from Longwood Gardens. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and flat-screen TV's are offered for your entertainment. Each newly remodeled spacious guest room at the Sentinel Motel includes a refrigerator, microwave, and satellite TV. The brightly decorated rooms have a work desk for you convenience and an en suite bathroom. The West Chester Sentinel Motel is air conditioned and offers fax and copy services at the 24-hour front desk. The motel also has a vending machine with drinks. The motel situated on top of the hill is in one of the finest areas and only a few miles away from dozens of restaurants. The Brandywine River Museum is 10 minutes' drive and The Chadds Ford Winery is 15 minutes' drive from the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sentinel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing