We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014 trip”
Review of Sentinel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sentinel Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Recently stayed here for a week while back home visiting family and friends. All new furnishings in room, newly painted, new carpets. Air conditioner worked great. Small bathroom and I am handicapped but I was able to work with it. Shower was small but great water pressure. Microwave, refrigerator all worked great including the little freezer to keep out gel packs frozen for the trip home to N.C. Considered other places in Delaware County but too many were not acceptable with bed bugs. This place was clean, box spring still wrapped in plastic!

Room Tip: Old style motel building but definitely updated rooms. Easy access to US 202 and close to US 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was great !! The service we got as we'll nice people and such a nice place !! U feel comfortable . U have tv, water,fridge and microwave . The bed is confy super clean the bathroom as well !! Irecommended to people ..

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesus90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

needed a place to stay near longwood gardens without breaking the bank, the rooms were spotless and the owners treated you like family. The rooms had a refrigerator, microwave, wifi and were very pleasant. set back from the road they were also quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is located right off a highway near where the wedding was that we were going. Didnt hear much noise though. The room was clean. The bathroom good. Only downside was there was no plugs in the bathroom for my wifes hairdryer which she needed for the wedding. (Later after we had decided to move, the owner offered us a room with a plug, but it was too late.) Also they didnt have an ice machine. We moved to a newer hotel, with a plug in the bathroom and an ice machine, but no fridge, no microwave and it was smaller, for 20% more. Hummm....

Room Tip: Get a plug in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I checked in for 5 days and stayed for 3 months (house purchase from hell ...). This is run by a family with 2 motels who are experienced motelliers. Many repairmen working for insurance companies after major storms etc stay here as a base while they help with the fixing up, one guy was a regular from Wyoming! This place is clean, safe and fairly quiet being on the rise of a cutting for US 202. Good rates, clean, friendly staff and convenient for supermarket and eateries.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UnclearFizzyCyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Old style motel, clean, comfy beds, but no frills! Mini fridge, but no microwave or coffee maker in our room (#12). No counter space in bathroom. No toiletries (except bar soap) or hangers. Bring your own!!! Air Conditioner worked well, there were enough plugs to charge our gadgets, little road noise as the motel is on a hill above the road. No place to eat within walking distance so be ready to drive! But a very budget friendly alternative for vacationing in the area!

Room Tip: Room #12 had a nice chaise lounge chair, perfect for relaxing and reading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PastorLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I love visiting Longwood Gardens and tubing and canoeing on the Brandywine, so we visit this area every summer. I paw through the B&B, Airbnb, and hotel offerings, always getting frustrated at prices and lack of locations. I finally stumbled across the reviews of this motel last week, and decided to take a chance. We were happy with our two nights here, the two main points are affordability and location. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, the bed was comfortable, and the location is relatively quiet traffic wise. We'll definitely stop in here again if in the area.

For the people knocking the quality of the rooms, what are you expecting at this price rate? Go stay at the big box posh joint at triple the price if that's what you have to have.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weezulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
0.4 mi away
Brinton Hotel
Brinton Hotel
#5 of 7 in West Chester
13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
2.3 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentinel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentinel Motel

Address: 1445 Wilmington Pike, Chadds Ford Twp, West Chester, PA 19382-8316
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sentinel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***** Certificate of Excellence ***** Located south of West Chester, the Sentinel Motel is 2 miles from the Brandywine Battlefield, 4 miles from West Chester University and 8 miles from Longwood Gardens. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and flat-screen TV's are offered for your entertainment. Each newly remodeled spacious guest room at the Sentinel Motel includes a refrigerator, microwave, and satellite TV. The brightly decorated rooms have a work desk for you convenience and an en suite bathroom. The West Chester Sentinel Motel is air conditioned and offers fax and copy services at the 24-hour front desk. The motel also has a vending machine with drinks. The motel situated on top of the hill is in one of the finest areas and only a few miles away from dozens of restaurants. The Brandywine River Museum is 10 minutes' drive and The Chadds Ford Winery is 15 minutes' drive from the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sentinel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing