We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming home with charming hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Pennington, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming home with charming hosts.”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My daughter and I spent the weekend at Folk Stone B&B during a yoga workshop weekend. Marcy and Walter were great hosts in their lovely home. Breakfast was fabulous! Marcy was gracious in accommodating our special requests for breakfast. Please consider staying with Marcy and Walter if you need accommodations in the West Chester area.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We have again and again booked our stay in the Brandywine Valley area with Walter and Marcy at the Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast. For us it's always a home coming of sorts as we look forward to visiting our dear friends and hosts there.
The house now has a familar feel to it, with the creeking of stairs and the old house atmosphere.
The bedrooms are simple and nice and the bathrooms are clean.
Marcy and Walter are perfect hosts who take great pride in making Folke Stone a pleasure to stay in. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast for it's charm and great breakfasts and engaging hosts.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Walt and Marcy are unparalled hosts that make you feel like part of the family. We needed directions to several wedding event locations and Marcy was right on it with perfect directions! Breakfast was sumptuous -- fresh bruit and yogurt parfaits, real blueberry pancakes, french toast, egg dishes and great coffee! Other guests were returnees and we will be too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buffal0pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono Lake, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The 1732 Folke Stone is a fascinating, old house. The location is in a quiet, and the hosts are friendly. They served one of the best breakfasts that we've had at a b&b. The inn is reasonably priced for the area. The downside of the old house is that we could hear quite a bit of noise from the guests next door and the hosts when they were below us. While the sheets smelled fresh and the fixtures were clean, our room and bathroom would have benefited from a good deep cleaning to take care of dust on the light fixtures and mirrors, scuff marks on the bathroom wall, etc. We would have appreciated more than a lace curtain in our bathroom window, which overlooked the driveway. The Folke Stone is worth trying just to experience such an old house, but we would probably try another b & b if we were to return to the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Two friends and I spent two nights there and stayed in the Rose room. The room accommodated the three of us with a king bed and extra cot, and we had a large, private bath across the hall. The old stone inn felt like Europe...it was beautiful, homey and warm with large public rooms, large fireplaces, oriental rugs, lace curtains and lovely chandeliers. Marcy and Walt were very friendly and kind, helping us with directions, etc. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty, with fresh fruit, juices and a hot meal. We had blueberry pancakes and sausage one day and french toast and bacon the other all being served on Wedgewood china with sterling silver utensils, on a lace tablecloth. Just so lovely! The inn was in the beautiful Brandywine Valley area with the rolling hills and pond on the premises. We visited Nemours (fabulous house and grounds), Longwood (amazing conservatory) and Winterthur which, unfortunately, was closed last minute due to torrential downpours and flooding. Stop for a visit to Kennet Square and West Chester--lovely towns. It was a such a great time and I can't wait to go back. Thank you very much Marcy and Walt!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LVC1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Our first trip to the Brandywine Valley. Folke Stone Inn offered a discount if we stayed four nights, and it was a bargain since there was plenty to do in the valley and in Philadelphia. The old stone house dates to 1732. One wing houses three guest bedrooms; our room had a private bath across the hall, with robes provided for privacy. Hosts were solicitous as to whether the room was warm or cool enough. Breakfast is on Wedgewood china with old family silver service. One cool day, we started with a fire in the dining room fireplace. Breakfasts were plentiful, and different each day. Marcy is a nutritionist, and she puts a lot of thought into well-balanced meals that are beautifully presented. The house is located about 20 minutes from Nemours, Longwood Garden, Winterthur, and Brandywine Museum. Marcy can tell you how to use the commuter train into Philadelphia, and the highlights you ought to see. West Chester is a college town, with many restaurants and shops along one of the main streets. We loved the old house, with its gracious front porch and rockers. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoBurnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

This was our fifth visit to this wonderful bed and breakfast. We have made Marcy and Walter Schmoll the innkeepers of this cozy stone house our dearest of friends.
We have come to enjoy the warmth of hospitality that larger bed and breakfasts can't provide. The wonderful if not bountiful breakfasts each morning are a delight. If you visit in the fall or winter you will have Walter start a lovely fire in the diningroom fireplace that will warm you all over and adds a nice glow in the morning light.
There are three bedrooms to choose from, all have baths across the hall. Robes are provided for your pleasure and ample towels are available for your use.
Marcy and Walter are very knowledgable about the Brandywine area and can point you in any direction you want to go to explore.
We highly recomment this bed and breakfast, and we will be back again and again.

  • Liked — The hosts, comfortable bed, warm atmospher
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
2.0 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
195 reviews
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
544 reviews
7.5 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
361 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast
Address: 777 Copeland School Rd, West Chester, PA 19380-1823
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing