We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and welcoming stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The inn hosts Marcy and Walt were waiting for us when we arrived late Tuesday afternoon for our 3-day stay in the Brandywine Valley. Our room was up a flight of stairs, a little tight, but very nicely appointed with a Queen bed and with our private bathroom just across the hall. Marcy gave us excellent suggestions for dinner nearby in West Chester and promised to give us more local advice the next morning. A delicious home-cooked breakfast was waiting for us at 8:30 the next morning--fresh fruit, fritata, muffins, good coffee and juice, and Marcy and Walt chatted with us over their own coffee. After breakfast, Marcy gave us maps and information about Longwood Gardens, Winterthur and other special sites. Since we were staying three nights, she also gave us a coupon for a significant discount at Longwood.

The inn itself is a stone home from 1732 that was refinished inside in 1988. It sits on an acre of green land looking over a pondthat is inhabited by a swan and several ducks. We saw a fox near the pond on the first morning. Walt continues to work on the house and yard to make sure everything is right. The house is furnished from Marcy's and Walt's homes, with furniture and art inherited from their parents and ancestors. Everything in the house means something to one or both of them, and the ambience is warm, welcoming and comfortable.

There is wi-fi access throughout the inn, and guests may also use the refrigerator and snack basket when they are peckish.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

If you book this B&B, be aware that it is very small and has more of the feel of staying in someone's house than staying at an actual B&B. I was not comfortable with the lack of separation and privacy from the owners and other guests. While breakfast is delicious, it is served at the same time, at the same table, thus one is forced to socialize with the other guests and the hosts. In some ways, that's a nice exercise in civility, but I would prefer the option to eat alone. The room was just OK; a bit too shabby and dusty for me, and I wasn't aware from the listing when I booked that the bathroom is separate so you have to cross the hall to get to it. If I booked again in the Brandywine area, I would choose Whitewing Farm or the Faunbrook--it's worth the extra expense.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CD161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My daughter and I spent the weekend at Folk Stone B&B during a yoga workshop weekend. Marcy and Walter were great hosts in their lovely home. Breakfast was fabulous! Marcy was gracious in accommodating our special requests for breakfast. Please consider staying with Marcy and Walter if you need accommodations in the West Chester area.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LSR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We have again and again booked our stay in the Brandywine Valley area with Walter and Marcy at the Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast. For us it's always a home coming of sorts as we look forward to visiting our dear friends and hosts there.
The house now has a familar feel to it, with the creeking of stairs and the old house atmosphere.
The bedrooms are simple and nice and the bathrooms are clean.
Marcy and Walter are perfect hosts who take great pride in making Folke Stone a pleasure to stay in. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast for it's charm and great breakfasts and engaging hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Walt and Marcy are unparalled hosts that make you feel like part of the family. We needed directions to several wedding event locations and Marcy was right on it with perfect directions! Breakfast was sumptuous -- fresh bruit and yogurt parfaits, real blueberry pancakes, french toast, egg dishes and great coffee! Other guests were returnees and we will be too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buffal0pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The 1732 Folke Stone is a fascinating, old house. The location is in a quiet, and the hosts are friendly. They served one of the best breakfasts that we've had at a b&b. The inn is reasonably priced for the area. The downside of the old house is that we could hear quite a bit of noise from the guests next door and the hosts when they were below us. While the sheets smelled fresh and the fixtures were clean, our room and bathroom would have benefited from a good deep cleaning to take care of dust on the light fixtures and mirrors, scuff marks on the bathroom wall, etc. We would have appreciated more than a lace curtain in our bathroom window, which overlooked the driveway. The Folke Stone is worth trying just to experience such an old house, but we would probably try another b & b if we were to return to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Two friends and I spent two nights there and stayed in the Rose room. The room accommodated the three of us with a king bed and extra cot, and we had a large, private bath across the hall. The old stone inn felt like Europe...it was beautiful, homey and warm with large public rooms, large fireplaces, oriental rugs, lace curtains and lovely chandeliers. Marcy and Walt were very friendly and kind, helping us with directions, etc. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty, with fresh fruit, juices and a hot meal. We had blueberry pancakes and sausage one day and french toast and bacon the other all being served on Wedgewood china with sterling silver utensils, on a lace tablecloth. Just so lovely! The inn was in the beautiful Brandywine Valley area with the rolling hills and pond on the premises. We visited Nemours (fabulous house and grounds), Longwood (amazing conservatory) and Winterthur which, unfortunately, was closed last minute due to torrential downpours and flooding. Stop for a visit to Kennet Square and West Chester--lovely towns. It was a such a great time and I can't wait to go back. Thank you very much Marcy and Walt!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LVC1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
2.0 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
202 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Great Valley/Malvern
3.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Downingtown Exton Route 30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast

Address: 777 Copeland School Rd, West Chester, PA 19380-1823
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range: £101 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing