We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed, not what I expected from the reviews”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointed, not what I expected from the reviews”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hosts were nice; however there were quite a few things that led to an uncomfortable visit. Our stay was during the early summer and we found the room uncomfortably warm- with our returns later in the evening, it was too late to ask for adjustments. The rooms could use some updates, the chair was not safe to sit on as one leg was very unstable. There was personal rubbish from a previous guest in the room trash can and the bathroom required cleaning (cobwebs and finger smudges on the walls). They put great care into their breakfast preparation and presentation, unfortunately my allergy to blueberries was ignored and I could not enjoy the homemade blueberry pancakes. The snack station is a nice touch. This is a very old home and the smell from the fireplace is overpowering- I would not recommend staying here if you have any respiratory issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiltstitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcy S, Owner at 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are very concern that you were so disappointed with your stay at our charming bed and breakfast. As you can see from the other reviews, we try very hard to make our guests comfortable and anticipate their needs. It is unfortunate that we did not realize that a chair had developed a weak leg. It was replaced as soon as we saw the chair leaning. We pride ourselves in keeping the bathrooms and guest rooms spotless. Walt is so fussy about his clean bathrooms that I am not allowed to go into the bathrooms, once he has cleaned them. Unfortunately, I did not know about your blueberry allergy, because I would have gladly made some plain ones. Our blueberry pancakes are a favorite and often are requested by our guests. The aroma from the fireplace is not usually offensive; however, most cold mornings we do have an inviting warm fire during breakfast service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time with these very gracious hosts as well as the ambiance of this well kept home. Our breakfasts were superb, served with warmth and in a beautiful setting. One of our favorite times was simply chatting with our hosts or sitting on their pleasant porch enjoying God's beautiful nature.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Marcy and Walt were gracious hosts and their breakfasts just delicious. They were very accommodating to my friend's lactose intolerant diet. The room was comfortable, immaculate and decorated beautifully. The location was very convenient to Longwood Gardens. One evening we purchased our dinner and dined on the porch. All in all a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My 4 friends and I enjoyed a fantastic weekend in this delightful B&B! Marcy and Walt were great hosts, food was delicious, accommodations comfortable and convenient. Convenient location to many activities. Truly a wonderful experience!! Thank you Marcy and Walt! Eileen

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We love visiting the Brandwine Valley and especially Longwood Gardens. This was our first experience staying in a B & B in the area. Marcie and Walt are wonderful hosts offering the "best" breakfasts we have ever been served at any B & B. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and at breakfast they served a homemade bread complete with an adorable music box topper. How thoughtful...delicious too!! Our queen room was lovely and everything was spotless. The stone house is beautiful and the interior is eloquently decorated. Marcie had pre-printed directions to all the sights we wanted to visit which was really helpful. All in all, it was a perfect weekend and we will definitely visit again. Thanks Marcie and Walt!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Still in the B&B as I am writing this. We are in the area on business and it was difficult to find accommodation near to West Chester, hence choosing the B&B. I am so pleased we did! We have had a lovely stay in the old house with the very welcoming owners Marcie and Walter who have given us a lovely breakfast each day.

They have also been very helpful with directions etc. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are off to Gettysburg now to another old hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CT
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed for three nights in this charming B & B, our third stay with hosts Marcie and Walt Schmall over a period of 13 years. The location is convenient for those wishing to visit the Brandywine Valley or the Philadelphia area; it is not convenient for those expecting to walk around West Chester from their accommodations (it's a short--5 minute--drive to downtown WC). While the rooms are small, they are clean and the bathrooms are spotless. Plump fresh towels are provided each day. Marcie's breakfasts are always wonderful---she is a registered dietitian and she really knows her way around a kitchen. The common rooms are charming and spacious; Walt often has a fire going in the HUGE fireplace to take the chill out of the air (we have always visited in April). Yes, the stairs creak, the decor is a little tired, and if you wish to feel that you are alone in the house, this is not the place for you (you might hear some muffled noise from next-door neighbors if the house is full), but this is part of a B & B experience, in my view.

Marcie is very helpful in providing directions, often written directions, to anywhere you may choose to go. They have an extensive collection of restaurant menus for area restaurants, and are willing to provide recommendations based on your tastes. Overall, an excellent place for a solo or a couple on a getaway. Probably not the best place for a traveling businessperson.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
2.0 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
7.5 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Downingtown Route 30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast
Address: 777 Copeland School Rd, West Chester, PA 19380-1823
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing