We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this B & B as visitors to Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square PA.
The hosts Marci and Walter were gracious and welcoming and knowledgeable about the area.
Our accommodation was the Rose Room, and because of the condition of the bed I spent two sleepless nights. The bed is billed as a king, when in fact it is a California king, (2 twin beds hooked together) The condition of the mattress was deplorable and after lifting the bed skirt to see what was up, found the box spring to be old, discolored, and disintegrating. Be wary of booking the Rose Room. I cannot speak to any of the other rooms. Overall these accommodations require a little TLC and a new mattress set. On the positive side the breakfasts were delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lks38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcy S, Owner at 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

We feel very badly that you were so uncomfortable in the Rose Room California king bed, which is larger than a king bed. Our beautiful antique brass beds have flat box platforms, with skirts, that are welded to the bed frames. This is what the guest saw when he lifted the bed skirt. The mattress sets sit on top of these flat bed boxes about 18 inches from the floor. The mattress sets were custom made for these beds and are held together by a unique center section. The bed is completed with a very plush mattress pad on it. Over the years we have received many compliments about how comfortable the bed is and how charming the room is. (See other reviews.) The king Louis room has a firmer mattress and the Jenny Lind room the firmest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Marcy and Walter run a small but top notch operation as bed and breakfasts go. Running a B&B appears to be a passion for them as opposed to being an income producer. The place is such an incredible bargain that I would consider it reasonable at twice the price. Breakfast is served family style at one table so you get to socialize with the other guests. Marcy has a background in nutrition so the food is not only delicious but good for you. If you love old architecture and being treated like family this is the place to go. I intend to steer family and friends to this establishment because it is that good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Me my husband my twin sister and her boyfriend have one of the best time and this beautiful place.the owners Marci and Walter ( lovely people ) we went to celebrated my twin and I birthday what a great time We can't wait to go back.Marci and Walter thank you so much to let us feel like we were at home.i hope we will see you both again.great breakfast

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maribel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Marcy and Walter are amazing hosts. It felt more like staying with friends than at a B&B. They are very welcoming and generous with their time. Marcy's breakfasts are fabulous, nourishing and beautiful to look at, too. Excellence in service clearly means a lot to them. We stayed in the Rose Room, which is a large corner room, and it has a large bathroom, too. (All rooms have their own bathrooms. But the Rose's bathroom is the largest.) The location is great, too. Just a few minutes (by car) from downtown West Chester and the West Chester University, and yet, the house is located in a beautiful rural area. My husband and I both enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend the Folke Stone B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Marcy and Walter invite you into their home and immediately make you feel welcome. Upon our arrival we were told
There had been a booking issue, in order to resolve this Marcy and Walter graciously gave us the master suite in the house. This happens to be their personal room, they gave up their own personal space. Following morning breakfast was served and did not dissapoint. Delicious home made meal.
I could go on but will wrap things up simply by saying that our stay here was both relaxing and pleasant. And a huge thank you to Marcy and Walter.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webstar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the 2 nights my husband and I spent there. Pleasant hosts who provided an excellent breakfast and information for the area sites and restaurants - with directions. Room very nice with great bath/shower. Loved the Historic house and furnishings. Pleasant dining and sitting area to converse with a related couple we met to stay there . Setting was lovely and quiet with a porch to sit on as well. Liked the small number of rooms/guests at one time and the hosts friendliness without being intrusive. Very happy to recommend it to others. Linda P

Room Tip: All 3 rooms on 2nd floor - each have private baths across the hall from the bedroom. King bed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Llkperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hosts were nice; however there were quite a few things that led to an uncomfortable visit. Our stay was during the early summer and we found the room uncomfortably warm- with our returns later in the evening, it was too late to ask for adjustments. The rooms could use some updates, the chair was not safe to sit on as one leg was very unstable. There was personal rubbish from a previous guest in the room trash can and the bathroom required cleaning (cobwebs and finger smudges on the walls). They put great care into their breakfast preparation and presentation, unfortunately my allergy to blueberries was ignored and I could not enjoy the homemade blueberry pancakes. The snack station is a nice touch. This is a very old home and the smell from the fireplace is overpowering- I would not recommend staying here if you have any respiratory issues.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quiltstitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcy S, Owner at 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We are very concern that you were so disappointed with your stay at our charming bed and breakfast. As you can see from the other reviews, we try very hard to make our guests comfortable and anticipate their needs. It is unfortunate that we did not realize that a chair had developed a weak leg. It was replaced as soon as we saw the chair leaning. We pride ourselves in keeping the bathrooms and guest rooms spotless. Walt is so fussy about his clean bathrooms that I am not allowed to go into the bathrooms, once he has cleaned them. Unfortunately, I did not know about your blueberry allergy, because I would have gladly made some plain ones. Our blueberry pancakes are a favorite and often are requested by our guests. The aroma from the fireplace is not usually offensive; however, most cold mornings we do have an inviting warm fire during breakfast service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
2.0 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
203 reviews
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
7.5 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
387 reviews
3.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Downingtown Exton Route 30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast

Address: 777 Copeland School Rd, West Chester, PA 19380-1823
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range: £98 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your 1732 Folke Stone Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing