We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly Neighborhood Joint. Great beer....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baggataway's Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Baggataway's Tavern
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Neighborhood Joint. Great beer....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I was told by a friend to stop into Baggataway's while on business in the area. I was in on Thursday, Nov. 7th around 8. It was packed when I walked in, but I found out they were having a "tap takeover" that night. The takeover featured beer from Allagash & Victory. The draught list was pretty impressive. I had Victory's Dirt Wolf and Hugh Malone from Allagash (both amazing if you like hops). They have free wings with a pitcher of beer on Thursdays...a great deal. My friend told me I had to try the wings and they were spot on. So good. Perfectly crispy, not drowning in sauce and they had just the right level of spiciness. I also saw everyone ordering burgers and couldn't resist. I had the blue and onion burger. It was really really good. It came with fries too, which were seasoned well and nice and crispy. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive even though there was a crowd. They had live music that night as well. It got a little loud, since it's a pretty small place and I was sitting close to the band. Other than that, a great experience and I look forward to stopping in next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place. Local feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Beer list seemed good, even if I could induldge at the time. Great meal. Will go again next time I'm in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Being generous at 2 out of 5”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had dinner Saturday night Nov.2 around 7 o'clock. I'd been there before when it was Cunningham's but my wife had not been there yet. The place has a large square bar and a nice pub atmosphere. The ceilings are a little low and the floor is old tile which is fine as long as it's clean but it wasn't. The men's room is small which is fine except you have to lean back at the urinal to keep from having the paper towel dispenser on your face.
The female bartender was quite pleasant and prompt. I ordered the crab dip for us as an appetizer. The bread was delicious and hot. The dip was voluminous and hot but the crab was pulverized and plundered and not very flavorful.
For dinner I ordered the chicken and ribs that came with a baked potato and cole slaw. The chicken breast was closer to an unbreaded cutlet and was overcooked and too dry. The ribs were way overcooked and not good at all. The baked potato was on the small side and dry, even with sour cream and butter. The cole slaw was of the "vat" variety (from an industrial size pre made container). Why would any restaurant serve anything but homemade cole slaw, potato salad or macaroni salad?
My wife ordered a burger that looked like a pre made patty, bland and not very good.
We both agreed that because of the potential that the pub presents, we will give the place another try sometime but probably in the afternoon and probably for lunch or just a couple belts and an appetizer. With as much competition as there is in Conshohocken, this was very very surprising. As a restaurant, you do not want to lose our demographic (50 to 60 yr olds)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baggataway is serving beer in Falsie glasses 10 oz as a Pint”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Baggataway serves 10 oz beers they call "Pints". I stopped by tonight and got a Lagunitas IPA. When I received the beer it 1 1/4 inch head.

I then ordered 90 min dogfish bottle and using the same glass which I received the Lagunitas in I was able to fill the glass to the very top without a head.

Yes, the Baggataway is serving 12 oz falsie beers with big heads! i.e. 10 oz pints ... this is a ripoff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Baggataway's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Very good pub with pub type food. Hot and cold sandwiches are excellent. Staff very friendly and service is also excellent. Crowd very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 19087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baggataway's Tavern also viewed

 
Conshohocken, PA
Conshohocken, PA
 

Been to Baggataway's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing