We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Mifflin
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Poor Experience. I stayed two nights. The first night the room was very cold when I checked in and it took 6 hours for the weak heater to bring the room to a comfortable temperature. The second night a dog in the room across the hall barked every time someone walked down the hall. After two hours I called the front desk and was informed this was a pet friendly hotel and that the barking was acceptable. I moved to another room on a different floor which had a very loud heater. There are several other hotels in the area that provide a much more pleasant experience

Room Tip: avoid the 4th floor which is designated as "pet friendly". Check heater before you unpack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpnyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear cpnyguest,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry for the problems you experienced in your room and for any inconvenience caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is my third trip in less than two years for family funerals. Each time the staff has been very kind and friendly. The rooms are clean and anything extra that I asked for was promptly delivered. Breakfast is hot and fresh and there is always coffee . Hopefully I won't be cack too son"

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks in December while working nearby. It was a nice hotel, the lobby was clean and the staff was nice upon check in. At night when returning from work there was a cookie reception in th lobby which I thought was a nice touch, it also was nice if you got there early because they were warmed up.

The rooms I had during the 3 seperate weeks I stayed were all nice, somethings could have been a little more updated but overall it was acceptable. I do however, need to complain about the airconditioner/heater. In every room I was in, if the AC/Heater kicked on there was a compressor that was so loud I had to keep it turned off. This meant huddling under the covers during the night or be kept away by the rumbling and getting up in the morning was painful because the room had become chilly. They need to update the units and maybe follow the Hampton Inn by putting thermostats on the wall to control the temp instead of the old fashion units they have.

Nearby there are many restaurants, a mall and shops I did get a lot of Christmas shopping done while I was there. So if you are there for business there is lots to do near the hotel. Overall it was a good 3 business weeks away from home.

Room Tip: Don't take a room near the stairwells on the ends of each hallway, the doors slam and you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We have stayed in the hotel 4 times. The first time we stayed our daughter stepped on a carpet nail tack strip that was exposed. We told the staff and a few days later the manager got back to us. He kindly reimbursed us for our stay. We were in town again and we stayed in the same King hottub suite. I was so glad to see they fixed the carpet! We will be back again! Pro's - clean hotel, comfy beds, friendly staff, nice breakfast.. Con- a little pricy.. for the king hottub suite, after tax it is over 200 a night...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POWPegVinCharlieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your awesome words of encouragement! We are thrilled that you choose to stay with us repeatedly. That tells me we are right on target at making guests' feel like . . . well, guests! You feedback is important to us and as you found out for your self, we react by taking action!

Again, you are a valued part of who we are. Keep coming back and getting to know us better. We truly appreciate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at this site for 5 nights mid October. Our stay there was excellent. The staff was very friendly and professional. The room was very clean & comfortable. Upon check-in I was immediately recognized as a Priority Club Platinum member. The breakfast bar was one of the best I have experienced at a HIE property. The only little glitch in our stay was a toilet that constantly ran during our stay even after a couple attempts by staff to correct the problem. Coming from the desert where water is scarce and a precious commodity this was more of issue to us than most guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The area surrounding the hotel is industrial looking....nothing fancy. But the hotel is the opposite; large open lobby that opens into a large breakfast area (breakfast options very good). I stayed here on points and was not disappointed. The room was a huge suite with a whirlpool and seperate bedroom area. The hotel staff (this includes front desk, breakfast, room services, etc) was wonderful. Always smiling and wanting to help in any way possible. Two thumbs up.

There is a large selection of shopping and food choices....just ask the staff. Everything is nearby, just not immediately visible. Note: Pittsburgh is congested with a lot of road construction. Try to know where you are going and how to get there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John108Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a beautiful facility however, the quality of the matresses is extremely poor. A poor quality matress is a difficult problem resulting in a sporatic night's sleep BUT the worst problem is that even after 4 messages (1 hand written from the weekend manager and 3 voicemail messges) there has been NO communication from the general manager. Each time I call and speak with a person, I am told that the manager is "busy." This hotel does NOT represent the expected quality of a Holiday Inn Express. DISAPPOINTING!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Karen E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the mattress and services you received from the Management. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate your taking the time to make us aware of the service and quality issues you encountered.

Once again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Mifflin
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/West Mifflin
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites West Mifflin
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in West Mifflin
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Waterfront-West Homestead
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - West Mifflin
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin

Address: 3122 Lebanon Church Rd, West Mifflin, PA 15122-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Mifflin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Mifflin
Price Range: £89 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**** Please note that our Holiday Inn Express and Suites will be under renovations Beginning in February 2015. Our staff is committed to ensuring that your stay will still be enjoyable and that you will still have full access to all of our current amenities. Please contact the hotel for further details. **** The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-West Mifflin is nestled in the beautiful South Hills Area. The hotel has metropolitan furnishings and a friendly, well-trained staff. The hotel is adjacent to the Allegheny County Airport and minutes from Jefferson Regional Medical Center and UPMC McKeesport in addition to local shopping and dining. Attractions close by include Kennywood Amusement Park, Sandcastle Water Park, The Waterfront Shopping Complex, Station Square Shopping and Bessemer Court Entertainment/Dining and Century III Mall Catch a game with the Pittsburgh Steelers at Heinz Field, Pittsburgh Penguins at Mellon Arena & Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park all only 15 minutes from the hotel. Come, Stay Smart with us, and do not forget our free Express Start breakfast buffet with warm cinnamon rolls and our signature Smart Roast coffee. We offer the most flexible and spacious meeting facilities in the West Mifflin area. We offer a ballroom, hospitality room and boardrooms with breakout space for 10-200 people with free parking. Call our sales department today to schedule your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel West Mifflin
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn West Mifflin
West Mifflin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing