We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise; convenient to Pittsburgh”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wexford
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This Econo Lodge exceeded our expectations. The hotel was clean inside and very nice landscaping outside. The smell of fresh baked cookies led us to the tasty treat for an afternoon snack. Our king room was clean, ample sized, neatly prepared with well appointed décor. The bathroom was spotless with very nice towels. The bed was comfortable. The AC worked well although we didn't use it much since the outside air was comfortable. The arrival desk clerk, Tawney, was attractive, intelligent and super efficient with check in. She was helpful with directions to downtown Pittsburgh (about 15/20 minute drive after rush hour) and offered suggestions for supper (We used King's restaurant adjacent to the hotel... very tasty meal at a reasonable price).
We are frequent Choice hotel users. We would definitely return to this Econo Lodge which was on a higher stand than many other Econo Lodges we have used.

Room Tip: No elevator. High even numbered rooms are probably quietest, although the soundproofing makes any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chipjane077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeWexford, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. It is so nice to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable with the clean and comfy bed rooms we have. It sounds perfect that the location worked best for you. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The place was convenient were we need to go, and easy to get to. When we checked the first thing that we saw on the way to the room was 2 mattresses on their side, and what looked like a room conditioner removed from the room. These were visible when you came up the stairs to the 2nd floor, and were in an area you would not need to walk to, but visible in the hallway. Kind of tells me they do not care what the customers think. The room was clean, and although we asked for a non-smoking room we saw cigarette burns in the 1 chair. The room did come with a fridge and microwave. Basically adequate and clean but nothing special. It does come with a minimal breakfast, 2 cereals, waffles, yogurt, some pastry, which is nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerksPADad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPA169, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank You for taking the time to write a review of our hotel regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations regarding the overall value that our property has to offer. Our customers are to be given the upmost satisfaction during their stay with us and to receive mediocre scores is unacceptable. I have addressed your concern of hotel equipment being left in the hallway and will be sure that it gets taken care of. We will use the ratings you have given us to our advantage in addressing what some of our guest's concerns are. Thank You for staying with us and we hope to receive another chance in serving you on your next trip to the area. We will be sure to do a better job in providing superior services to you and all of our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

On the positive side, this hotel is in a quiet location near a couple restaurants and a small grocery store. A short drive to Pittsburgh; yet far enough away from the city. Rooms were dark at night which helped me fall asleep quickly. Fridge and A/C ran quietly, and didn't wake me up during the night. Staff were friendly and pleasant.
However, on the other hand, I would not stay at an Econo Lodge again if this is indicative of the chain. We have stayed at Quality Inns before, which is within the Choice Hotel family, and they were much, much nicer. Our room had a very musky smell, but since you couldn't open a window, there was nothing you could do about it. One of the lights above the sink came on and off intermittently. The grout in the bathroom was very dirty. The air in the room was dry (as mentioned earlier, windows won't open), and we woke up stuffy. It also looked as though mold was growing inside the A/C unit. Sink was cracked, and it was outside the bathroom--only the bathtub and toilet were in the bathroom.
At a previous stay a month earlier at a Quality Inn, they served eggs and breakfast meat. This one only had pastries, a couple pieces of fruit, cereal, and a waffle maker. There were only three small tables in the breakfast area, so you were lucky if you got a place to sit and eat. The toaster was a four-slice, but the lever was broken on one side and very difficult to push down. My son's toast ended up burning because it wouldn't pop up. When smoke started pouring out, the guy at the desk said, "you have to hit cancel if you want it to pop up". (He could have told us this initially, or better yet, there should have been a small sign placed in front of the toaster instructing you to do this).
On the second morning, maids were talking very loudly right outside our room for quite some time. When I popped my head out, they apologized and moved on.
If I had it to do over, I would have stayed at a different Choice Hotel--one which served eggs and breakfast meat. I only stayed at this chain for the promotional offer. Econo Lodge is definitely on the lower end of the chain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeWexford, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future.
We hope you will choose our Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Nice clean motel, has small but serviceable continental breakfast and pay laundry machines. We were satisfied with our stay, although wish that a roll away option were available or at least that it were clear from the web site that they do not offer roll aways....an issue since we have teens who are opposite sex and do not wish to sleep together. Still, great customer service and clean room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunflowerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeWexford, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We thank you for leaving a review about your visit a year ago. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I wasn't thrilled with the sketchy back parking lot, the dark room, the dingy bedspreads or the four little squares of TP left on the roll that was nicely folded into a point. But, when the sizable furry critter ran down the hall it was time to check out and find another location. The manager on duty was far from apologetic when I asked me if I left the back door open, or if it was in my actual room. "No, and I still can't stay here." I was cancelled, refunded and told they were having a chipmunk issue. Okay, but I'm still not staying here. I booked a one night stay based on the reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeWexford, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We thank you for leaving a review about your visit a year ago. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed here because it was the closest hotel to our friends' house. The hotel is located close to the interstate with easy access. Our room was clean and well maintained. The front desk manager was more than helpful, going out of his way to help us find a local store.

Breakfast was continental...bathroom was a little small, but still all in all, this is a good value hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

There was no single thing about this hotel that would make me give it such a low rating, but all of the little things just added up to push it down to 1 star. The rate seemed rather high, but considering the market and time of our stay (summer weekend), it would not necessarily be out of line for a high-end Econo Lodge. We arrived to find a tractor-trailer parked crosswise in the parking lot making access to the marked parking spots difficult. The hotel is already on a street signed "No Trucks," and doesn't have space for them. The desk clerk was friendly and vey patient with the guest checking in ahead of us, who wanted to make conversation and had to be told everything twice. This set a good tone, but that didn't last after we saw the room.

There were 2 flourescent light bulbs out in the room, including one in a fixture that was dangling from the ceiling over the sink. The sink itself had a big crack in it. There was a used towel hanging on the robe hook in the bathroom which had been missed by the maid. The windows don't open, which didn't bother me although the bad caulking job did. The mattress was old and uncomfortable. This, combined with a very loud ice machine 4 rooms away and an air conditioner that went through an off/on/off/on cycle every time it ran made sleep difficult.

The review form asks about a pool, but there is none. There is a coin-laundry area in the hallway under a stairwell.

Things did brighten a bit in the morning. Breakfast selection was more than I expected from Econo Lodge, and included a waffle machine. The desk clerk taking care of the breakfast and check-out was efficient and pleasant, if not as outgoing as the woman the night before. And nobody hit my car during the night while squeezing between it and the truck. With only a little difficulty I backed out of my parking spot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorpsofDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Wexford-Sewickley
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Pittsburgh North Cranberry Township
Red Roof Inn Pittsburgh North Cr...
#13 of 15 in Cranberry Township
215 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Cranberry
Hyatt Place Cranberry
#6 of 15 in Cranberry Township
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh / McCandless, PA
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn Cranberry Township
Quality Inn Cranberry Township
#12 of 15 in Cranberry Township
225 reviews
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 107 Vip Dr, Wexford, PA 15090-7913 (Formerly America's Best Inn Pittsburgh / Wexford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wexford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wexford
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Wexford
Best Inn Wexford
Wexford Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing