We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Hickory Run
Ranked #1 of 2 White Haven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Great romantic getaway, the actual B&B was amazing, and the surround state park is great too!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kcarlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2008

We went to the Inn for our Anniversary and biking in the area.

We arrived early on a Friday and was greeted by the innkeeper, David. He was very cordial and allowed us to get into our room early as we wanted to bike on the Lehigh Gorge bikepath. A very nice easy biking trail along the Lehigh River.

We traveled about 38 miles and upon returning needed some real relaxation. The Jacuzzi tub and of course wine was just the therapy we needed.

When we returned he offered us refreshments and advise on dining in the area. Very helpful and the choices were very good, Denali's and Powerhouse.

Breakfasts were terrific and you certainly did not go away hungry. In the evening he would have snacks and baked an apple pie on Saturday.

The inn has 4 rooms all immaculate and probably one of the nicest B&B's we have stayed in .

I would highly recommend a visit and I doubt you would be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

I first heard of the Inn at Hickory Run from Tripadvisor and saw that it had amazing reviews. My girlfriend and I wanted to go skiing in the Poconos and it came down to this place and a bigger name hotel. The gleaming reviews for the Inn won me over and our stay surpassed expectations.

Reservations looked easy with an online reservation system, but I ended up calling in the reservation. David, the owner, was polite and friendly over the phone, and was more than helpful to walk me through the process. Getting the room right before Valentine season meant a rate of $215 a night. (225 now I believe) Although more than what I would usually pay at a hotel, it's a good price compared to other places in the Poconos and as we soon found out, an excellent deal for the experience you get when you stay there.

The drive was easy, we're about 20 minutes north of Philadelphia and it took a little less than 1.5 hours to get to the Inn. Directions off their website were clear and concise.

When we arrived around 7pm Friday evening, David greeted us and showed us to our room. First impression was that it was amazing room. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. He and his wife took 3 years to build the Inn and each room has a theme of a different type of wood. (Maple, Birch, Cherry, and Oak) Our Maple room was clean, comfortable, and the bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom! We had a king size bed, gas fireplace, tv, dvd/ipod player, chair, and desk, and in the bathroom was a huge 2 person hot tub, a stand-in shower, and plenty of lighting. The maple accents were a nice touch.

All four rooms are located on the first floor, along with the cozy living area with flat screen tv and dvds you can borrow, and a fireplace that divides the living area from the dining room. David explained that the lamp stands were carved and preserved pieces of trees that they had cut down for the Inn. It was these types of details that made our stay special.

Breakfast was amazing. Before skiing on both days, we got up at 8:30 to be greeted by fresh fruit, freshly baked blueberry muffins, followed by quiche, french toast, and pancakes. David joined us at the table and gave us some history on the area and Bunny helped in the kitchen. Both were so friendly and upbeat. As for other food, they always had some type of dessert out on the table at night (crumb cake, Mrs. Fields cookies) along with hot water for tea, coffee, and hot apple cider.

As for skiing, we went to Jack Frost and Big Boulder only 15 minutes away from the Inn. Before the trip, I didn't like the idea of driving to the mountains, but it was absolutely not a big deal, nor a long drive, especially considering the great place we were staying. Both days of skiing/snowboarding were great, although neither of us are experts so we were happy with the greens/blues/and one black. Lift tickets plus rentals for one day was $75 but David gave us coupons for $5 off each. (We also took a snowboarding lesson Sunday and if you buy the Discovery lesson/lift ticket/rental all together, it's only $80) In the state park right next to the Inn there is snowmobiling available, but only when there is enough natural snow.

Dinner Saturday was suggested by David and it was a place about 10 minutes away called Powerhouse. It was a semi-fancy restaurant with varied American/Italian fare, prices ranged from $10 small plates to $30 steak and $40 lobster.

David and his wife put a lot of time and effort into the Inn and it certainly shows. Personal attention, details, and a feeling of being home away from home are what characterize their place. Since they only basically allow couples to stay (no one under 14) I can't recommend it as a family place, but as for a romantic getaway or a nice place to stay for skiing or summer activities, it's the best!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank XFitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2007

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Inn over a snowy weekend in February. The Inn at Hickory Run had the feeling of a small luxury hotel combined with the quaintness and personal feeling of a traditional bed and breakfast.

The owner David has built a beautiful property in the Poconos roughly 2 hours from NY. The Inn was recently built and has all the modern technological comforts we have come to use everyday including internet access and personal stereos/DVD players in each room.

The four bedrooms are aptly named for the wood Dave used to build each one. Each is equipped with its own fireplace and whirlpool tub in the bathroom. Breakfast was served every morning and snacks and desert were put out in the evening.

The Inn is situated at Hickory Run State Park which is great for people who enjoy the outdoors. Hiking/Skiing/Snowmobiling were all available in the winter.

The two local restaurants (Forks, Powerhouse) were very good and there is some local bars in White Haven.

The real amenity at the Inn is that you are given an extraordinary level of personal attention while also leaving you plenty of privacy and time to relax and enjoy the area on your own.

I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a close, relaxing getaway.

Bob

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rzimardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

Jennifer and I had a great time at The Inn at Hickory Run. There is simply not a better bed and breakfast in the Poconos...or anywhere else that I can think of.

Their attention to detail, the breakfasts/snacks and room cleanliness were all top notch. From the moment we stepped into the Inn, we felt right at home. Their suggestions of places to eat were also fantastic. I could see taking a trip just to eat at the Powerhouse again!

Jennifer and I will be back and we plan to bring friends and family. Our stay could not have been better.

The entire staff was great. Every time we needed anything, they helped us. I couldn't think of anything to make our stay better.

All our best,
Dan and Jen

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank howardroark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2007

A fairly secluded inn on the southwestern side of the poconos.

Nice change of pace from the three Victorian style B&B’s we’ve enjoyed up to this point. Appropriate focus on natural building materials (wood, stone) given its location adjacent to the large state park. The place is brand new, and was designed from the start to be used as a B&B, as opposed to being retrofitted. Everything was very clean. Good breakfasts in the morning, although our enjoyment was probably enhanced by the conversations we struck up with Dave and the other guests. Speaking of Dave, its hard to imagine a more attentive inn keeper. While we enjoyed our stay at other B&Bs, we always felt like we were a guest in someone else's home. At this Inn we quickly felt at home as we spent time chatting, watching tv, and munching on nighttime snacks with Dave and the other guests. We also enjoyed the quiet evenings and privacy of sleeping in a wooded environment. A nice balance. Given the amenities and service, we think this is an excellent value.

The fire places work so well you might end up opening a window if it gets too hot (Dave doesn’t mind – actually, he suggested it). We stayed in the Cherry Room, which is the most secluded of the rooms. The room includes 2 windows in the bedroom and 1 in the bathroom which overlook the side and rear of the property. This room opens into the dining area, while the others open into the main room with the tall fireplace. We got a look at all the rooms – all charming.

Local dining options: the Powerhouse can be expensive, depending on what you pick on the menu. Dave had a coupon for the guests that stayed during our weekend there though. (Altogether 3 positive reviews). Forks is a smaller, contemporary style restaurant with a nice bar. I liked the plasmas on the wall that were tuned to the AFC playoff game (and appreciated that they flipped over for commentary on the NFL network once 60 minutes started).

Things to do: We were intent on skiing, and found that Jack Frost and Big Boulder were only about 20 minutes away. Camelback isn’t that much further. 30 minutes to Jim Thorpe / Mauch Chaunk. We didn’t expect to do much hiking (given the rainy weather), but ended up enjoying 2 trails in the state park on Dave’s suggestion. Try the Shades of Death trail (not kidding, its on the map) if you don’t want to bother with mud on a rainy day. There are some nice trails in the park. Dave knows the trails well and he can help to guide you to a trail to match your interests.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank the_OT_and_the_esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2007

We had a VERY relaxing and nice time staying at The Inn at Hickory Run for the 3-day weekend. We absolutely loved the room-the fireplace and hot tub IN THE ROOM made it a very romantic getaway for our anniversary. The staff was so helpful with special accommodations such as roses in our room. The breakfasts were delicious and to die for! The afternoon appetizers and evening desserts were unexpected and much appreciated. The Inn was VERY clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and attentive to anything we requested. We would definitely recommend the Inn at Hickory Run to family and friends looking for a relaxing time away with many amenities that your B&B has to offer! It was a wonderful weekend!

Jon

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jselko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Haven
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
2 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#6 of 6 in White Haven
520 reviews
20.5 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Crescent Lodge & Country Inn
13.8 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
8.2 mi away
Lake Harmony Inn
Lake Harmony Inn
#1 of 1 in Lake Harmony
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hickory Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hickory Run

Address: Route 534 and Tribbles Lane, Lehigh Tannery, White Haven, PA 18661
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > White Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in White Haven
Price Range: £112 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Hickory Run is the country inn in the heart of the Pennsylvania Poconos. Offering the finest in accommodations featuring fireplaces and whirlpool tubs in every room and the best in food and relaxation for a weekend getaway or an extended executive retreat, we’re on the border of Hickory Run and Lehigh Gorge State Parks featuring activities such as hiking, fishing, swimming, snowmobiling, kayaking, horseback riding, biking, cross country skiing and fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing