We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Harveys Lake, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Well worth the stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Price was a bit high for the area, but the room was clean and the service was excellent. Hotel has two restaurants and shuttle service to the casino. Plenty of things to do at this hotel. Very satisfied. They also have a lovely oasis outside in the middle of the hotel. During my stay I had an issue trying to get a bus for my daughter to go back to college, and the Bartender grabbed her phone and tried helping as much as she could, calling everyone she could. I have stayed at a lot of hotels, but never had the service try that much to help someone out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    249
    87
    47
    47
See reviews for
165
412
31
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I booked this hotel months before a marathon. Upon arrival, the outside of the building is in disrepair and just old looking. Hardly any parking at all. The lobby was ok. We were directed to our room, which was on the first floor right next to the elevator. I had specifically requested a higher floor, away from elevators. The fact that there was a big wedding going on there confirmed my suspicions that I'd be up all night listening to partyers in the hallway. We went back to the lobby desk to ask for another room, but were told they were completely sold out. Also, we booked a non-smoking room that smelled like someone just finished smoking a cigarette in it. While debating our options and sitting in the chair in the extremely small room, a bug dropped on me. We left the hotel, and did not stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly N, Corporate Sales Manager at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our property. Due to the recent flooding in the area, and the fact that you stayed with us on a holiday weekend, it is likely that we did not have another room to move you into at that time. We are currently undergoing some construction in our parking lot, the end result of which will add more spaces in the future, though we know it can be inconvenient right now. Checking on your reservation, it does not appear that you were located near an elevator - however, you were not on a higher floor, per your request. At times, when booking through a third party (such as Hotwire, Travelocity, etc.), some requests are not communicated properly to the property level and I apologize for any miscommunication on that end. Typically, our guests are pleased with their stay at our resort - I would like the opportunity to show you what The Woodlands has to offer.
Please contact me directly, my extension at the property is 345, or you can reach me by email at Kelly@thewoodlandsresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I came up to spend the night and did a package deal. The value was great, the casino shuttle wonderfully convenient. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in, and the breakfast buffet had lots of good options. The only issue we had here was noise... if you want a peaceful, good night's sleep, this isn't the place to get it. Our room was on the lobby level, in a hallway leading to the nightclub and lounges and it echoed like crazy. It wasn't that any guests in particular were being overly loud, it was that everything that happened in the hallway could be heard clearly in our room from conversations, to sneezing, to other guests unlocking their doors. We were awakened several times throughout the night. We really wanted to give the Inn a great rating because everyone was great there, but we left more tired than when we arrived. Maybe a room in the tower wouldn't have these problems?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2011

You couldnt find a mmore relaxing getaway.
As a full time business traveler THE WOODLANDS is top ten.
the rapidly attentive front desk.
the personal attention of the staff.
the proffesional banquet and meeting rooms.
the fine entertainment inside and nearby.
the shopping and fin dining.
all surrounded by peaceful forest and streams.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I work in event planning for a company who has used the Woodlands for a number of years. We've strayed a couple of times, simply to check out the competition, but we recently held a huge function in the area and used the Woodlands to house over 100 of our guests.

They knocked it out of the ballpark for two main reasons:
1. Shuttle service was amazing! They just bought a new Mercedes 11-seater van that was perfect and always running on schedule. We had an extremely complicated schedule to work with and they wove their shuttle in perfectly.
2. The sales support staff at the woodlands was basically at our beck and call during the entire week-long event. Whenever we came upon a problem, we were able to creatively solve it and move forward! WONDERFUL to work with!

My only critique is that some of the rooms that haven't yet been renovated could use a little love. One of our guests was unhappy with his room, and contacted Rick Kornfeld (the owner of the resort) directly. Rick got immediately back to the guest and resolved his trouble, and left him a hand-written apology note in his room the next day. That's what you call family-owned service!

Overall, a really great experience. Happy to have the Woodlands as an option for our events! Kudos to Rick and his team!

Room Tip: streamside rooms are amazing!! beautiful views and newly renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My son's wedding was held at the Woodlands. First Class event. Great food. Great service. Many out of town guests stayed at the Woods. Every guest I spoke with loved the rooms and commented on how great the service was.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markgerard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had the Casino Package which gave us, breakfast, 2 drinks, $5 coupon @ hotel and $10 @ Mohegan Sun, free shuttle. The hotel staff is very welcoming and eager to make your stay great. We had a room on the first floor with a slider that opened up to the path to the pool and restaurant. The hotel is right on 315 but you honestly feel as if you are in the "woods", very quit and peaceful. The beds are very comfortable with plenty of pillows all in sparkling white linens. The light for reading in bed is outstanding. Breakfast Buffet has anything and everything you could possibly want and was all fresh and hot. USA and the local paper was available at breakfast as well. We really felt spoiled and will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing