We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A get away at the Woodlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband suprised me with a weekend get away for my birthday. We stayed overnight at the Woodlands Inn. It was our first visit there and it will not be our last. Our room was beautiful and so clean and very affordable. It was easly assessable. The workers were so polite and so helpful. The stream and scenery is wonderful. It was a very relaxing time and we can not wait to go back again. Highly recommend the Woodlands Inn as a great place to stay and unwind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The staff here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job.

I am so honored that you chose the Woodlands Inn a member of the Ascend Collection from Choice Hotels while you were in Wilkes-Barre. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the staff will as well when I share it with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time your travel plans bring you to town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me. The front desk would be happy to connect you to my office.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
There are newer reviews for The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a really great resort with a lot of things to do in the area.The accodomations were very good. the rooms were a little small but very nice. The only reason I did not give it a 5 star is we were there with our dog and the pet rooms are in the main hallway where everyone goes through to get to the resturants and the dog would hear every little noise which was not good for us trying to get some sleep.I feel it would be better if it was not in the main hallway but that is not my choice. I would hope the hotel would consider moving the dog rooms into the side wing.I would not hesitate to tell anyone to stay here.Over all great resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyPrinceToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 2 years in a row, both mini ski getaways for the weekend. From NYC it's only 2 and a half hours away.

I went here with friends last year and we had a really good time because there's nightlife attached to the hotel. It's rural nightlife however but if you don't mind that it's really inexpensive and fun to people watch.

This year however was a family trip with my family (2 kids, 9 and 5). The best part of the woodlands in this instance were the restaurants attached. After a long day skiing, we were able to go back and shower and head to dinner at the brick over pizza place inside (the wait staff is just the best). I also realized that if you're there for a family vacation, the attached nightlife can be a little much, drunk girls in short sparkly dresses holding their heels and laughing loudly at 2 am is a bit annoying. Hearing the guest dj's entire set was not fun. As are the thin walls. Thankfully if you ski or snowboard enough you'll be too exhausted to notice.

Overall it's a great getaway in an inexpensive area. Snö mountain is 20 minutes away (just past some outlets) and Mohegan Sun is up the street so there's always something to. But make sure you're doing either or.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCmom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your online review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. The staff and management in both restaurants will be happy to hear about your comments.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Me and a few girls from work stayed here one night as we just wanted a weekend trip to Mohegan sun. we booked the "business suite" and it all seemed great at first until I found a stink bug on my pillow, the nightstand, the walls, the windows and the lamp. we found 8 bugs all over, and when calling to complain the entire staff acts like it's not a bug deal, "oh they're just stink bugs" is what they said. also, the club is insanely loud and you can hear the music all the way up in the tower where we stayed. also, the staff is very unfriendly, epecially the bartenders at crescenzos. overall terrible experience. they told us we could talk to the morning, and when we tried she was "out of town". would not reccomend

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank staciiiolson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Melanie,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at The Woodlands Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the cleanliness of your room.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Wilkes Barre. Please feel free to contact me directly at: rosskornfeld@thewoodlandsresort.com.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I should have abandoned booking this when the booking agent on the phone hung up on me. It looks OK from the outside, but the walls are paper thin, so neighbors talking (even in a normal voice) at 2 am sounds very loud, and you won't sleep; the pillows are some of the most uncomfortable pillows I have ever encountered; and the hot tub is gross and is in dire need of being cleaned. I've never so overpaid for a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room not at this hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Melanie,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at The Woodlands Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding just about everything you encountered on your recent visit. Why didn't you bring any of this up while you were here? We would have loved the opportunity to make it right.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Wilkes Barre. Please feel free to contact me directly at: rosskornfeld@thewoodlandsresort.com.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Had a busines trip that led me to the Woodlands Inn on 3/4 to 3/5/13. The property is lovely, with multiple restaurants, and a giant hot tub room. Free buffet breakfast (yum), free $10 in slot play at Mohecan Sun (with free shuttle transportation there), and a free drink coupon made for nice extra touches. The king side bed was extraordinarily comfy, I had a flat screen TV in my (albeit small) room with patio, very nice grounds and common areas. I'll look forward to coming back here again.

Room Tip: No fridge in the room, so don't pack snacks that need to be cooled.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stolidoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I spent one night at The Woodlands Inn after finding out they are part of the Ascend Collection of hotels. We had such a wonderful experience at another Ascend Collection hotel that we thought we would try this one. It is a lovely resort, having many amenities such as an indoor and outdoor pool, a huge jacuzzi, fitness center, nightclub, and restaurants. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and indoor pool, had a delicious breakfast, and a drink at the bar. The resort provides a free shuttle to the Mohegan Sun Casino nearby. We took advantage of that as well and really had a good time. Our room was quite nice also, not large, but had everything we needed and was beautifully decorated - as was the rest of the resort. The only thing I could find fault with was the cover charge the nightclub was charging. I think guests should be able to get in without having to pay because the club is open to the public and it seemed to be well attended by area residents.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MintchipCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words.

We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

As part of the Ascend Collection from Choice Hotels we do participate in the Choice Privileges reward program, earn valuable reward points with each stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £88 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing