We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Wilkes-Barre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find in Wilkes-Barre”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way through PA during our vacation. We chose this hotel because it looked good and was pet friendly. When we arrived we found the restaurant to be quite good. We all ordered pizza and it was delicious. We tried the indoor pool and it was fairly large and warm. The hot tub was massive and just the right temperature. We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked another night the next weekend when we traveled back through town. The next weekend they were two hours late getting us into a room. While we weren't happy about the late check in they did allow us to check out two hours late. We definitely plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side appear to be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAE913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online review. I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words, unfortunately, on your return trip we had a large group checkout and couldn't turn the rooms over quickly enough.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future and getting you into your room as quickly as possible.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    247
    87
    46
    47
See reviews for
160
408
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed at the Woodlands Inn this past weekend for an athletic training conference. It was close to the highway, but surprisingly, from within the walls, and even out on the scenic deck, there were hardly any traffic sounds. The staff was very helpful, and nice. There were two very nice restraunts in the hotel, and 3 types of bar areas. The deck overlooks a beautiful stream and mountainside. My room was beautifully lit, and had a comfortable bed, large tv (which I hardly used, because of all the other stuff to experience!), and complimentary keurig coffee machines. Most of the rooms seemed to have some sort of balcony, and outdoor entrance. There were a ton of complimentary drink deals, food deals, and spa deals. The Alexander Spa was a great place to go for some pampering before and after the conference. The last day, although checking out early, I was able to enjoy the pool, and jacuzzi one last time. It definitely made me feel luxurious all weekend long!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony, or court yard area. It was lovely to sit out, and meet the neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff and the staff members of Alexander's, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Woodland this week on our way to CT. Pleasantly surprised by our whole experience. Close to the expressway but did not hear the traffic, remodeled interior, friendly staff, complimentary drinks, brick oven pizza, and babbling brook outside balcony. What more can you want after ten hours on the road. Great value.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmtjbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your review. Glad to see you were able to relax after a ten hour drive.

Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Being from out of town for our daughters wedding in Dallas, we decided to make The Woodlands Inn the place to stay for our wedding guests and us. From the jacuzzi, indoor pool, nightly entertainment, outside bar area to the restaurants, we were so happy with everything. We definitely will be coming back for a sistas weekend. Melinda at the front desk was also so helpful with assisting the guests when the buses came to take them to the wedding reception. The sales department was always willing to update me with the guest list of rooms for our group. So close to shopping for those last minute items needed for the wedding. We reserved a suite with a kitchen and it was so convenient with all the bridesmaids being together and getting ready with the bride.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are quieter but are far from the restaurants and night time entertainment. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with Melinda and the entire staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

While visiting with my family in PA, we decided to make an overnight trip to Wilkes-Barre to visit the Mohican casino. I am so glad we did, as after we lost all our $$$ at the casino, we checked in. We received discounts for their restaurant for food and cocktails. I totally enjoyed both at their bistro called the Cresendo.

We had a good night sleep in the room as the beds were very comfortable, better than what I have at home. I was pleasantly surprised that they had a Keurig coffee maker, as I am a coffee snob. :)

We enjoyed the hot breakfast which was included in our room rate. It was better than any other I had in different hotels such as Best Western, La Quinta and the Hampton. Our breakfast included whatever one can want: waffles with fresh fruit and whipped cream; sausage; scrambled eggs; potatoes. These all tasted homemade, not like the usual chain stuff. They also had fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, cereal and coffee. It was wonderful. Did I mention, I am a coffee snob? I had a cappuccino at the café bar and it was excellent.

We also had dinner the evening before and we received a discount on our meal and my lemon drop martini. My brother and I each ordered salad, which I was unable to complete. I had the Western salad and it was excellent with turkey breast, feta cheese, hard boiled eggs, bacon and fresh greens. I couldn't finish it. My brother ordered the Mandarian Asian salad and he loved it. We also ordered a pizza, but I was so full I was unable to eat any. My brother said the basil artichoke pizza was very good.

I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the premises. The landscape is beautiful. There was a natural waterfall which is part of the Susquahana River. Also they have an indoor pool and jaquzzi. Since we only stayed one night, there just wasn't enough time.

Both Dennis and John at the front desk were excellent. Very professional and helpful.

I could hardly wait to come back.

Room Tip: Don't stay out too late at the casino, if you need a shuttle as service ends at 11PM weekdays a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suefromsa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your comments regarding Dennis and John will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BROOKLYN NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you have to travel to Wilkes Barre PA for a graduation, or for any other reason for that matter, I would highly recommend staying at the Woodlands Inn.
Wilkes Barre, PA is not on the top of my list of places to visit, but I needed to travel there for my nephew's graduation from Scranton U. Boy was I pleasantly surprised!
Being a big city girl (New York) I could not imagine what I would find in Wilkes-Barre. I booked the Woodlands Inn months before the weekend of the graduation to assure availability. Good thing I did since that weekend was Memorial Weekend. Weeks before traveling I checked again and there was not a room to be had. Probably a combination of the holiday weekend and graduations.I checked the hotel on line, it was in close proximity to the Mohegan Sun Arena where the graduation was taking place (6 mins away!! perfect) and it looked lovely but you never know by a picture. Upon arrival I was greeted with a smile by a very nice staff. I had quite a distance to walk to my room but it was clean and well equipped with the essentials. It had a little terrace overlooking a spring which was a nice touch. The bed was perfect (especially for my husband who always complains of mattresses being too soft) It was a king bed and we slept soundly that evening. There are 2 lovely restaurants on the premises. A buffet breakfast was served in their restaurant that overlooked the spring. It had large windows that gave a very outdoorsy feeling, so if you were stuck eating in (as we were since it was chilly) it was still sunny and lovely. There also is outdoor seating. The seating arrangements were so convenient for everyone. There was different variations of seating (table and chairs, high stools and tables, bar and stools) and the breakfast was delicious for only $12.00 all you can eat. The hotel has an indoor pool, out door pool and workout room to name just a few of their facilities (read the list on line). Down the road there is the Mohegan Sun Casino (not to be confused with the Arena which is the opposite direction) Again, the Casino is in very close proximity to the hotel as well. Great place to eat and play!!! As I said before, I would highly recommend the Woodlands Inn in Wilkes-Barre PA. and just remember to thank me when you do!!

Room Tip: If you are not a walker, ask for a room close to what is convenient for you (parking lot, restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAD331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your online review.

"Surprisingly wonderful" is a lot better than "Surprisingly disappointed". I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed each and every aspect of your stay.

I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you shared your experience.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Woodlands is one of a kind!! You will not find a Hotel like "the Woods". My wife and I drive about an hour and a half at least every other month (for over the past 10 years). We like the live entertainment, the food at both restaurants, the huge hot tub and great pools (one indoor and one out side). All the staff are great! Also, the other weekend we finally met Mark (adding finishing touches to the new outside bar) -- nice man! We had the rock shrimp at Shogun’s and also tried the lump crab at Crescenzo’s, both recommended by Mark and both were great! Thanks Mark!! Woodlands is our weekend destination!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_and_S_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

My father will be thrilled to hear about how helpful he was in making your stay so positive.

Ascend Collection hotels are one-of-a-kind hotels defined by a strong local identity, with upscale amenities and attentive service.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing