We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites(Wilkes-Barre)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena(Wilkes-Barre)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveller rating
556
287
98
51
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
287
98
51
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstreamside roomoutdoor barbeautiful streamhuge jacuzzibrick oventower roomshogun restaurantdance clubhot tubsushigreat weekendcasino packagefree shuttlebreakfast buffetshuttle servicethe mohegan sun casinothe room was nice
Filter
Updating list...
627 - 632 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The facility is set in and amongst a non-typical variety of trees and shrubbery, along side a stream. The staff was very helpful and inviting. We held an overnight family birthday party there and everyone enjoyed the large jacuzzi and pool and the fine fare of the celebratory dinner. Cleanliness was an excellent feature and all 14 of our party left with smiles on their faces and good memories. This resort seemed not a run of the mill kind of place but had a more distinctive quality that would appeal to those looking for a slightly different and more personalized experience.

Room Tip: Stream-side is a good choice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We agree, we are not the typical hotel chain that you normally find along an interstate.

Ascend Hotel Collection™ is a network of one-of-a-kind upscale properties. Each Ascend™ hotel is a unique reflection of the distinct character of its host city. Yet, all offer the same high standards of hospitality and luxurious comfort, with professional staff committed to sharing their insights into the places, moments and things that make each place special. You can count on Ascend Hotel Collection to deliver the true local flavor that you crave.

We hope to see you again shortly.

Thank you,

Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was a special trip to celebrate a significant birthday and to attend a concert at the Kirby Center. The room was lovely, clean, warm, inviting with a balcony overlooking the stream that flows through the property. We had no complaints about the room; what we had a problem with is the lack of accessibility between the other parts of the hotel. The restaurants are on the far side of the property, which is fine, but on another level that requires climbing many steep stairs and no elevators available. We ended up going outside and walking around the hotel between the parking lots as they had only a gentle slope to the other building. To be honest, I have a problem with stairs and my husband has a heart condition. There were not enough handicapped parking spaces, especially since there was a meeting for the "Blind And Visually Impaired," but even if that were not occurring, there would be a severe lack of spots, especially near the entrance to the rooms. Even the indoor pool had stairs to the facility and the Jacuzzi room had about a 8 to 12 inch drop to the water steps. I did not see anyone with a wheelchair, but the site must be a real hassle to navigate. I realize this is probably an older resort, but even some of our older places here in the Poconos have made better adaptations.

The staff were very nice - no complaints there. Even a rude person who 'joined' us at a very crowded breakfast buffet was effectively ushered away to another table. (The story here is he thought that he would merge in, help himself to the buffet and, I guess, pretend he knew us.) And the shuttle provided to the concert was very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poconolovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for all of our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights on business and had a very nice room in the tower building. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming and even brought me an in-room fridge upon request and for no charge! I had dinner at the Asian Hibachi restaurant (inside the hotel) both nights, which was excellent. I also took advantage of the substantial workout facility. I was here on business but would like to return for some relaxation in the near future. The property has so many amenities and is a great place to stay whenever you're on the Pocono area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRAG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We would love for you to come back for a little rest and relaxation. We have several room packages to choose from, spa package to include massages, manicures and pedicures, romance package to include champagne, wine and chocolate covered strawberries, casino package to include complimentary breakfast, vouchers to the casino and free shuttle back and forth. Book today by either calling 800.762.2222 or clic thewoodlandsresort.com.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Late evening we grabbed a copy of the PA hotel/motel guide at the rest stop. The Woodlands Inn advertisement looked promising. We phoned and took a chance--and are we ever so glad we did! Front desk were ever so helpful and sensitive to hours weary drivers. Te room was a visual delight, comfortable, spacious, etc., undoubtedly the best we encountered on our 20 day vacation. And the next morning the jacuzzi was much needed aqua therapy, followed by a tasty breakfast--included in the package-- with multiple offerings. We seriously considered a 2nd night's stay even though family were awaiting our arrival. We promised ourselves that our next visit to PA would include The Woodlands Inn. Well done, everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the two story side as opposed to the nine story side as my wife has some difficulty walking. It put us close to the jacuzzi and only a bit farther to breakfast.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THPAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for taking a chance on us. We appreciate the positive remarks about your stay with us.
Why don't you and your family stay with us during Thanksgiving. We are offering $99.00 room rates November 24th through the 28th, along with a fantastic Thanksgiving Day buffet priced at $28.95 per adult, $14.95 for children. As part of the Ascend Collection from Choice Hotels we can extend an invitation to our guests to be part of our rewards program Choice Privileges. Book your next stay at thewoodlandsresort.com and start earning reward points.

Thank you,

Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

One would think from the website that this hotel is in a wilderness area, but it is in fact on a main road, easily accessible. As we drove up, we thought it was a case of bait and switch, but the hotel was as nice as we expected. It just does not look that way from the road! We had a room overlooking the creek, with good wi-fi, good faucets, shower, a comfy sofa. It was quiet and had a good bed with very soft pillows. One complaint was poor lighting, a common problem these days. The staff was very friendly, and there was a free shuttle to the casino a mile down the road (as well as the restaurants there). The included hotel breakfast was about average, but with good pizza and very strong coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lipadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad we didn't disappoint you once you entered the building. The grounds and view from our streamside rooms is something to see. You should take a trip back when snow is on the ground and the Laurel Run Stream is frozen over. You would swear you were in Alaska. If you're not already you should join our mailing list as we send out a monthly newsletter with packages and promotions.

We hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews