We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to get away”
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Woodlands Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place to get away”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We completely enjoyed ourselves at this hotel. We had lunch, enjoyed the views, the staff was wonderful; enjoyed our room, had a delicious breakfast. Would have loved to enjoy the pool and spa but we didn't return early enough in the evening, it closes at ten. I have been here numerous times for lunch, but we had planned on going to the Mohegan Sun and decided to stay overnight. Minutes away, very convenient! I will come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winechick329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Winechick329:

Thank you for writing a review. So glad to hear that our staff and services for both breakfast and lunch exceeded your expectations. We are committed to total guest satisfaction. Next time maybe you can try one of our services at Alexander's in the Woods or perhaps booking one of our romance packages.

We look forward to your next visit and hopefully exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    243
    84
    46
    45
See reviews for
154
402
31
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a nice surprise. Some finishings looked outdated but then you'd have the impression that it is a work in progress. Front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was nice. Not spacious but had everything we needed. The closet had no doors - was located behind a simple curtain. The bathroom was clean but pedestal sinks are not the most user friendly. Not a lot of room to put toiletries, hair implements etc. The bedding was crisp, fresh and was luxurious. Very comfortable. The only real negative is that our room was not equipped with a fire door. The door does not swing shut. In NY the doors are required by law to shut automatically. The shuttle to the casino was really a nice touch. All in all, we'd stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeeDel6-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Dee Dee:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We very much appreciate when one of our guests give their honest feedback. We welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Have a great day.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Even though it was still cold out, the views from the windows were beautiful. The grounds were just lovely to look at. When we arrived, the hotel clerks were very helpful and kind. Customer service was outstanding throughout our entire stay. Food was wonderful and once again, the service was outstanding. Our room was clean and tended to each day. When we needed anything, whether they had it or not, they provided it somehow. Shuttle ran to and from casino often, and anywhere else along the way that you wanted to go.

It was such a pleasure to be someplace where customer service was still number 1.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnes817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Agnes817:

Thank you for the kind words. Someone who enjoys customer service!!! This is what we do best, we try to provide consistent, individualized attention catered to each guests specific needs. As you can see from many reviewers fantastic guest service is always mentioned. We happen to be very proud of the services we offer, but more proud of the way we treat our guests.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Woodlands, was definitely more than I expected ! I was aware of the Resort, but hadn't visited the entire property. Great accomodations and not overpriced! Very friendly and helpful staff. We were visiting on a sports promotion winner package. Melinda made sure we were well taken care of. That night we ate at the Shogun. Can't wait to visit in the summer!.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear RoseR:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the amenities that we have to offer. In the summer you'll get to enjoy the outdoor pool, walking trails and maybe take advantage of an outdoor massage at Alexander's. Our outdoor bar Skyy View is a treat as well.

Can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our first time at this hotel and it was lovely. The most noticeable aspect was the friendliness of all the staff. From the time you check in, down to passing a maid in the hallway. Everyone very pleasant and accomodating. Pros-The rooms are very well appointed and the beds are super comfy. The whole staff was awesome. Food at both restaurants was great. We had a streamside room with a patio, but sadly no view of the stream. We were also very close to pool and jaccuzi. Both were great. Only con was that the jacuzzi needs a good cleaning. Also the buffet breakfast made my husband sick after every time. And he loves any breakfast foods, so it must have been pretty bad. I do not do breakfast, so I have no opinion. All in all, a lovely getaway hotel. I imagine its even better in the summer to take advantage of the outdoor amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Lightygirl:

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your recent stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. We will look into the Jacuzzi not being cleaned as well. I Was very disappointed to read of your experience at breakfast. While an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience I do extend it with all sincerity.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Woodland Inn and resort was wonderful! When we first pulled up i was very disappointed, but the minute you step inside, your in a whole new place! We were checked in by John who was awesome! He gave us an amazing room that had a view of the stream! We ate at both the Shogun and Creschenzo, both great! This property is absoluty gorgeous, I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misbrebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Misbrebre:

Thank you for the wonderful review. Our front desk agent John does a fantastic job for us. Always a smile and there to help with any/all requests. Obviously, well trained by his manager Melinda. Please come back soon, spring and summer just as much fun.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visited this hotel during there winter 45th anniversary package. My husband and I were celebrating an anniversary. We were greeted by Dennis who was very helpful at check in. The package came with a two night stay $45 gift card to Cresenzo's and casino vouchers. We requested a stream side king room. The room was very clean and had modern furnishings. We requested no cleaning service for our relaxing weekend however whenever we needed new towels and other amenities hskp-ing delivered them promptly. The view from the room was great and food at the restaurant was delicious. We also enjoyed a late checkout being choice members.
We will definitely be visiting this hotel again. Thank you for the great customer service!

Room Tip: Request a stream side room for a relaxing trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADL38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Adl38:

Thank you for the great review, we really appreciate it. The package you booked is in honor of our 45th year in business. Hearing your comments is justification that what we are doing is making a positive impact on our guest service. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Property: The Woodlands Inn
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing