We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband booked this hotel for our anniversary because he thought it was in the woods where we could go hiking (cause that's just what we do). But upon arrival, when the GPS had reached the destination, his face deflated because the inn was right across the street from a car dealership. So at that point we were not expecting much. However, it turned out to be a very fun weekend. The staff at this place were all extremely friendly! Everything, including spa services was very reasonably priced. Sitting outside to have breakfast/lunch by the creek was very nice. We had a couples massage outside and it was very nice and not expensive at all!

About the hotel itself, it was clean and renovated, but the rooms were a bit small. The gym, pools (both indoor and outdoor) are not mention worthy. Did work out at the gym while we were there, but like I said, not fantastic.

As for the surrounding area...there are a few places to go hiking, but since the weather wasn't all that fantastic we opted not to vist. There is a place called "7 tubs" which was only a few miles away and from the pictures/reviews it looks nice, so something to look into. There was also a casino up the street which was very lively on a Saturday night. It had 2 live bands....typical casino, but if that's what you are into, you will enjoy it. In all honesty, the area around the hotel was quite ugly and not picturesque, but if you stay in the hotel and never look out towards the street, you will enjoy this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. And maybe one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Lisa C:

Thank you for writing such a detailed review about your most recent stay. Our name would indicate more of a wooded setting, I can understand the disappointment as you drove into our parking lot. We're very happy to hear that once inside all was good with the world. You might want to visit either Ricketts Glen State Park or Frances Slocum State Park, both around 2o minutes from our location. Again, thank you for the positive words and we look forward to seeing you on a future stay.

Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My best friend just had her reception at the woodlands and everything the woodlands did was perfect! The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The head table and the rest of the guests were all served at the same time and each course was served fast and the food was still hot when it was served to us. All the bar tenders, waiters, and waitresses were very very friendly and helpful! Everyone at the wedding was treated like royalty. And the cocktail hour was great too! Great wedding venue for the area!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlei5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Carlei5:

We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at your friends wedding. We have been catering events for more than 45 years and very much appreciate sharing your thoughts with the traveling public.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few times over the years. Never had a nice court yard with an beautiful view of a stream. This hotel has a very. The room as spacious and clean. I love the down comforters and pillows in the room. The hotel has a night club that can get pretty busy on the weekends. This is cool because the club is located far enough away as to not interrupt your stay. The hotel has several bars and lounging areas. There is a Japanese restaurant and a Italian place within the hotel both offer excellent food. There is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool both are nice but the jacuzzi is the real gem. The hotel also offers a shuttle to the casino. if you are looking to relax this is the place for you but if during your stay you decide you what to have a little more fun and maybe party. this is the place for you. not really sure if this is a place for kids. I didn't really see and kids activities but then again i don't have kids so i wasn't looking for them either.

Room Tip: Ask for the stream side court yard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank always2nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your honest feedback is truly appreciated. Experience summer in the Woodlands with two great packages, one night midweek starting at $115.00, two night for $245.00. Ask our reservationist for details. Call today to book at 800.762.2222.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I recently stayed overnight as the last night of a bus trip. We got the best night's sleep of the trip. The room, in the Tower, was very nice, with the exception of no counter space in the bathroom. Very awkward trying to use our toiletries.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear LenaV:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you received the best sleep from our hotel. Can't wait to see you on the next trip.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This facility is great for those seeking lodging close to the casino. If you are interested in in-town activities, this is not the place to stay. Nor is this a good location for handicapped lodgers; too many steps and too long a walk to the restaurants. Restaurants offer mediocre food, but service was good and friendly.

Room Tip: Select a room on the creek. The facility is a confusing configuration at first and is not for anyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWL1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear swl1948:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Woodlands to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. When we checked in the staff was very friendly and all had a smile. The room was beautiful and the view from the balcony was unforgettable. We will be definitely be returning . We had a wonderful time.. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzcz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear mzcz2014:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. We truly appreciate the honest feedback regarding your stay with us. We pride ourselves on superior customer service and i am glad to see we went above and beyond to make your stay more comfortable.

Experience "Splash and Stay" at the Woodlands & Montage Mountain water park, includes accommodations, breakfast, pizza, and water park passes. Rates starting at $169.00 Call 570-824-9831 for details.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Woodlands is a nice hotel. The front desk is always friendly and helpful. A nice, short ride to
the casino in a clean comfortable, and large, van. Three bars, several restaurant options. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Ramblinman:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Feedback from our guests helps us to maintain or improve the services we offer. We look forward to providing you with superior customer service the next time your travel plans bring you to the Wilkes-Barre area.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
701 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £76 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing