We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
hamlin pa
1 review
“pure relaxation”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

My husband and I needed a mini-vaca. and we picked The Woodlands. It was close to home and the right price. We did not expect what we received. The service was great and the food was good. The cook off the bar area gave me stale bread to give to the ducks that I really enjoyed watching and feeding. I used the pool area and the sauna which was very relaxing. We hope to go back soon. Thank you so much for a very relaxing mini-vaca.

Arlene and Seymour Metsky

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arleneHamlinPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    247
    87
    46
    47
See reviews for
160
409
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irwin, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2010

PA Junior Wrestling State Tournament was held 3/25 -3/27/2010. Children from the entire state came together to show their talents. If they stayed @ the Woodlands that was not the only talent that was exposed! A private "party" occupied the first 3 floors which consisted of "for hire" women and a very distinguishable illegal odor in the stairwell. How can you have a private party on 3 floors when there is only 1 elevator to accomodate all floors which included numerous parents and children staying on the floors above??? This stay was totally inappropriate on behalf of the staff that allowed this disgusting behavior to take place knowing that there were families occupying the majority of the rooms over this weekend.

They state that it is quiet - bull! The nightclub music and crowd could be heard in our room until 2 am! The nightclub goers were ignorant and inconsiderate ~ urinating in the parking lot, yelling vulgar words, standing outside at various locations making out ~ apparently insensitive to the people paying to stay in the rooms within the complex.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irwin_PAWrestlingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Kensington
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Your inn was recommended to me by one of your employees (Dave Moore) who suggested we try the Woodlands before an express hotel that was closer to our business destination. Although the drive was further to our training site, it was well worth it. I was especially pleased with the quality of dining and atmosphere that was provided by your facility. It is a surprisingly scenic location with a deck overlooking the stream that is kind of hidden from other commerce in the area. "The Woodlands" is a very fitting name for your place. This would be a great place for those who do not want to travel else where for dinning or activities.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Upon arrival I thought the hotel was great. It has a great view and the rooms where clean. During the night I did not sleep very well, the beds where too small and uncomfortable. I was with a group of college students for a banquet. My room had a balcony that was attached to two other rooms as well. When I checked out in the morning they withheld my security deposit claiming that there was damage done to the balcony. After explaining that no one from my room had done the damage I was treated rudely and informed that there was no way that I was getting my security deposit back. The front desk manager went on to tell us that we had a noise complaint (which we were unaware of until then, and was hard to believe since we were asleep at 11). When I explained this she basically called us liars and said "Do you know how many times I am given that excuse." So after all of this they still came up with another reason to not give us our money back. We had our furniture out on the balcony. 1. We were never told we could not have it out there and it is not in writing anywhere I can find. (not the room or the website) 2. We brought it in before we went to sleep that night so that the furniture would not get ruined 3. I know other people from our group that had theirs' outside as well but still received their deposits back.

To sum it up I honestly believe that if I was older I would not have been treated this way and that The Woodlands will find anyway to take your money.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2010
We have been renting rooms to fraternity and sorority groups for over 20 years. We require a $100.00 security deposit for such things as damage, noise and excessive cleanup.

In most cases the groups are very respectful, when they are not, they forfeit their deposit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I was infuriated upon leaving the hotel and being treated as though I am an irresponsible teenager simply because I am young and the member of a sorority. I was forced to forfeit a $100 deposit despite the fact that there was no damage to my room and there was no noise complaint relayed to me or the other occupants of the room. It is not my fault that this hotel is built with shared balconies and therefore it is not my responsibility what people in connected rooms do on those shared balconies. I am responsible for my room and my room only. I will never use this facility for any event or stay ever again. I am a mature and responsible paying guest and I do not deserve to be treated with such disrespect by members of management. It's called the hospitality business for a reason.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigguy2012
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

As the parent of a college student that attended a banquet at this facilitythe hospitality of the manager is highly lacking. The deposit was withheld upon checkout without any proof of damage or complaint pretaining to her specific room. The manager then claimed that the rooms next to them might have caused the damage but that to bad. As a frequent traveler I am not responsible for damages caused but others and nor will I allow a Manager of a business withhold a deposit from my daughter without proof of causation. This is no way to run a Hotel and would like to say Stay at this resort at your own risk. They are not hospitable to thier guests and when questioned about it are very rude and say things like its to bad and this will not be discussed. DON'T STAY Here unless you want to pay double for a room!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigguy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
Aren't you supposed to be an actual guest of the hotel to qualify writing a review. I know as an owner we have to carefully word our responses for it to be posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

The Woodlands Inn and Resort provided me with a very comfortable stay. The hotel was clean and the service was outstanding. I'll be back. Thanks Woodlands.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmatt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
878 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
666 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing