We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass it up if you're in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't pass it up if you're in the area”
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Easy access and everything is there so once you park the car, you don't need it again until the end of your trip. Beautiful property. (Don't be fooled if you've only ever seen the front entrance. There's a whole other world once you're inside those doors!) ALL the staff and I mean ALL of them were welcoming. The ladies in the spa are fun and I had the best facial I've ever had with Tomoko. Kudos to all the restaurants, and to the lady bartender who skillfully created a frozen Vodka Martini for me. I'd go out of my way to stay here if I were in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    248
    87
    47
    47
See reviews for
165
411
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night on a trip farther north. It's a hybrid between a luxury spa and a run of the mill hotel. The indoor pool complex is nice, although aging, and the casual restaurant is reasonable. Bathrooms are well appointed, but are more stylish than functional. The place worked well for us, but I wouldn't consider it a destination.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We had a wonderfully relaxing and perfect stay , and everyone associated with the inn and resort made it that way! There was a mix-up with our initial reservation, but the management went out of their way to accommodate our needs, and were very gracious, knowledgeable and helpful! In fact, they made our stay even better than we had anticipated! They helped us also with directions to the downtown area, and we found everyone we met, to be friendly and courteous. Even though there was a wedding going on, it was peaceful and quiet, and exactly what we needed to relax, re-charge, and have some fun! We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Us
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The Woodlands Is NOT the place to be. TERRIBLY UNKIND COCKY , UNFRIENDLY STAFF including ALL OF THE BOUNCERS. Kathy Kaminski head of security. This place is NOT GLBT Friendly. You will be Guaranteed to be treated like you are a second class citizen if you try to go into the "club" they have in the hotel. I can recount many occassions where I, along with the friends I have been with. Have been treated with the utmost disrepect by the staff of security at this place.

I hope all the shady things that go on at this place come into light. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idaliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Price way too expensive for a place of this caliber. I noticed a bug crawling on the pillow just as we were going to sleep. I flipped the pillow over and there were MORE bugs. We have stayed at many hotels in the past at much lower rates than this and have never had bugs in the bed. Walking down the hall to our room, there was an obvious smell of marajuana in the hallway. When we got to our room, even though it looked to have been remodeled recently, it smelled very musty and was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. The Woodland's rate should be closer to $60 than $180 a night!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
Thank you for reviewing your stay. As always, feedback, both negative and positive helps us in maintaining a consistent product. We take these complaints very seriously and we'll do all we can to improve our hotel.

Thank you
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We have stayed at The Woodlands many times during the past eight years. The staff has always been most helpful and accomodating. After our most recent stay, we realized that our camera was missing. I called the hotel and Dennis, a front desk receptionist personally checked the room to try to locate the missing item. He did not find it at that time; however, when we returned home there was a message on my answering machine telling me that the housekeeper who serviced the room found the camera. Dennis even offered to mail it to us. This is just one example of the excellent service provided by the staff.
We look forward to our next stay at The Woodlands.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Hall, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Found a coupon in the travel guide and checked it out, everyone was fantastic! The rooms were always clean, the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and accommodated. There were parties etc but it never got overly rowdy near our room. We definitely would go back for another get away weekend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papfixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing