We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been here many times....has not changed much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I like the Woodlands and if your planning on having a business meeting I highly recommend. There are bars/resturants inside but seemed like more when I have been here before. Food is just 'OK'....Japanese restaurant is good.......bar food is just ok. Rooms are nice but small and it can be a hike sometimes to go from your room to meeting room. Casino is close by which some people like. No WiFi, welcome to 2010!!!Overall a B- in my eyes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEFANMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

thisisa very very charming and trendy resort in the area.. I wud say v got best value for money... all three owner/directors- kornfeld brothers, take personal effort to make sure guests are treated right and make every effort to accomodate the needs of the guests.. needless to say- staf,f mirrors the managment..... worth a try....

night clubs, karoake, tiki bars and all the restaurants are above an average ..... and very satisfying....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Check in was made difficult by one front desk staff who was quite unaccommodating. Another staff stepped up to check us in and was more personable. The restaurant staff was good. Complimentary breakfast buffet was nice. The rooms are nothing special and the hotel seems complicated to navigate through. At check out it would have been nice to have the staff ask about our stay as is done in most hotels. Unfortunately the unaccommodating front desk staff who delayed our check in checked us out and couldn't have cared less about our stay. Just not what we expected.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachfanNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Easy access and everything is there so once you park the car, you don't need it again until the end of your trip. Beautiful property. (Don't be fooled if you've only ever seen the front entrance. There's a whole other world once you're inside those doors!) ALL the staff and I mean ALL of them were welcoming. The ladies in the spa are fun and I had the best facial I've ever had with Tomoko. Kudos to all the restaurants, and to the lady bartender who skillfully created a frozen Vodka Martini for me. I'd go out of my way to stay here if I were in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night on a trip farther north. It's a hybrid between a luxury spa and a run of the mill hotel. The indoor pool complex is nice, although aging, and the casual restaurant is reasonable. Bathrooms are well appointed, but are more stylish than functional. The place worked well for us, but I wouldn't consider it a destination.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We had a wonderfully relaxing and perfect stay , and everyone associated with the inn and resort made it that way! There was a mix-up with our initial reservation, but the management went out of their way to accommodate our needs, and were very gracious, knowledgeable and helpful! In fact, they made our stay even better than we had anticipated! They helped us also with directions to the downtown area, and we found everyone we met, to be friendly and courteous. Even though there was a wedding going on, it was peaceful and quiet, and exactly what we needed to relax, re-charge, and have some fun! We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The Woodlands Is NOT the place to be. TERRIBLY UNKIND COCKY , UNFRIENDLY STAFF including ALL OF THE BOUNCERS. Kathy Kaminski head of security. This place is NOT GLBT Friendly. You will be Guaranteed to be treated like you are a second class citizen if you try to go into the "club" they have in the hotel. I can recount many occassions where I, along with the friends I have been with. Have been treated with the utmost disrepect by the staff of security at this place.

I hope all the shady things that go on at this place come into light. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank idaliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilkes-Barre
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#5 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
728 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tunkhannock
Hampton Inn Tunkhannock
#1 of 4 in Tunkhannock
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £67 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing