We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Decorated Victorian B & B Mansion”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilkes-Barre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Frederick Stegmaier Mansion
Ranked #2 of 2 Wilkes-Barre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were looking for a place to stay in the Wilkes Barre area as our nephew was getting married and we wanted to have a Kissin Kousins reunion as well. So glad we found the Stegmaier Mansion. It was perfect, we rented all the bedrooms and have so much fun gathering in the Brewmaster Suite. I stayed in the Amelia Suite and if you want to feel like a queen, I suggest you stay there!! In the morning we found the best homeade bread waiting for us outside the door. The Mansion is decorated to fit the Victorian era, it is like a museum you could spend hours just looking around in every room. Thanks Joe we had a great time and will be back next time we need a place to stay in the area!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flutterbyelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Several friends and myself visited the Stegmaier specifically because we love Victorian architecture and decoration. And, I can wholeheartedly say that we were not disappointed in the least. In fact we are already planning another trip (four hours from where we live) just so we can visit the Stegmaier again. The house is simply fantastic and even if you are not that 'in' to Victorian, you'll love the hospitality and comfort of the inn. Owner, Joe Matteo, makes you feel incredibly welcome and is so very willing to share the home's history and restoration stories with you. Our two rooms (a two-person bedroom and a three-person suite) were spacious, comfortable, and beautifully appointed; each had a fully stocked mini-kitchen (coffee, tea, soda, juice, snacks, hot and cold cereal) as well as a place to sit and relax. It was the perfect place to have the delicious continental breakfast (really delicious pastries and a whole loaf of blueberry bread) that was waiting for us outside our bedroom doors (perfectly and beautifully plated on silver trays and serving pieces). We really felt like we had stepped back in time and our ladies maid had just delivered us breakfast! We were just sorry that we had to leave and could not spend the day sitting on the beautiful porch, having a cup of coffee or a glass of wine, and enjoying the atmosphere. We also liked that the Stegmaier was within walking distance of downtown Wilkes-Barre and the square. If you are staying in Wilkes Barre make sure you stay at the Stegmaier!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but those on the second floor are the most wonderfully decorated. All s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1890girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Thank you Joe for such a wonderful day. The ladies (and gentleman) of the Central Penn Doll Collectors Club had a most exciting time touring, tasting, and experiencing the grandeur of your mansion. Jody, the meal was delightful! I will be trying the recipes suggested, thank you. And for our lovely hostess, thank you so much for your Victorian lady dressing discussion. The reception was wonderful, I look forward to another bus trip adventure at the mansion.

Room Tip: Lovely bed and breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmdolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband & I recently hosted a reception for our son & new daughter-in-law who were married two weeks earlier in Washington state. We wanted something different and we were extremely lucky to have found the Frederick Stegmaier Mansion in Wilkes-Barre. The mansion is a bed & breakfast, fully restored to it's former glory of bygone days. The mansion itself is elegant in every sense of the word, decorated in vintage Victorian. Absolutely breathtaking!!! Not only is it a bed & breakfast, but it accomodates small parties very well. We had about 40 guests and it worked perfectly for us. The chef is a master - the food was so delicious and presented so elegantly - our guests were overly impressed. It was certainly an event to be remembered - no one would ever expect such a jewel to be hidden in Wilkes-Barre, Pa. We also treated the new couple to a night in the "bridal suite". They enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oreoandkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were in Wilkes Barre for our daughter's wedding. She wanted a beautiful setting the night before her wedding and the next morning so that she could get dressed and have pictures taken. I found the Frederick Stedmaier Mansion on line and was happy to know that we could have 3 rooms for 2 nights. We were overwhelmed when we finally arrived! The mansion is beyond beautiful and so full of history. The owner, Joe Matteo was marvelous. He made us feel right at home and showed us to our rooms and gave us a brief history of the mansion. The rooms are large and equipped with small kitchens, which are fully appointed with milk, coffee, tea, as well as fresh fruit and pastries and all matters of sundries. My husband and I also hosted a brunch for 40 people the day after the wedding and it was amazing. The food was delicious and our guests were delighted by the beautiful details of the mansion. It is a great location for an event. Joe and his staff are absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: Tell the owner, Joe Matteo, exactly what you want or need and he can guide you to the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

If it is not already on your Bucket List, add a visit to the Frederick Stegmaier Mansion in Wilkes-Barre, PA. My husband, friend from Japan and I spent an unforgettable overnight at the Mansion in early June. We were warmly greated by owner, Joe Matteo, and instantly felt at home. Sumptuous rooms appointed in only the best antiques instantly transported us back to another era.
Our stay was a magical experience and we cannot wait to return. Judy Bober

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyBober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

What an exceptional grand Victorian stay and journey we had at the Stegmaier Mansion in Wilkes-Barre in May 2012! There is no detail lacking in this exquisitely beautiful old house. Our stay and amenities were truly unforgettable. Joe Matteo is a true gentleman and renovator with a strong passion for Victoriana. Joe has done the Wilkes-Barre community an outstanding favor in restoring and rebuilding such turn-of-the-century elegance. If you don’t stay here, you have missed one excellent vintage experience. What a diamond find in the rough. Something you will never forget.

Room Tip: Joe will ensure you have the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hillard House Inn
Hillard House Inn
#1 of 2 in Wilkes-Barre
84 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
4.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frederick Stegmaier Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frederick Stegmaier Mansion

Address: 304 S Franklin St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-3849
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £100 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opulent restored Victorian mansion perfectly situated in the heart of the River Street Historic District of Luzerne County, Pennsylvania, and easy walking distance to downtown, college, movies and dining. The Frederick Stegmaier Mansion specializes in creating memories of superb food and luxurious accommodations that are smothered in atmosphere and hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing