We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Teamwork And Customer Empathy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here recently when we learned my mother was close to passing away. We made the reservation for January 1 arrival, but had to keep delaying our arrival since we decided to stay with my father following her passing on January 1. We called the hotel and they were more than accommodating. Same thing happened the second day... and the third day. We finally were able to check in on the 4th and stay through the 6th.

The entire staff, from our initial conversation with Yodi at the front desk, to the ladies at breakfast, to the housekeeping staff, to Michael, the General Manager, everyone was cordial, friendly and very accommodating. This is now our preferred location in the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre area.

Room Tip: Tucked away behind the TGI Friday, some rooms face Rt. 309, some face Kidder Street. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish4Stripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We do remember you and your situation and all I can say is we were so glad to be able to accomodate you. It's our biggest goal to make our guests comfortable and feel at home here, and I am glad you were so pleased with your stay. If we can ever assist you any way again, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you again for your kind words!

Michael Nafus
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites,
Wilkes-Barre, PA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here twice in December – on our way to and from Ohio. We have stayed here before, and like it because of the free shuttle to the casino. Check in was easy, although on our 2nd trip we were charged $2 more than our reservation – not a big deal and we didn’t notice it until we returned home. The hotel was renovated when we visited in 2012, but it starting to show wear already (at least in the room we were in). Lots of scuffs on the walls, halls needed a good vacuuming and our toilet needed maintenance (we were in the same room both stays!) The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. The breakfast staff was super sweet, as was the shuttle driver.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfinginflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review us! I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your concerns and comments with us. I have discussed your concerns with the hallway carpeting, wall scuffs and toilet maintenence with my staff and we are working to improve in those areas. Again, we truly appreciate your comments, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything else I can do for you. Thank you!

Michael Nafus
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites,
Wilkes-Barre, PA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at this property during Thanksgiving travel and it was pretty average. The bed was very comfortable, that's the main good point. The room we were in seemed a little run down with streaks on the walls and the bathroom seemed outdated. We were the room next to the elevator which really shouldn't be rented out unless the hotel is full. We heard quite a bit of activity during the evening, laziness prevented us from requesting a new room. It wasn't until late at night that we realized the smoke detector was located directly above the bed, a weird location as the light was flashing all night, very annoying for a couple of light sleepers. Why not have it in the hall within the room? The room next to the elevator is also right above the reception entrance, so we also heard lots of activity of people entering the hotel. This seems like a bit of a party hotel in a way, right next to TGI Fridays. Maybe it was just because it was a Friday night. I probably wouldn't stay here again, didn't love the location or the views out the windows. Decent enough for the price though. Free breakfast was typical, would love more sugarless options like plain yogurt.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the elevator if you are sensitive to sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns. We strive to be the very best and it seems with your stay, we fell a little short of your -- and our -- expectations. I strongly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. If I can be of any more assistance or you have any additional comments, please don't hesitate to give the hotel a call. We certainly would love to see you here in the future!

Michael Nafus
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites,
Wilkes-Barre, PA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A comfortable bed is very high on my list, and this hotel hits a home run on that issue. It is also clean and well maintained, especially for a property that sees alot of weekly construction crew guests. Very pleasant and helpful staff. This property is a gem. It is convenient to many local restaurants and a shopping mall, and is simple to find off the interstate. I will definitely return when business takes me back to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cz75guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our property. We strive for excellence here at the Fairfield, and we are more than happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you when business brings you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here last night. We were greeted with friendly reception and given two $10 free slot plays for Mohegan Sun, which was why we stayed overnight. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel is 1.5 miles from the casino. There is a Fridays right next to the hotel and other restaurants and shopping are right there.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, Assistant General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at the Fairifeld Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre. We are very happy that you had a great time and hope that you enjoyed yourself at the nearby Mohegan Sun Casino. We will share your kind words with our staff. They truly like hearing that their efforts and hard work have paid off in making your stay with us an enjoyable one. We look forward to have the opportunity to serve you again whenever you are in the Wilkes-Barre area.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites Wilkes-Barre, Pa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Nice, clean, modern hotel, typical of the chain and similar. Very friendly and helpful staff. The shuttle takes you to the casino and the arena, and the drivers are nice! The bed is one of the most comfortable we've ever slept on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for all the kind words, I will make sure to share with your entire staff. I am glad we were able to have the opportunity to serve you and hope to do so again when in the Wilkes Barre area.


Elizabeth Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We typically stay at the Fairfield Inns when on "regular" travel. They are quite reliable - clean, well-maintained and with good service. Yet there are some variations, particularly with regard to service. This Fairfield was a really good one. The breakfast was better than we have found before - with some hot options (though the woman setting up was clearing everything 15 minutes before breakfast was to end - the reason for the lower score here). And there were both a pool and two hot tubs. A "TGIF" Friday's was next door, where the food was quite good - and the Fairfield offered coupons for a small discount. If you are in the area and want a reliable, clean and comfortable hotel - and at competitively reasonable prices - this is a "sure bet".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the time you took to share your experiece during your stay with us. We appreciate the positive review but will definitely take the steps needed to deal with your concerns. We are completely commited to total guest satifsfaction and look forward to serving you again.


Elizabeth Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
715 reviews
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6913
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing