We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsiderate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Massena, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inconsiderate”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We just left the Fairfield Inn after a one night stay for our anniversary. We were very pleased with the shuttle over to the casino but very irritated that the housekeeper knocked on our door at 8:30 AM and proceeded to walk in our room as we were sleeping and didn't answer!! The main reason we stayed in a hotel on our anniversary was to rest and relax without the kids getting us up at that time. She proceeded to knock on every door on our end of the hallway. Needless to say our sleeping in ended quickly! Highly recommend that you ask for a do not disturb sign and hang it on your door!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djchapman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, Assistant General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Chapman,

I was sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed in the morning by our housekeeping staff and especially on your anniversary. We do provide do not disturb cards in our rooms and if they are on the door, our housekeeping staff is instructed not to knock or enter the room. You can also leave special instructions with our front desk not to have housekeeping come until later in the day. I wasn't sure if you had used the do not disturb sign, but feel badly that your morning was interrupted. If you do find yourself in need of a room with us again, please feel free to reach out to me and I will make sure that we have special instructions in place so as you are not disturbed at all. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. We will also make sure that our housekeepers are reminded to respect our guests privacy when a do not disturb sign is posted on the door handle.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    119
    46
    10
    1
See reviews for
127
117
10
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our team stayed at this Fairfield Inn & Suites and we had an excellent experience. Angela (sales) was very helpful with planning our visit and all of the staff went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything that we needed. The hotel is very quiet (no thin walls here) and the rooms are spacious. The free breakfast was very good compared to other hotel free breakfasts (REAL scrambled eggs, thoroughly cooked and awesome blueberry and plain belgian waffles). There was also coffee and tea available all day long. The most important thing was that the entire property was VERY CLEAN!!! It was also a bonus that you get a 10% discount when you eat at the TGIFridays in the front of the hotel.
The only negative that I could possibly give is the signage that leads to this hotel from the road. You have to navigate through the Friday's parking lot.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAmemberH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello,

On behalf of our entire hotel staff at the Fairfield Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre, we would like to thank you and your team for staying with us while you were in Wilkes-Barre. I know that everyone from our sales department, housekeeping department, front desk, breakfast, and maintenance departments take pride in providing an excellent hotel experience for our guests.

Thank you for also taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of the feedback that we receive from our guests and we share your comments with our staff during our daily meeting. We look forward to having opportunities to serve you in the future and we hope that you will bring your team back to stay with us again if you have events that bring you to our area.

Have a happy and safe summer,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Wilkes-Barre, Pa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton and had a decent stay, so we decided to return.

We booked a room with 2 queen beds but upon arrival we given a king suite. We reminded them that we wanted a room with 2 beds given that we were 3 people. Even though it was only 5pm they insisted nothing else was available and said sorry, which did not solve the problem.

The room had a pull out couch that you could not lay on for 2 minutes without your back hurting. Also, once it was pulled out it was only 6 inches from the wall, which seems to be a fire hazard exasperated by the fact that the sheets were far too large, creating a tripping hazard. The member of our party that slept on the pull out said it was the worst he ever slept on and complained of back pain.

Also, the suite is barely larger than a regular room and has a closet in the middle. The only AC is by the window so given the closet, the people in the bed freeze while the rest of the room is warm.

We went down to the pool and found that one hot tub which was broken when we stayed a year ago was still broken. The towels were thread-bare and needed to be replaced. Other than that the pool area is large and clean.

The addition of waffles at breakfast is nice, but the hotel still runs out of items, this time English muffins and Greek Yogurt. This was the same problem a year ago.

Parking late at night can be tough given the close proximity to other hotels.

Overall the place was clean and the staff friendly, but next time please give us the room we booked.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatsandShoes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, Assistant General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to express your thoughts regarding your recent stay. I would like to assure you that we truly do try to make sure that we honor the room type that was originally reserved. On a very rare occasion, either an in-house guest or group of guests that extend unexpectedly, or an accidental overbooking may cause this to happen. I truly apologize that the room type that you had reserved could not be honored for your stay. Please feel free to contact me the next time that you find yourself coming to our area and I will be happy to make your reservation and extend a complimentary upgrade if the upgrade is available at the time of booking. Also, please be assured that your other concerns are being addressed with the appropriate staff and department heads so that we can improve upon our service to you our valued guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention and we look forward to providing an improved upon experience with your next visit because of it.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Managaer
Fairfield Inn and Suites Wilkes-Barre, Pa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Although this hotel is hidden behind a TGI Fridays and there is no sign along the road the staff is friendly and everything is kept clean. Breakfast was better than the average hotel. The scrambled eggs were actually done and has some seasoning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DWAYNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre, Pa. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us when there are so many options out there. It was really satisfying and encouraging to hear you kind words in the Trip Advisor Review that you took time to complete. We have shared your comments with our staff in our morning meeting and we will continue to work hard to provide you with an excellent hotel experience anytime that you find yourself in our area.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.


Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suties
Wilkes Barre, Pa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We brought a U10 soccer team from Rhode Island to stay here for 2-3 nights for a local tournament and could not have been happier. First, the room rates were excellent, but more importantly, the free breakfast was excellent and a huge help to parents trying to get kids ready in the morning for soccer games and rafting. The kitchen staff could not have been more helpful! They assisted kids and parents with waffles and always made sure there was plenty of sausages, eggs, and ham available to eat. In fact, by the end of our stay, the kitchen staff was on a first name basis with the parents and kids. It really did feel as if we were staying with family. The front desk staff and manager were also very helpful. On one night, we wanted to use the propane BBQs in the yard area (which, technically, belong to the abutting hotel), but the front desk manager happily called the other hotel for us to ask if we could use the grills for a team cookout and even secured cooking utensils from the other hotel for us to use! Cleaning staff were also very friendly when you would see them in the mornings. The swimming pool was a huge hit with the kids, not surprisingly, and while one of the Jacuzzi stops was not operating, there was another one available for use. Plus, while I learned about this too late, the nearby (nearly attached) TGI Fridays will actually deliver to your room! Quite frankly, as coach of the team, I could not have asked for a better place for a team to stay and anticipate that we would certainly stay here again if/when we return to the area for another soccer tournament!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your group's stay with us. We truly enjoyed hosting your team and the parents. It was great to see smiles on the kid's faces when they walked past the front desk or in the breakfast area. We know that staying at a hotel is a big deal for the kids and that the parents are counting on us as well. We were glad that we were able to deliver on all of the things that you mentioned. We truly hope that your team will return next year.

Have a happy and safe summer,


Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Wilkes-Barre, Pa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okatie, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

During the recent business trip Wilkes-Barre, I stayed at the Fairfield Inn and suites in Wilkes-Barre. This is an excellent hotel in the perfect location. Close to the casino, shopping and restaurants. I stay at this hotel every time I visit Wilkes-Barre. The staff is extremely courteous, the rooms are always very clean. The breakfast is delicious, especially since they added the waffles!!! The manager, Mr. Nafus, is always very accommodating, I always ask for a room facing the mountains and away from the elevator, and the staff is always very gracious about my concerns! I highly recommend this hotel for your next stay whether it be business or personal.

Room Tip: I always asked for a king suite facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinfogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. It is our pleasure to serve you.

Thank you for choosing us!

Michael Nafus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was at a very late meeting and did nit want to make the 60 mile drive home. I pulled in to the Fairfield and I was pleasantly surprised. The desk was very courteous and friendly. The rom was big, the king bed very comfortable, the television selection was excellent, the room as clean....It is not teh Four Seasons and does not pretend to be. It is a very good hotel with all of the necessary items to make a the stay a good one.

Room Tip: The first floor room was a little noisy from outside sounds although it did not interfere with my ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltowntravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnafus, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre. We also truly appreciate that you took time from your busy day to share your thoughts and your experience with us on a Trip Advisor Review.

Our staff truly tries to make sure that our guests have a great stay with friendly and welcoming service. We would love to have the opportunity to serve your lodging needs anytime you find yourself in our area.

Thank you again,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suties
Wilkes-Barre, Pa 18702
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
2.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Address: 884 Kidder St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6913
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing