We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern,PA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Comfortable bed and pillows, clean and roomy handicapped room, variety of hot and cold items for breakfast and restocked frequently......all good things. If you are not familiar with the area make sure you ask how to get to the hotel. Not hard.....but not obvious which street gets you there just by looking at it as it sits back off the main road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovebeingretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    165
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
303
199
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bensalem, PA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My family and I had a last minute stay here in July during an annual camping trip. On the hottest day of the heat wave (temps 105, heat index 110-115), we decided it would be best to take refuge in an air conditioned hotel. It seems that many people had this idea, as the hotel was full by the time we arrived and the desk was turning people away. (Thankfully we booked earlier in the day). The front desk staff were professional, but not especially friendly. It may just have been that it was crazy at the time of our arrival. The room was clean, spacious and what I expect from a Hampton Inn. I was a little disappointed that there was no tea or artificial sweetner other than Sweet N Low available in the room. They were available in the lobby though, so no major inconvenience.

The indoor pool was clean, but crowded. The crowd was expected considering the day. The pool was heavily chlorinated. Although I was not in the pool, my eyes burned after about 10 minutes. Both of my boys eventually decided to get out of the pool because their eyes were burning as well.

Breakfast was crowded but staff were very quick to restock and available to address guest needs. Overall, the stay was a good experience and a much needed escape from the heat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville Nj
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Brand new hotel that is very well managed. The beds here are the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Can't say enough about this place. And the best part was the king's College rate of $91 a night. Was $30 cheaper than several lesser hotels. This is our new home base in Wilkes-Barre.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akula2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We loved this Hampton Inn. It's new and very clean. Great pool and hot tub! Rooms very very spacious and clean. Housekeeping was awesome. She gave my kids free Chex mix and was very kind. They promptly brought us an extra blanket and towels. Great breakfast with lots of options.
Overall A++++ Would definitely stay again.

Only minor issue: There is no bathroom close to the pool, kinda weird to walk down the hall. But it was still great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbamber12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This Hampton Inn is very new & located near all the amenities you'll ever need when you're on the road. We stayed here for a night enroute from charlotte, nc to coastal Maine. The hotel is very new, state of the art for a Hampton Inn, nicely decorated, large lobby/sitting area, good breakfast (fresh fruit, waffles, bagles, cereal, bacon, toast, yougurt, all varities of lo fat versions of stuff. The heat/A/C is digital, so very easy to control, the room;s A/C was just perfect. Large bath, walk in shower, indoor pool, staff very nice & helpful. It's one block from a very large mall, movies, restaurants everywhere & an eat in Wegmanns supermarket 1/4 mi. away. Excellent Hampton Inn, stay here right off Rt 81 vs going further down the road to scranton.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loomis1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed here when we went to see a hockey game and check out Mohegan Sun Casino. On google maps, it says there's dining, bars, and shopping within reasonable walking distance. What they don't mention is that it's a tiny little road that goes around a DEEP valley to get from the hotel to the area. If there were sidewalks and lighting and oh yeah, no large hole!!!!, I may consider walking there, but you will definitely need a car to get from Point A to Point B (even if it is less than half a mile).

PROS:
The staff was great, the service was wonderful, parking is free, and they have great packages for the casino. If you're in town for an event, it's worth a stay.

CONS:
Giant hole prevents you from walking around the nearby restaurants, shops, etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcr195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My wife and I were in town from Canada for one night to see the Michael Buble concert at Mohegan Sun Arena on June 8.
We had an amazing time at the concert and we walked back to the hotel afterwards which was great! The hotel staff were very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. The rooms are great and I slept like a log.
Overall an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
673 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.6 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Address: 876 Schechter Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#1 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing