We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and very clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I visited the Hampton Inn for a business trip... I was a little concerned about what it would be like. It was a nice hotel and very clean. There was an exercise facility as well as an outdoor pool area. They have many options for breakfast as well as fresh coffee in the lobby. Just be aware that there is not a hotel bar so a cocktail is out of the question so BYOB!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kstark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    158
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
279
187
35
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

As we walked in, the folks at Hampton Inns immediately won the heart of our son by offering fresh (still warm) cookies just off of the main reception where breakfast is served. That was a great start for him!

The check-in process was simple and straightforward and when we arrived at our room we found it to be very clean, well-appointed (TV, two nice beds etc) with a superb bathroom packed with free stuff (again a winner with my son). You can normally judge the quality of a hotel by the standard of bathroom freebies and these were all hypo-allergenic, you know, the good stuff, not the 'shampoo, conditioner and body wash in one' kind of thing.

We headed off to the fitness center for a run and a swim. The gym is simple but practical and has enough running and cycling machines plus some weights to keep you going. The pool is nice, not too chlorinated and there is a nice (very warm) hot-tub with oodles of jets etc

In terms of eating, there are more than enough places in the vicinity. We ate at Lucky's Sport House which you can see from the window if you have a view from the front of the hotel. For those that like to shop, there are malls and shops aplenty within a short driving distance

You can get free tea and coffee (plus those cookies!) at any time of the day downstairs, a real plus

Breakfast in the morning was served down by reception and was your typical free breakfast fare, more than perfectly acceptable. You can choose from a host of things hot and cold, there really is enough to keep most happy

Overall a brilliant stay, we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tullsmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I love this hotel. You stay here, you'll be satisfied. Not only is the hotel great but it is within walking distance of a half dozen places to grab a bite or to quench your thirst. My thanks to the staff for a very pleasant experience. I have more travel in my future and would recommend this as a hotel if you're staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Everything about this hotel was great except for the climate controls.
The facility was very clean!
The room was clean and fresh.
The pool and exercise room were great.
The breakfast was very good.
The staff were ALL pleasant and helpful.

The only downside was the AC.
It was VERY WARM in the breakfast area.
The AC in our 4th floor room only operated at "high" and it was VERY, VERY Loud!!!!

Room Tip: Sleep quality and room would both be excellent if the room AC was not so LOUD! It was impossible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was our second time staying at this Hampton Inn. Unfortunately, both times for funerals in Nanticoke. Location was perfect. Easy on/off 81 and many places seconds away from restaurants to supermarkets, Walmart, Kohls, arena etc. I am amazed at how quiet this place is given its close proximity to 81. Staff is very pleasant. Pool looked very inviting. Breakfast and breakfast room very pleasant. Bed was extremely comfortable and I have sampled my share of hotel beds this year touring colleges with my daughter. Not all rooms have fridge/microwave, so if that is important to you be sure to ask when making reservation. We were on the side facing 309. View of mountains is very nice even though you are looking over the shopping center. We will be back to visit this location for an upcoming wedding and looking forward to our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bzylizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkesbarre-Stanton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Everything from check in to check out was great. Breakfast was wonderful and fresh. Workout room, pool and hot tub were all clean. It was brought to my attention that I was Hilton Honors Member when I checked in, and thanked for being one when I checked out. When ever our room needed some extras, we had them with in 5 minutes! There were 8 of us all together and when I suggested having rooms close together, they asked if I wanted adjoining rooms, that was super. We had 3 rooms and nobody had any problems with anything. I highly recommend the Hampton Inn and Suites and Hilton Garden Inn and Suites for your future stay, family or business.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here for one night at the beggining of March. I was travelling north on 81 and it was a convenient place to stop overnight. Overall it was a pleasant stay. The hotel is very quiet and clean which are the two most important criteria in choosing accomodation. I should mention that in addition to free breakfast and internet you receive in the room free coffee and tea. Highly recommended. I had dinner at Longhorn restaurant which is about 5 minutes drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padamianou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Address: 876 Schechter Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#1 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing