We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timbers Buffet

Timbers Buffet
Ranked #179 of 275 Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Duryea, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I received coupons for two people tther was a wide variety of food and it was very good the staff is very friendly

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    30
    33
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ok ... But tries too hard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Overall the selection here is good but in the variety they seem to do too much and compromise quality. The fried foods are over fried, steamed shrimp were over done and in essence it was just not the quality I would expect for over 20 dollars for dinner. Also, the mussels had a bite of sand with every third one, it doesn't take much to clean them and was really not pleasant to eat. I would say mildly reduce the selection and do a better job on what you serve.

Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickson City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dry & Bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Anyone who goes to a buffet should not expect outstanding food but a mix of good and fair. Timbers Buffett was averaging a mix of poor to fair. Most of the entrees I tried were a bit too dry and/or a bit too bland.

Shrimp Mei Fun - Lacking in shrimp and the noodles were dry and clumping together. Actually stopped eating this after 2 fork fulls.

Pork & Sauerkraut - More like a shredded pork roast with little Sauerkraut and very dry. The pork tasted good but the sauerkraut and vinegar flavors were missing. I did fork through it and found some kraut but even that had no flavor.

Fish in French Herb Sauce - If I remember, the fish was breades sole. The sauces was light and while I saw the herbs neither the sauce or the herbs had any flavor.

Horseradish encrusted Prime Rib (Rare) - A delicious piece of meat that I went for seconds. Only problem was it was totally lacking in horseradish. If they advertised it as only prime rib they would of been spot on.

Veggies and salad were all good. Enjoyed the taragon carrets and the mashed potatoes and turkey gravy.

I hope this was just a bad night for the cooks but it will be awhile before we try Timbers again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I like the idea of an all you can eat buffet but sometimes its hit or miss based mostly on the amount of staff on duty and the time of day you visit Timbers. Food tends to dry out in a steam table if you do not take the time to put out small batches instead of piling it high and hope it flies. Occasionally, you will always get the staff member who vocalizes they would rather be somewhere else and the quality of the food reflects that attitude. I have been to the buffet and the experience has been wonderful. Like I said it depends on who and how many. The busier it is the faster the food moves out, but when its slower it's poor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I'd rather eat a gas station hot dog.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

After years of seeing long lines in front of this buffet, I decided to give it a try. The quality of food is so poor, I do not understand how they ever have people return more than once. The service areas are not kept clean and the food temperature is not regulated well. The "supposed to be hot" items are cold and dry and the cold items are room temp. The food is tasteless and chewy. The only item that I ate more than one bite of was the meatballs and the Oreo cream pie, which was probably not made in house. The salad bar was ok, but a majority of the lettuce was wilted and warm. If put on a plate in front of you, many of the food items would be unrecognizable. For a pricy dinner buffet, I expected much more. Instead I left leaving hungry and grossed out. I played it safe with a few fortune cookies at the end.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank disneydreamer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timbers Buffet also viewed

 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to Timbers Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing