We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and homey surroundings; friendly and professional service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cozy and homey surroundings; friendly and professional service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Of course you have the Hilton name to rely on, but this hotel really does has it all; the professional and most accomodating staff are eager to make your stay pleasant and memorable. The rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy. This hotel has the perfect location to shops, restaurants and Mohegan Sun and Pocono Downs. It was the perfect stay for us!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelawareDarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgiwilkesbarre, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
DelawareDarlin,

Thanks so much for staying with us during your visit to Wilkes-Barre.

Our staff tries to bring personal attention into every guest interaction, and we are very pleased that you received that attention at the front desk team.

Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see you the next time you are in Wilkes-Barre!

Sincerely,

Heather Fogle, General Manager, Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes-Barre, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    167
    60
    35
    10
See reviews for
207
175
37
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Bright cheery staff.Lobby always feels like Springtime. Spacious rooms,fine gym & pool.I drive an extra hour to stay here.JFC

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

I have stayed at HGI @ many many times since more than three years now. I have experienced very poor to poor to acceptable to average service for numerous reasons. The rooms are average and older now. I've stayed in better newly renovated rooms at the nearby Hampton and Fairfield Inns. The breakfast is very good at a good rate or complimentary if you are a diamond hhonors member. The service staff range from average to indifferent; again I've experienced way better care and service at much lower price at the Holiday Inn Express, Fairfield Inn, and Hampton Inn in that order.

For an overnight stay, this property could be average to awesome but for someone staying there two nights every week, expectations are heightened. So overall, this HGI was average and a bit lower value proposition for me. It could be widely different for others.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DealDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding block for one night. The hotel was very clean and adequate for what we needed. The room was comfy and the pool was great. We were only staying over night after a wedding so it provided exactly what we needed.

We did have major service issues with people at the front desk. Without going into detail, we were definitely disturbed by this person's behavior and when we were visibly upset she did not apologize. We did contact the manager (Heather) shortly after returning home and she immediately apologized and addressed our issue. It was unfortunate she had to get involved at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellef16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

I've stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn twice before but failed to write recommendations.These comments reinforce my experience the previous two stays. First , the entire staff, from front desk to restaurant to maintenance to management are all focused on taking care of guests. Almost all have worked three since the hotel's opening and they are simply on the ball at all times! The restaurant staff prepares and delivers excellent food consistently. All the facilities, including gym and pool, are modern, clean, and in service. The rooms were comfortable with everything one needs for a satisfying stay. Free Internet use is always appreciated as are the evening treats. Check n and check out was a seamless , easy process, and Bill, one of the many excellent front desk staff members, made the entire process enjoyable. Were the hotel not located next to a Wal-Mart (actually in the same shopping area) the location would be perfect as access to I-81 is a minute away. I've spent many days in top 4 and 5 star hotels and I can say that, apart from venues and luxury, I've never been treated better than at this Hilton Garden Inn. Hats off to the management firm which owns this facility; the high quality management and staff who work here are to be commended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollo_orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed over there for a friend's wedding for just one night. We checked in during the evening and the front desk staff (2 ladies) on the phone - really not attentive to us trying to check-in. This happen on 3 other occasions during our short stay. In the meantime, the one night we stayed we woke up only to find someone stole the front license plate from our truck. We even purposely parked near a light right in front of our room to watch our vehicle because the hotel is right next to a closed down Bennigan's restaurant and some other empty lot that is fenced in. I guess people have nothing better to do out there or have no money for the 24-hr casino down the street. Also when we let the front desk know about the license plate they looked at us like there is nothing they can do about it because it's been in the news. We checked and everyone's front license plate was missing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webdiva6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgiwilkesbarre, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, 20 January 2010
Thanks for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am sorry you had a less than pleasant experience while in on your trip to our fine city. We know many people read reviews and take a cue from guests like you.

Since your stay, we have been working on the issues you mentioned and we would love the opportunity to have you as our guest once again.

Please think about giving us another try on your next visit to Wilkes-Barre. We’d like another chance to dazzle you!

Best Regards,
Heather Fogle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is a good hotel nothing extraordinary or exciting. No continental breakfast, but they did have complimentary coffee in the lobby. Rooms were spacious and clean. Housekeeping was very nice and prompt.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cryst81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Address: 242 Highland Park Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre hotel. Enjoy the convenient location off Pennsylvania I-81 at Exit 168 in the Township Marketplace, next to the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza, and minutes from Mohegan Mohegan Sun Pocono Downs. This inviting Wilkes Barre hotel boasts an ideal location in the Pennsylvania Pocono Mountains close to industrial parks, skiing, golf, racing and white water rafting. From our oh-so-comfortable Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, to fresh cooked-to-order breakfast, and complimentary high-speed WiFi, our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Wilkes Barre has everything you need for a successful stay. Savor American favorites at the Garden Grill Restaurant & Lounge or grab a quick takeaway snack from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Choose from an array of refrigerated and microwaveable items to prepare with your convenient, in-room microwave. Enjoy all the comforts of home including a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig coffeemaker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, and complimentary cable channels Host a meeting or event, for up to 80 people, in our flexible meeting space and stay connected in the complimentary business center at our Wilkes Barre hotel. Unwind after a long day with a swim in our heated indoor pool and spa, or work out in the fitness center. See the best of what the Poconos and Montage Mountain have to offer by staying with us during your trip to Wilkes Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Hilton Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes Barre Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing