We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Host Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This all suite hotel has a very nice appearance and suites are large, clean and reasonably equipped. The walls are thin though, and noise from adjacent areas can be bothersome. This hotel is on the same lot as the Fairfield Inn and the Quality Inn so the biggest draw back to this property is limited parking. Be aware the entrance is right at the traffic light in front of the Quality Inn. It boasts a modest complimentary breakfast and indoor pool and only a short distance from the Mohegan Sun casino at Pocono Downs. There are several restaurant choices and shopping. nearby.







in

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

It is truly rewarding to receive your positive feedback. Thanks again for taking the time to express your positive experiences and we hope to see you again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed in this suite for more than a month. That was in July 2010 to Sep. I am jsut recalling my sweet days in USA. I take this opportunity to thank the staff who supported us a lot. I forgot the names, but remeber only Jose the cab driver. All the drivers were supportive, other staff helped us with smile.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms from where you can see the city. In the evening when sun is settling down u will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brij99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Hello and Thank you for your feedback. Its great to hear about your stay and hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel was great except for the carpet, which had several stains on it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again, but in a room that had no stains in the carpet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Hello and thank your for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the cleanliness of the carpet. I have notified housekeeping and the issues has been correctly. We look forward to your next visit to Wilkes Barre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Yep! We tried the hotel again, even after a less than satisfactory stay the last time - only because we needed a room quickly, due to my mom's funeral, and they happen to have rooms that fit families well.

We arrived late and absolutely exhausted from an emotional day and as a previous reviewer stated, the check-in desk was empty. We actually found an employee sitting in the dining room watching TV.

When someone arrived at the desk, I mentioned to him that our last stay was not very good and he was cordial enough and wished us better luck this time.

On to our room...mind you, we have three children with us! We walked into the room and almost choked due to the smell of smoke. In their defense, I do not remember whether I requested non-smoking, but it seemed that someone had just left the room and had a smoke before they left - which also means the room could not have been cleaned (or the staff sneaks a smoke in the rooms!).

We trudge back down to the desk and request another room - sans smoke. The comment from the front desk was, "We only have 1 non-smoking King bed suite left. I've had problems with this room in the past, but I just think the guest was too picky." I asked what he meant and he said "It smelled like smoke too." Lovely.

2nd room...stale smell of smoke, but certainly not as bad. Once we turned on the air, it seemed to clear up a bit. The employee who brought up extra pillows commented "I don't know what he told you, but this is a smoking room." We had to finnagle the couch cushions on top of the pull out bed so my girls could actually sleep on it. We were just so tired, I couldn't even think about switching rooms again.

Next morning, we found a dog biscuit in the chair (not searching for stuff - it was visible)

I will say, the breakfast was better this time, but it's not enough to absolutely change my mind that we will not stay here again. Rates are great, but my money would be better spent getting two adjoining rooms at another hotel that doesn't share it's staff with another hotel.

The importance of customer service is not a priority at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

I'd like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. I consider feedback, whether positive or negative, an important tool to improve the overall guests experience at the hotel and maintain our award winning status.

After speaking with the staff involved I want you to know the appropriate action has been taken to hopefully prevent this type of problem in the future.

I'd like to take it a step further and make things right. I can only hope you'll give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Arrived at 2:00 am with a guaranteed arrival and a reservation (through an online service) where I had been assured that there would be a separate room with a pullout sofa. I am an aunt who was traveling with my teenage nephew so I obviously needed something other than a one-bed room. When I arrived, there was no one in sight. I looked and called for ten minutes before a security person who was handling the desk finally arrived. He said I didn't have a reservation. When I explained my conversation when I called to verify the bed situation, he looked near the phone and found my reservation under other papers. But he apologized and said that he had just given my room away to another late arriving guest. I was unhappy but he assured me that I would have a king bed and a pull-out sofa in the room. After parking my car quite a distance away b/c there was no parking near the hotel, I went to my room to find my nephew as perplexed as I was to find the room had only a king-bed and a large hot tub in the bedroom. The room was full of lovely furniture that didn't fit b/c the tub took up so much room. Once the cot finally arrived, there was no room to walk in the room. In the morning, we discovered the absolutely worst continental breakfast I have ever experienced. The morning staff tried to get me to pay for the room that was already paid for, so my departure was delayed while they figured that out. The only good things I can say about this place is that the staff was nice, though clearly untrained and the place was clean.

Room Tip: The best tip I can give is to find somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am sorry you had a less than pleasant experience while visiting our hotel. We know many people read reviews and take feedback from guests like you.

Since your stay, we have been working on the issues you mentioned and we would like the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Please think about giving us another try on your next visit to Wilkes-Barre. We’d like another chance to WOW you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Big roomy suites, really nice carpet throughout hotel. When I checked in I was greeted by April and Jasmine. What a pleasure it was to meet these two young ladies. They handled my check in seamlessly. We chatted and they gave me a few pointers about the area and off I went, no wasted time at all. If the rest of the hotel comes close to the service I received from them, I will absolutely return! Artemas Beattie

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rysesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for choosing our Host Inn, Wilkes-Barre. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Thank you so much for the kind words. I will pass along the positive feedback to both April and Jasmine. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

When we showed up at the hotel, the front desk put us in a room that smelled of smoke as soon as we walked into the room. Back to the front desk for a quick response to a new room on the second floor. The room was very comfortable and clean (with the exception of a stain by the door). Breakfast was good with lots of options. Both young ladies at the front desk were just great. Always a smile.

Room Tip: The third floor would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Host Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Host Inn All Suites Hotel

Address: 860 Kidder St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6913 (Formerly Host Inn and Residential Suites)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £65 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Host Inn All Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all-suite property. We have full kitchens with a full refrigerator, microwave, dish washer, garbage disposal, stove(with oven), all of your utensils and pots and pans. It has a separate bedroom area and living room area. You can close off the door and have separate space. Our rooms are either 1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds with a pull out sofa. There is a dining room table as well as a work desk and DVD player in the living room. We have an indoor pool and hot tub, 24 Hour Fitness Center and a patio with BBQ grill. We are on the complex with TGI Friday's where you would receive a 10% discount. We also serve a hot complimentary breakfast 6:30-9:30am(10am on weekends)(omelets, waffles, sausage, bacon, yogurt, cereal, fruits, oatmeal etc). Our boardroom is 800 sq ft and it overlooks the valley with a large balcony. We are also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Host Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Host Inn And Residential Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Residential Inn
Host Hotel And Residential

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing