We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to have a suite, but needs more attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Host Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We needed a suite the night before graduation and thought this would be ideal. The staff is some of the friendliest we have ever met! As most other reviews it is a little difficult to find but once you're there it has a pleasant appearance outside and in the lobby. The breakfast area has an awesome view of the valley and the buffet is sufficient. The rooms are spacious and although we didn't need a full kitchen it does add value to the room.

I would like to see a little more attention to details. The sofa bed cushion was very worn and torn in two places. When we retrieved the bedding for the sofa bed the only blanket honestly looked like stab holes in several places. We were happy to have a mattress pad, although the elastic corner attachments were ripped off because the mattress had a rather large disgusting stain on it. Other than the sofa bed issue and it's condition the room was very clean and in good shape.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back of the hotel, unfortunately ours faced the parking lot of the next hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RofoBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

I booked a room here through Hotwire, which is always risky. This was such a pleasant surprise, and certainly a Hotwire victory!

The lobby smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, which is always a bit concerning, but our room was clean and smoke free. The room was spacious and we had a beautiful view of the valley.

I would recommend getting the curved shower curtain rods or at least moving the rod out a bit as the shower curtain took over half the tub.

I loved the full kitchen and was happy to find it stocked with glasses, dishes, and a corkscrew!

I will definitely recommend this to others in the future! It was a very short drive to the Mohegan Sun Arena and area restaurants!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

A really pleasent surprise when we saw our very spacious suite. We overlooked the valley which was quiet and lovely. Great breakfast and staff who couldn't do enough for you to make your stay a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianandlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We booked this inn on Hotwire site and were pleased when we arrived. The hotel is hard to find hidden in the back but the man at the reception area was very nice even at that late time arrival -11h30 pm. Our suite was huge with a kingsize bed. Very comfy room for the price we paid. We could tell that they are trying to upgrade the place. The wi-fi was not working in our room but was ok in the main areas. The breakfast was just ok but the selection was better than usual in that type of accommodation. There is a large indoor pool. Little details have to be worked out but in general very pleasing experience.

Room Tip: In the back less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidiD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Last min we had to find a hotel in Wilkes Barre, so I booked the Host Inn Suites. The hotel was very inexpensive and the suites were roomy. I was impressed with the customer service and the location. The hotel is right by Friday's and across the street from the mall. The hotel provides a free shuttle and will take you anywhere in the area. We used it to go to the casino. The only bad thing I can say is the hot tub was not working and the breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had a funeral to attend for 2 days so we were looking for something close to town.
I searched for four stars hotels in the area and there aren't any.
I searched Tripadvisor and other web sites to make my selection. This hotel is very close to the mall and the town of Ashley. It offers a mini suite with a refrig. small stove and microwave- which was perfect for keeping food and drinks.
The unit itself was spacious and clean- the couch looked alittle worn and the bedding could use a new decor but the bed was comfortable and for the rate under $100 it was well worth it!
There is your standard breakfast in the morning- nothing to write home about but juice and coffee is a nice way to start the day

Room Tip: Ask for extra towels at the desk-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed one night for business. Need a cheap, clean place to sleep. This place went well beyond my expectations for what I was paying. It was a suite, two TVs, full kitchen, work desk, with free wi-fi. Nice lobby, with breakast ( average food ). But the price was well below what other places wanted for average rooms, and well under the price for a suite anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielDulnikowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, General Manager at Host Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Host Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Host Inn All Suites Hotel

Address: 860 Kidder St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6913 (Formerly Host Inn and Residential Suites)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £65 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Host Inn All Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all-suite property. We have full kitchens with a full refrigerator, microwave, dish washer, garbage disposal, stove(with oven), all of your utensils and pots and pans. It has a separate bedroom area and living room area. You can close off the door and have separate space. Our rooms are either 1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds with a pull out sofa. There is a dining room table as well as a work desk and DVD player in the living room. We have an indoor pool and hot tub, 24 Hour Fitness Center and a patio with BBQ grill. We are on the complex with TGI Friday's where you would receive a 10% discount. We also serve a hot complimentary breakfast 6:30-9:30am(10am on weekends)(omelets, waffles, sausage, bacon, yogurt, cereal, fruits, oatmeal etc). Our boardroom is 800 sq ft and it overlooks the valley with a large balcony. We are also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Host Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Host Inn And Residential Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Residential Inn
Host Hotel And Residential

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing