We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for concerts.”

F. M. Kirby Center for the Performing Arts
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Somewhere, USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great for concerts.”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

As long as the sound crew doesn't overdo the volume, it really sounds good here. Just saw American Idiot the other day and it sounded awesome. Saw Alice Cooper a few weeks ago, and it sounded like crap. Alice was great, tho. I like center mezzanine, if I can get it. Floor is OK, if you're in the front third or so. I always go for upstairs.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Common_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes Barre
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have just recently started going to this theatre even though I have lived close to it all of my life. Now that I have found this gem, I feel like I will continue to visit it as frequently as possible. I have seen several concerts and other shows here over the last few months. There isn't a bad seat in the house. The sound was excellent. The stage was nicely located. The ushers are wonderful. Security was on the ball. The prices of some of the concessions was a little pricey, but that is to be expected for this type of venue. I would like to see some other types of shows come to this facilty. There is not always preformers that I would be interested in seeing at this site. Overall, it is a nice place. Parking can sometiems be an issue, but it is in the middle of the city. There are parking garages local, but some of them can be a little shady.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynnef06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Drove up here from Philly to see Trombone Shorty and Orleans Ave. Beautiful old theater, wonderfully restored. Sound and acoustics where excellent. Comfortable seats. A big tall guy came in and sat down in front of me, he sunk so much in the cushy chair that I had no trouble seeing over his head. Had nice conversations with ushers, Dorothy in particular, who told me all the ushers are volunteers and the place used to be a movie theater in the '30s'. She used to go on dates in the place and "smooch" in the back. Loved her and the place. Great venue to see a show.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jkmdieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Decent venue for entertainment. Sound system needs either better operators or work on the system itself. Seating comfortable, with no pillars to block view. Finding a parking spot not always easy - no adjacent lots.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MusicManfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Always a Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I travel to the Kirby Center often for different shows, and it is a beautiful and very comfortable venue. It's so nice to watch shows in a setting like this rather than a large arena.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed F. M. Kirby Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to F. M. Kirby Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing