We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Four Star Hotel”
Review of Mohegan Sun Pocono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Solid Four Star Hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I recently attended a business conference at the Mohegan Sun at Pocano Downs. I knew prior to going to the hotel that it had to be good as I have stayed and visited Mohegan Sun, CT many times as it is only 45 minutes from my home.

My expectations were met. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are almost identical to the CT Mohegan Sun. The rooms were new, spotless, and very comfortable. No Complaints.

While on my trip, my company ordered food for the duration of my trip, and as expected, the food was very good.

Even the casino area very much resembled the CT casino in many ways.

Here's where it differs. Mohegan Sun at Pocano Downs is about 1/4 of the size of Mohegan Sun CT.Not that it matters but it's kind of like if you have visited Ceasar's Palace in Las Vegas it sort of becomes a let down when you visit Ceasar's Atlantic City, which is very nice, but It's just not the same.

On a positive note, you can book this beautiful room for a fraction of the cost as Mohegan Sun CT. My room rate was $99.00. I even checked weekend rates and depending on when you book you can receive a rate of around $125.00 . That is a great deal, where in CT rooms start around $250.00 mid-week to $500-$700.00 for a weekend night.

It was a positive experience. You cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jvol365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you've enjoyed our Connecticut property too. Hope to see you at one place or the other again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    264
    111
    33
    33
See reviews for
138
489
78
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wattsburg
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Plus side-The room was very attractive and tastefully decorated and the art work was gorgeous!
On the down side- The room door was very difficult to open, stuck badly. I had difficulty getting out, and in one case I could not. The worst part of the stay though by far was checking in. The wait in line was extreme and I was lucky to be third in line, many more were behind me. Though there were two people working behind the desk and a third seemed to be wondering, it took forever. I thought that it may have been a fluke so I patiently waited my turn. BUT... I had to stand in that same line later that evening to request a corkscrew to open a bottle of wine that I bought on the premises. I was once again happy that I was second in line this time, but there was only one person behind the desk. This time the wait was even longer. The line began to grow behind me, and I as well as the others, grew very frustrated. Although there was a young man working at a near by concierge desk, (where I had actually started my quest) and others passing by, no employee seemed at all concerned, or willing to help in any way. I waited 12 minutes just to be told I would have to wait until someone had time to bring it up to my room. Yet another 45 minute wait there, and with no fridge in the room! No apologies were ever offered for the extreme waiting, either time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly Nj
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First, In any hotel no matter how beautiful, it is all about the people who make
it all happen from the front desk to the parking lot attendants.
Here at Mohegan Sun The management understands that first impression is so important.

Second, The rooms are new and beautiful. The connecting casino was often updated
with new machines & table games. The Restaurants were perfect with great
food and service for all.

Room Tip: I have stayed there a few times and found all rooms were very acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Called reservation #, was put on hold after explanation, told manager listened to original call to reserve my free room, I was charged full-night for not cancelling and since neither one of us caught the incorrect date, I would be reimbursed and granted new room for the night. Upon check-in told king size bed rooms were getting carpets cleaned and only queen size were available.
Rooms were very nice, beds very comfy. No microwave or refrigerator! Ice bucket and glasses were kept on shelf under bathroom sink, about a foot off the floor......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3333sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We apologize for the initial mix-up in your room reservation but are glad that we were able to work things out over the phone so that you were able to enjoy a stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed one night. First impressions...terrific welcome and service at the hotel valet entrance. Front desk staff exceptionally friendly. Room was small, but nicely appointed...loved the shower and the automatic lighting in the bathroom. Casino is very nice, many new machines, and we hit multiple bonuses and jackpots! Ate at Rustico...terrific service, great food, large portions. Overall a A++++ experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhcouple090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the A+ grade and for taking the time to post a review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a great night at the Hotel Mohegan Sun. The room was new and very clean. The bathroom was very well appointed. The staff was friendly and accommodating. (The slot machines were friendly but not very accommodating!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmother6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endicott, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The New Hotel at Pocono Down Mohegan sun is a very relaxing Hotel. The Beds are comfortable and the rooms are laid out well. They Give you tablet to use in the room and the WiFi in the hotel is excellent. Rooms are quite and have good locks on the door. The hotel is connected to the casino and your just walk from the lobby of the hotel right into the Casino. Overall a very good experience. We have stayed 4 times now at this new hotel. Staff has been very accommodating

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCB0787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your recent stays at the hotel and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're glad you enjoy the new hotel and hope we can look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
675 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun Pocono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun Pocono

Property: Mohegan Sun Pocono
Address: 1280 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7002
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohegan Sun Pocono 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun Pocono, owned by the Mohegan Tribe of Indians of Connecticut is one of the most distinctive and spectacular entertainment, gaming, shopping and dining destinations in Pennsylvania. Situated on 400 acres in Plains, Pennsylvania, Mohegan Sun Pocono features a 238-room hotel with on-site spa and adjacent 20,000 square-feet Convention Center. It is currently home to 82,000 square feet of gaming space including 91 live table games, 2,300 slot machines and electronic table games, a variety of dining and shopping options, nightlife, entertainment and live harness racing. Mohegan Sun Pocono is within easy access of New York, Philadelphia, New Jersey and Delaware. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mohegan Sun Pocono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing