We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mohegan Sun At Pocono Downs”
Review of Mohegan Sun Pocono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mohegan Sun At Pocono Downs”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed one Day 07/27/14-07/28/2014.
Fairly new hotel with outstanding rooms.
Staff treated us well from valet to check-in.
Had a great time at the casino also.
Beds are very high, if you are over 25 you might not make onto the bed. My brother-inlaw had to request a step stool in order to get into bed.
Up scale hotel with paper glasses in the room? What is up with that?

Room Tip: free I-Pads in theroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    243
    99
    31
    24
See reviews for
115
448
74
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LongIsland, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Travel to the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre area often and anxiously awaited the opening of this hotel. It's new, trendy, and offers all the amenities of a luxury hotel (hard to find in this area.) Room rates vary dramatically so do your research. I have stayed for $90/night but I was also quoted over $200/night on certain weekends. Casino and restaurants are attached to hotel which is great for the many cold-snowy days/nights.

Room Tip: Although hotel is attached to casino and racetrack, it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvclita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night as a family with another family. Room was very clean and comfortable. Pool was small but very nice. Spa was well priced for a casino. Only down side was our room had only a shower which was hard with babies. I would not suggest these rooms for the very elderly though. The beds are very high and at 5ft 4in, I had trouble getting in them, I imagine someone older may too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We only stayed for one evening but we had a great time. The hotel is in nice condition as well as the casino. They have a great wine shop where you may stop and grab a cheese platter and a glass of wine for a break. At night there is a Ruth's Chris which we love and had a great time talking with people. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing lacking is the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tentrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We're glad that you got to enjoy Crossing Vineyards wine shop (did you do the tasting?) and Ruth's Chris. Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel as well. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was my husbands and my first time staying at this lovely new hotel. The staff is exceptional, friendly, experienced and do their very best to make you feel welcome and comfortable. It is close to the gaming. The shuttles take you to your vehicle when needed. The restaurants are all very nice and reasonably priced. We had a fun time when visiting the north east last month. My only comment would be the hot water system. If you were near the end of the line it took at least 20 minutes to get hot water in the shower. Maintenance explained that our room was at the end of the line and that is why it took so long to get hot water. It's a new hotel, come on!!!! But aside from that our stay was wonderful...

Room Tip: Get a room not at the end of the hot water system!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review, and for letting us know about the hot water. We'll definitely look into that. But we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
271 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My husband, daughter, son in law and myself stayed here on 7-9-14. We were in Wilkes barre to bury my mother' sashes. We felt this hotel would provide a lot of options for fun for the night before the service We were greeted with no valet parking and the parking attendant walking away from us as we asked questions like where to park. They had their 4 th of July fireworks and the town came out to see them. That is great BUT we were paying customers that were inconvenienced. Manageage want should have planned for a better system to accommodate all. The service in the bars were very slow. But the rooms were great. Very clean and comfortable. All in all we had a good time but I will not come back

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cratsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. You're right - the night of the fireworks is one of our busiest nights of the year. And we do appreciate the feedback on our staffing levels so that we can make adjustments as needed for next time.

We're glad that you had a good time during your stay and do hope that you'll give us another try if you're in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

stayed 2 nights recently, very nice hotel, nice rooms, but for $229 a night I expected a little bit more. no refrig in room, a mini would have been nice, i.e. had some leftovers from ruth chris steakhouse , couldn't take back to the room for later, no frig. I also wondered where, if you order room service, you are supposed to eat it, no table just a desk with chair, and a completely uncomfortable chair in the corner. I suppose you eat it on the bed. nice shower but where do you hang wash cloths and towels, one hook behind the door. if I ever go back will probably stay somewhere else. convenience to the casino and track is nice, but rooms are just too too expensive.

Room Tip: if you want a view, stay above 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoheganSun_PA, Manager at Mohegan Sun Pocono, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We do appreciate your feedback about some of the details of the rooms, like placement of towel hooks etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun Pocono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun Pocono

Property: Mohegan Sun Pocono
Address: 1280 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7002
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohegan Sun Pocono 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun Pocono, owned by the Mohegan Tribe of Indians of Connecticut is one of the most distinctive and spectacular entertainment, gaming, shopping and dining destinations in Pennsylvania. Situated on 400 acres in Plains, Pennsylvania, Mohegan Sun Pocono features a 238-room hotel with on-site spa and adjacent 20,000 square-feet Convention Center. It is currently home to 82,000 square feet of gaming space including 91 live table games, 2,300 slot machines and electronic table games, a variety of dining and shopping options, nightlife, entertainment and live harness racing. Mohegan Sun Pocono is within easy access of New York, Philadelphia, New Jersey and Delaware. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Mohegan Sun Pocono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing