We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Mexican food?”
Review of La Tolteca

La Tolteca
Ranked #13 of 277 Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loving Mexican food?”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you love Mexican food, this is the best restaurant in the Wilkes Barre/Scranton area. The table side Guacamole is a must try! The menu is big and the portions as well. We visit this restaurant on a regular basis and always enjoy it. Complaints? Well, the only thing I can think of it that the wait for a table can be pretty extensive, especially on weekends. Oh, the Margaritas are really good :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    67
    28
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the area”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

What a fantastic place to eat. I go here a lot, especially for special occasions. Good is authentic and portions are large for the price. Service is great, all bilingual. Very good English though. Try the nacho cheese dip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“La Tolteca - Wilkes Barre, PA”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Located very close to the mall and arena and Wilkes Barre, La Tolteca is good Mexican fare. Always crowded at the peak times, we find the best time to go is for a late lunch. The menu is massive and as soon as you are seated chips and salsa are delivered. Portions are fair (not huge) for what you pay. Good margaritas.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank southsideslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
204 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yummy.......”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was only our second visit, but I know we will come back. The food is great, big portions. On this visit I felt a little rushed..... I guess our server wasn't very busy so she kept coming back to check our table, which made me feel rushed. Before I was finished I was asked if I needed a box, with fork still in hand. They are very well staffed and the place is clean. My only complaint is the booths seem a little close.... as far as table and seats, which can be somewhat uncomfortable when well endowed. If that's my only complaint....... I will take it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babs067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Change a Good Thing! ”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I have come here a dozen times and were excited to come again since it recently had to be renovated. The inside is beautiful! We were very disappointed though that they made changes to the menu. We also asked for lettuce to go with our fajitas (used to come with it) and they charge us three dollars for it. The service was also poor. We had to ask for plates and the servers English made it difficult to communicate. Next time we are in the area we will be less excited to visit this restaurant which used to be a regular.

Helpful?
Thank richannalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tolteca also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to La Tolteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing