We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B and B in Wilkes-Barre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilkes-Barre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming B and B in Wilkes-Barre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Recently stayed at the Hillard House. Had no idea what to expect as I did not have a good picture of what downtown Wilkes-Barre would be like. The Hillard House is in a great location and we were able to walk to restaurants and explore historical neighborhoods. The owner/ hosts are friendly but not intrusive and very helpful giving advice about the area. Rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated and breakfast is wonderful. We plan to go back and see a show at the Kirby Center which is also a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manzanedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
49
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Hillard House is a splendid, charming, comfortable, well-appointed, place, run by the most charming and accommodating owners. The Inn is on a quiet and attractive street which is quite close to everywhere in Wilkes-Barre we wanted to go, including the town square and the lovely river walk. All of the details, from the decorations to the vintage elevator reflected a careful and complete eye for detail. The veneer was all Victorian, with the full host of 21st century amenities subtly and accessibly tucked underneath.

The room (we stayed in the gold room) was very comfortable, private, well-equipped and endlessly charming. Like the common areas, it had a busy, yet consistent and tasteful Victorian aesthetic, from the light fixtures and lamps to the wallpaper in the bathroom. The bed was soft and comfortable and the bedding was very warm and cozy for the unseasonably cold weather we had for our visit. There was a flat-screen TV tastefully hidden behind a folding screen which had satellite TV which kept us entertained on our down time. There was complimentary water and soda in the small fridge, and lovely bathrobes hanging in the closet, which doubles as a hallway connecting the bedroom and the bath.

Now, let me tell you about Gordon and Cecilia. They were so very nice and welcoming. They treated my fiancée and me like family, but also gave us plenty of space. They provided for our needs and were always a phone call away if there was anything they hadn't already thought to provide (there wasn't; these guys are thorough). We arrived to find cheese and crackers and an apple on the table under glass, which my fiancée and I were glad for after our car ride. They had great suggestions for places to visit and provided pleasant conversation.

Then there's the breakfasts. Oh my goodness. The Eggs Benedict on the first morning were as good as any I've ever had at a fancy restaurant. The next morning there were delicious blueberry pancakes with a touch of lemon zest. Each was served with fruit salad and a muffin - pear on the first morning, banana-nut on the second - that was good enough to write home about.

If I can ever find an excuse to go up to Wilkes-Barre again, I know exactly where I will be staying. If you're a B&B enthusiast, Hillard House is reason enough to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

The Hillard House is located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in my home town of Wilkes-Barre, PA -- the part that has retained its beauty over the years, and the part that makes me proud to say that I grew up in W-B! As my elderly parents have gotten older, it has become more difficult for them to accommodate my husband and me when we go to visit...I was delighted to learn about the existence of Hillard House, and even more delighted with the whole experience of staying there! Cecilia and Gordon make a wonderful team of hosts. I believe Gordon has never met a stranger, and he is a fabulous waiter and so much fun to talk to! Cecilia's breakfasts were a real treat -- and she was very kind to share her recipe for the most delicious pear brulee crepe I have ever tasted. She was also very kind to allow a friend of mine to deliver my favorite bottle of wine to our room as a Welcome Home surprise. We were tickled with the old-fashioned elevator that carried our belongings up to our room on the 3rd floor. Our room was cozy and well appointed and generously stocked! The soon-to-be 150-year-old-house is historic and lovely -- of course, there are some visible signs of its age, but these only add to its charm! I look forward to going home again to Hillard House, hopefully before too long!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DPCVoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Property is well-maintained with just the right blend of old/historic and updated. The elevette was a treat to see! Our innkeepers were friendly and welcoming; very helpful for dining and nightlife suggestions. The location is right along the river, with a brand new river walk. Excellent for easing the digestion after a terrific meal in downtown. The breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend this B&B. It was an excellent value, located in a safe area with plenty to do over a weekend.

Room Tip: The Rose Room is quieter than the Gold Room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpedspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Charming house. Could not have had a better stay. We spent two nights at Hillard House and plan to return next year. Hillard House just has great charm, which was enhanced by our hosts. The breakfasts they prepared were amazing!
We were given dining places to eat within walking distance. It was very safe to walk at night because of the campus security, but also being a college town, there were plenty of people out and about.
Thank you, Cecelia and Gordy. And..., thank you for having an elevator for luggage! See you next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank botanicalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This Is a fantastic place, being from Virginia we have some nice b&b's,the Hillard House completely suprised us. beautiful house,well kept,clean,organized,and some really great inn keepers.oh and awesome breakfasts.the city of Wilkes-barre is also a very nice,friendly and extremely clean.and The F.M Kirby is a heck of a place to see a show.

Room Tip: Gold room very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Beautiful house, gracious hospitality in a neighborhood chockablock with beautiful homes and historic buildings nearby, to walk off your delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 4 on the third floor, the only room on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRCPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
4.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillard House Inn

Property: Hillard House Inn
Address: 58 W River St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillard House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hil lard House Inn, circa 1865, is an elegant B and B located in Downtown Wilkes-Barre PA. Rooms feature queen beds, private baths, cable tv, wifi, fridge,ac.The Duchess Suite has sitting rm w/pullout twin and Bedroom w/queen bed.The bath has 2 vanities,walk-in shower and whirlpool soaker tub.Breakfast served in our formal dining rm.Offstreet parking and secure wifi are included in the rates.Close proximity to interstate I81,colleges, Mohegan SunArena, Mohegan Sun Casino,F.M. Kirby Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing