We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where front desk service died”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where front desk service died”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Average room, decent welcome at reception although my Best Western Points standing (platinum) was ignored. On checking out, the clerk was plainly NOT there to serve us nor send us off with any cheer. No receipt was offered. Had to ask for it. Thank goodness the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    185
    52
    28
    10
See reviews for
247
225
55
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Even though this hotel was undergoing renovations I would recommend it. The rooms were a good size, clean and had a balcony. The bathrooms were a little smaller but there was an alcove just outside of the bathroom with a sink and mirror. There is a restaurant onsite but we did not get to try it. You are in walking distance of the park, and many beautiful buildings and churches. I believe on of the buildings was a Mosque but am not 100% sure. All were beautiful. We were only about 10 minutes from the Mohegan Casino and even closer to several restaurants and businesses.

Room Tip: Since there are balconies I would imagine that summer time could get loud. Ask to be away from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjwilliams69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swagnersir, Manager at Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoy our location in downtown Wilkes-Barre as there is so much to see and do. Just a short drive away is even more attractions and shopping. It’s nice having a little bit of everything. Your photographs of the area are beautiful! We hope to see you again soon!
Sam Wagner
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel was neat, nicely decorated and up-to-date. There is a mini fridge, coffee pot, and big screen tv's in each room. There's alos a business station where you can use the computer and printer if needed in the lobby near the front desk. The staff was kind a helpful and the price was extremely reasonable. Great place to stay! The location is great too, it's close to many amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swagnersir, Manager at Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Tara,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon!

Sam Wagner
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Genettis for my cousins wedding reception .The rooms were A great price and clean and comfortable.From the time we walked in everyone was great.The front desk did A great job and was very friendly and the reception was perfect.The food was incredible and the staff and bartenders also were first class. We have absolutely no complaints and will stay here again. Thanks for the great time .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swagnersir, Manager at Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Darren,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful evening! Thank you.

Sam Wagner
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stay with a small group at Genetti's a couple of times each year on a Sunday evening en route to Vermont. The rooms are always ready for us and the recent redecoration and upgrade of bedding and furnishings is most pleasant. The hotel is a bit hard to find, but well worth the effort. Breakfast is a full hot breakfast with great variety and a pleasant server - just ask if you need something not on the buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank JoeTravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swagnersir, Manager at Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reviewing your recent stay. Your comments on our accommodations and staff are very generous. It’s gratifying to know our recent renovations were effective and appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Vermont.

Sam Wagner
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Wedding Reception: Cocktail hour, dinner, hotel room, breakfast....excellent. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Check in quick. Check out quick. Rooms attractive and clean with coffee, ironing board, iron, hair dryer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mali9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

While attending the Bloomsburg Fair, we spent two wonderful nights at Genetti's Best Western Hotel. Hotel staff at all levels went out of their way to help me and my wife, who is disabled. When my wife's wheelchair could not go into the dining area, staff immediately set us up in an adjacent room where we enjoyed our breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank bekir c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
674 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 77 East Market Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service Hotel, located next to the F.M. Kirby Center and few blocks from Wilkes University and King's College. Well appointed rooms feature flat screen TV's, free wireless high-speed internet access and spa-like pillow top mattresses. With banquet ball rooms accommodating up to 2000 people, this is the perfect place to celebrate. A free hot breakfast buffet is served every morning to our guests in our own restaurant Oyster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genetti Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing