We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again PLEASED!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Been a while since first reviewed East Mtn. Inn; Its first selling point remains- location central to the Wyoming Valley. We (father/son) hit bonuses with our two rooms. Upgrade for more space and appliances surprisingly yielded two room suites (with super quiet HVAC).

Part of the exterior was sheathed in plastic for remodeling as part of transition to new management and redecoration- this may have given us the suites. We were not at all disturbed by the work going on.

Wildflowers (luncheon) and The Bistro (evening) offer some lighter, heart-healthy fare which help reduce the sodden feeling of eaten too heavily when travelling.

It was again pleasing to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sage_and_poet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great hotel....good value for the money. Breakfast included was great. Only downfall is the room smelled like smoke, even though it was a smoke free room. We also got a handicapped room and did not ask for one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank richardhN7753US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Everything was very clean and nice. Great hotel stay during a basketball tournament. We loved the two room suite for just a small extra fee. The breakfast buffet is great! Loved it! It sits atop a hill with a nice view of the valley.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were happy to arrive at this lovely hotel after a long drive through the snow. It is beautiful, and our suite was excellent. French doors separate the bedroom from the living room/kitchen. Everything was lovely, from the carpet and art to the linens and towels. A free breakfast was included; French toast casserole, sausage links, scrambled eggs, and home fries were great. The lobby and restaurant were cute and inviting. Although construction is underway, it did not interfere with our experience at all. There is covered scaffolding on the hotel's exterior. Our room was not in an area where work was underway. We didn't have time for the bistro, fitness center, or pool, but they looked very nice. The computer center was convenient and comfortable.

Room Tip: 4th floor was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel was very clean... the hot tub and pool area were nice... but that's about all this Best Western had going for it. The hotel had an odd smell that was extremely strong in our room. Almost as though the rooms were previously smoking rooms that the hotel tried to clean and cover up which just created an odd smell. The staff were alright - not overly friendly but not rude by any means.

One half of the hotel was being worked on and originally they had placed us on that side of the hotel where there was scaffolding and plastic covering the windows. We asked to be moved to the other side and they said they only had one room there and it was on the second floor. I asked if we could upgrade to a nicer room and they said they didn't have anything. The room was ok. Again, very clean, but nothing special. There was a ladybug on the wall and a sunflower seed on the floor but nothing too crazy. The temperature was nice and easily adjusted when necessary. You can hear the noise in the hallway pretty well. The bed was ok for me but others complained it was uncomfortable.

Buffet breakfast was included which was convenient. The staff at breakfast were friendly enough but the breakfast needed help. It was good for a family who just want to eat quickly and get to skiing, but the food was not stellar. The first day they served scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, and french toast casserole. The second day they serves scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, and the same french toast casserole. The food wasn't bad it was just very blah. They had a couple of types of cereal, danish, mini muffins, mini bagels and toast. Definitely have had better buffet breakfasts at other hotels, but they did try. Our breakfast vouchers did say that they would give you $8 per voucher to use toward a la carte if you wanted.

The pool and hot tub area were enjoyable, especially after a long day of skiing. The area is a good size for the hotel and the sauna was nicely maintained and very comfortable. I think this hotel will have a better chance after the renovations are done (which they have posted in the lobby which is cool so you can see what it will look like).

We were right down the road from the Mohegan Sun Pocono Downs (1.5 miles) which was fun. I would definitely recommend going there for dinner because it is so close and the restaurants are nice and very reasonable, unlike normal casino restaurants. Also, the casino is newer so it is very clean and pretty. We went to Bar Louie which had good food and drinks (lots of different beers on tap) and the prices were between $8 and $12 for entrees.

The hotel was about 10-15 minutes away from Montage Mountain which was wonderful. The mountain is nice and new and definitely big enough to keep you busy and challenged. We will definitely return to the mountain and will stay at one of the hotels at the base of the mountain. The staff at the mountain were fabulous and the food was the best we had on the whole trip.

Overall, we enjoyed the skiing and our short visit to the casino, but the hotel was nothing special. For the price it was ok.

Room Tip: Wait until the hotel is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawyergirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stay here several times a year while visiting friends and family. Consistently good. During latest stay, hotel was undergoing major renovation, yet there was NO noise, disruption, or inconvenience due to this work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We were returning home from Florida and had just avoided the ice storm coming to the Carolinas. We'd picked up the coupon booklet at the Pa info centre on the interstate and chose Best Western as we have had good stays at other BWs. The hotel sits on a hilltop, which provides a great view, but makes it removed from other services. Fortunately the hotel has a nice restaurant. We had a swim in the large indoor pool, then used the hot tub. There is also a sauna. We ordered room service and had a nice relaxing evening. We had a king size bed in a large clean room. A buffet breakfast was included. They had very good coffee, fresh fruit and number of hot items. USA Today was complimentary. Staff were friendly. The sun was shining. All was right as we headed home.
When we stayed workers had scaffolding set up across part of the front of the hotel and were working during the day. This did not really affect us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
972 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Address: 600 Wildflower Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7928 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £74 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with two restaurants on premises. Bistro & Lounge with outdoor seating. A hearty hot breakfast buffet included with every room. Large indoor pool, spa & sauna. Complimentary Business center, Wi-Fi, Fax & copy service, Iron & ironing board, Hair Dryer and Courtesy Airport & Casino shuttle. Meeting & Banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus East Mountain Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn And Suites
Best Western Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing