We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasured view with great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is just off I-81 located atop a hill, surrounded by a lovely landscaped property with great views of the mountains. I was surprised to find not only the "breakfast buffet" but a huge dining room with a menu, a casual bar that served simple sandwiches, burgers or salads until 9pm. What a plus for late arrivals. There are numerous tasty items on the buffet that also includes fresh juices, granola, yogurt, cereals and more.
The property has a beautiful walking path, outside dining or drinks.
The rooms are CLEAN, large and comfortable. Our kingroom had a sitting area, fridge, microwave 2 TV's, Wifi and comfortable bed with LOTS of pillows. Wifi is slow. Asked for an upgrade at check-in (Memorial Day Weekend) without a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funcouple34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel was just updated (Exterior) and probably lobby.
Friendly staff.... we were there when the hotel was 100% booked... so we understood that they were unable to accommodate us....

Rooms just ok... they should work on those next....

Room Tip: make sure to reserve the correct room.... We did priceline and got stuck in a KING room with 2 kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jb4home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is a bit off the beaten trail. If you google or mapquest directions, they will be incorrect driving directions. It took me over 30 minutes before I found the hotel. Be sure to call ahead of time for exact driving directions. The hotel is in the midst of being renovated. The room that I had was adequate for a 1 night stay. The hotel suffers from a persistent infestation of lady bugs. Lady bugs are sweet bugs as bugs go - I found only 3 in my room - but from time to time (according to an anonymous but senior hotel staffer) the hotel is battling against a serious lady bug infestation, with thousands of lady bugs invading the hotel. The so-called "free breakfast" offered with my hotel stay, was just fair in quality. There was quite a long wait at the restaurant - about 30 mins. - as the hotel was full with a young girls basketball team tournament staying at the hotel on the Saturday morning when I availed myself of the "free" breakfast. The restaurant staff was truly overwhelmed by the numbers of customers that they had to serve. The front desk staff, and the hotel housekeeping staff were polite and friendly. The parking lot is also under renovation. All-in-all, the price point was what attracted me to stay at this hotel. The saying, "you pay for what you get" isn't always true, but it was true at this hotel. I would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Have stayed at this location over a dozen times. Staff is always friendly, room always clean, and great service. The rooms are well prepared and very comfortable. Bed and pillows are nice. Sometimes the wireless is slow and hard to connect to. The hotel has a small bar, with not the best hours, So if your looking for some elbow rubbing, prob not what your looking for but neither is Wilkes-Barre for that matter. Outside of breakfast bar buffet which is sufficient and included with your stay, I have not had a meal there.

Overall, decent price, decent breakfast, great service and overall excellent comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJBruzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Did not get room requested in reservation made 6 mo prior & confirmed 1 wk prior to stay (requested 2 dbl beds). Complimentary breakfast was painful experience as person seating guests had no name/number regime so when we were asked to take a seat in the lobby nobody ever came for us. Then when we went back to the room, the maid had already started to clean our room when we didn't have to check out for over 3 hrs & it was obvious we were still using the room. We had to re-dirty the bathroom to continue getting ready for our event later that day. Overall strange experience from the get go & we will not stay there again. Room was nice and décor was appealing tho.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Went looking for a small weekend getaway and it ended up being a FANTASTIC place to stay. Large room which came in handy with a group of four. (husband & wife and two young girls). The staff were helpful and friendly. Took time to learn our names and greeted us with a huge smile. The pool was very nice (extra large by hotel standards)... it included an onsite life-guard. The location was wonderful, (sitting on a hill with a great view of the valley and it did have that resort feeling, with beautiful grounds. The free-breakfast and internet WIFI was and added plus.
The girls really enjoyed the pool.... very, very nice clean and large. Great place to spend some quality time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julitorosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

seemed the best deal for the area. going to be a Holiday Inn soon. did not use any faciliteis since we had to be at a breakfast the next morning and got in late. The hotel staff where helpful and got us a roll away bed and extra blankets upon request. Sorry we missed the buffet as it looked much better than the one we had at split rock resort which sucked.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
952 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
694 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Address: 600 Wildflower Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7928 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £75 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with two restaurants on premises. Bistro & Lounge with outdoor seating. A hearty hot breakfast buffet included with every room. Large indoor pool, spa & sauna. Complimentary Business center, Wi-Fi, Fax & copy service, Iron & ironing board, Hair Dryer and Courtesy Airport & Casino shuttle. Meeting & Banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus East Mountain Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn And Suites
Best Western Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing