We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customer here - it's an AWESOME place to stay!”
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I've stayed over a hundred times at this hotel and have never once been disappointed. You get more than your money's worth, great amenities, and a super-friendly staff. It's also ideally located. Never had a complaint and will guarantee that I'll be back. Great job and hats off to the staff!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEK1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for EconoLodge Arena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Pittsburgh for a family reunion. Terrific value for a one-night stay. I think if we were going to spend more time in the region we would go for a place with more amenities, but for "just passing through" it was fine. Easy access on and off the interstate, extremely helpful staff, nice quiet room, a good night's sleep, and back on the road in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

While traveling to a family gathering for our 50th wedding anniversary, we needed a nice place to stay with our elderly dog. We checked TripAdvisor reviews and made our decision to stay at Econo Lodge Arena at exit 165B in Wilkes-Barre PA. based on the good reviews by others who posted on TripAdvisor. When calling to make a reservation we were told that they had one pet room on the ground floor but were otherwise fully booked so coupon discounts could not be given. We were charged over $80 with tax and dog fee for a room that was not very nice.
The room was clean but small and had a musty odor. The towels were thin and furnishings plain. The pillows were ok (one of the only acceptable things we found in this place) and it did have internet access.
While this EconoLodge pats itself on the back for being pet "friendly" the attitude they project is actually pet "hostile" and unwelcoming. The grounds had very little non-paved space to walk a dog. When we checked in we were handed two sheets of paper onto which was stapled a small ziplock bag with 3 small dog treats and a poop-pickup bag (we always carry our own poop bag dispenser attached to a leash and do not give our dog unfamiliar treats when traveling). The two sheets of paper contained a writeup of the very detailed motel pet policy WARNINGS. In large print it stated:
"DEAR PET OWNER, OUR OUTDOOR PET AREA IS UNDER VIDEO SURVELLIANCE. THE HOTEL PROVIDES CLEAN-UP BAGS FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE. ADDITIONAL BAGS CAN BE OBTAINED AT THE FRONT DESK AND ON THE TRASH CAN NEAR THE WALKING AREA. SHOULD YOU CHOOSE NOT TO CLEAN-UP AFTER YOUR PET... YOU WILL BE CHARGED A $50.00 CLEAN-UP FEE.
The other sheet of paper detailed the indoor pet policy including the non-refundable $10 per pet per night and that an additional security deposit is required: " $50 cash or credit card authorization which will be refundable only after room inspection by hotel staff member".
We usually stay at the La Quinta motel chain when we can find one on our route because they do not charge extra for pets and find most La Quintas have very nice, clean, large non-smoking rooms with king or queen beds available for travelers with pets. This EconoLodge only has small rooms with two double beds available as pet rooms. It was non-smoking but had an odd odor...not smoke, just did not smell fresh. The room had a sign that posted a list of amenities in the room along with an itemized value of towels / bed sheets / alarm clock / coffee maker / iron & board / hairdryer / alarm clock / blankers / comforters / pillows / ... the amount that you will be charged "Should you decide to take these articles from your room instead of obtaining them from the Housekeeping Department (which offers them for sale), we will assume you approve a corresponding charge to your account". These "in your face" written warnings made this EconoLodge seem very unfriendly and make guests feel unwelcome and untrusted.
The "complementary" breakfast was not very good. The breakfast room was being renovated so the breakfast area was moved into two guest rooms across the hall from each other where a makeshift serving counter was set up along with squeezed in tables and chairs. It was dark, crowded, and unpleasant. The coffee was weak, no fruit or yogurt, only a small selection of tasteless toaster waffles, small bagels, muffins, and bread to toast. There was a container of hard-boiled eggs. There were dispensers of cereal and orange juice. There is a Perkins Restaurant across the parking lot.
We will NEVER stay at this EconoLodge again. It was a thoroughly unpleasant and overpriced experience and a very poor beginning of our 50th wedding anniversary. All we wanted to do was GET AWAY FROM THE ECONOLODGE asap and hope that the rest of our special day was going to be better.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alligatorpointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

So sorry we didn't meet your expectations.
Please allow us to clarify a few of the specific points in your review:
The hotel has six "Pet Friendly" rooms all located on the 1st floor. The reason for this is two-fold; the rooms are located near the exit door adjacent to the pet walking area so that the pet's human does not have to travel through hallways and the lobby with their pet. Secondly, allergies have become so prominent these days, that we prefer to use these rooms only for pets and our other rooms kept pet free as a courtesy to our other hotel guests.
While we can agree that the grounds have little non-paved space, our purpose in providing the poop-bags and the note regarding clean-up is as a courtesy for our pet owners that are respectful of others. Unfortunately, not all pet owners respect the clean-up rule and choose to leave it where it lays. This makes for an environment that isn't clean and safe for you or your pet. If you have another suggestion....Please let us know.
The minimal non-refundable fee of $10.00 is used toward the additonal cleaning, carpet-shampooing and pest control that is necessary to maintain the pet rooms.
The refundable $50.00 deposit after room inspection is due to those pet owners that are careless and allow their pets to destroy linens, furniture, wires and even the carpetting, so we need to check the room "before" they leave the property.
Regarding the "in your face" written warnings;
Once again it is "other" guests that force the hotel to implement these unfortunate warnings.
The definition of a Continental Breakfast is " a pastry, coffee or tea and a juice". Although the Econo Lodge is only required to provide a Continental Breakfast, this hotel goes above and beyond with the choices we provide our guests.
Fianlly, it is unfortuante that your overnight stay coincided with our breakfast room being renovated and your discomfort with our substitute rooms could not be helped.
We can only hope that the rest of your trip for your 50th Anniversary went well and that the above explaination gave you some insight as to the reason we are sometimes forced to do things we would not normally do.
We are truly sorry for your discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Stayed only one night. Staff was warm and friendly especially Margie. She went out of her way to find us a quiet room away from the adolescent group of wrestlers and their families. She also gave us great coupons and printed directions to the local church and schedule of services.
Room was clean. All furniture and carpet was is good condition. Fridge and microwave and wireless internet..
We did not eat at the free breakfast due to the large number of wrestling team families but a Perkins is a few steps away. Food and service was fine there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYAnge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We go to the Wilkesbarre-PA area often for the casino and shopping. We normally stay at another hotel but it was filled on our dates of arrival so we looked for another pet friendly inn. The Econolodge at exit 165 had excellent reviews and they were correct. This hotel will now become our first choice when in this area. The hotel is directly off the exit 165 ramp. You might think it could be noisy due to that but it is super super quiet and we had a wonderful nights sleep. Linens, clean, crisp, bed super comfortable and the pillows were to die for. the room was spotless. I checked all corners and even corners behind the bed and the room was faultless. The rooms are of the normal size not overly large but comfortable. Nice large window that allows lots of light and the airconditioning was awesome. Even in March we had a very warm day and needed to turn it on. It is quiet and super cold. The front desk staff at check in are very very friendly and even have a nice sense of humor. The breakfast room had all day nice hot and fresh coffee and even cookies. We did not go to the breakfast room as we got up too late so I cannot comment on that. If this were a higher category hotel I would give it five stars but it gets five stars within its class.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suitcaseannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Hotel is located right off I-81 very convenient. We were travelling with our dog and did not expect the quality that this hotel gave. The rooms were large, clean, quiet with great furnishings. Staff was most helpful. Very high quality for an Econo Lodge. We would highly recommend this hotel without any reservations.
Keep up the good work Wilkes Barre Econo Lodge!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gearcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Travelling down I-81 to Florida. Very close to hwy. Seemed to be quite new. Very pleasant reception. Provided thorough written information about what to expect and available amenities. Nice room, exactly as advertised. Very clean. Air conditioner a bit loud. Wireless access very convenient to use. Close to Perkins next door. Most pleased with value for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#12 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, Sr 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £40 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your EconoLodge Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing